We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingston House B&B
5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Mableton, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“2nd stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our second stay at the Kingston House. Harry, Marlie and Digby (of course!) make your stay as pleasant as could be with their attention to detail and friendly advice/recommendations. We will surely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDBermuda, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your terrific review. We look forward to welcoming back any time! Cheers, Harry, Marlie and Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    20
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
131
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is long overdue review for such a wonderful place. Marley and Harry are wonderful people with a wealth of knowledge for the island, they are caring and made you feel more than welcome. The breakfasts are wonderful and very healthy!! The location is nice, just a short hike to town--note the roads are narrow so be aware. We are dog lovers so we were so pleased to meet Digby and have him around for holidays. Note to non dog lovers--Digby is never a bother and is not allowed in the house. We met very nice people at the bed and breakfast and enjoyed our get togethers around the breakfast table--Harry roasts awesome coffee.
Kingston B&B is a wonderful house to stay at. You have a common kitchen, with fridge, utensils, glasses etc. Marley is very organized and there is a section in the fridge allocated to each. There is 2 sitting rooms and each individual room is very private. We stayed in the Palmetto Suite for 1 week and could have stayed longer!!!!! The pictures on the website are very accurate --it looks cozy and it is!!!! --If you are like us and do not eat out every meal there are a couple of very good grocery stores in Hamilton that serve very good pre-made salads, sandwiches and hot buffets to put together yourself and bring home to eat at the house or at a park in town.

Room Tip: Palmetto Suite is wonderful (note it is on second floor with stairs to access) It has it's own w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDBermuda, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
It's never too late to say nice things! Thank you very much for your lovely review. It's so encouraging to us. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Kingston House. Please come visit us again any time. Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Marley and Harry are absolutely the best hosts that one could have, and to have their hospitality in such as beautiful place as the island of Bermuda made this mini-vacation one of our best. Every question we had - answered. Every request we made - met. Every concern we might have had - not a chance to have. We didn't have much time, but the time we had was enjoyable and peaceful. We were in the Frangipani room, which was a nice comfortable room with a queen bed, right off a main area. Once the door was closed, the room was completely blocked from any activity that might have been happening in the house. There are only three rooms, so the guest list is pretty selective, but breakfast can be enjoyed with others in the main dining room where you can hear the gentle sounds of the fountain over the pool (we over slept a bit but didn't miss the great scones and orange ginger jam!) This will definitely be one of the stops we make on our next trip to Bermuda.

Room Tip: I think Digby sleeps right off the Frangipani room, and he gets a bit anxious when Marley and Harry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your terrific review--you are far took kind! We're glad you had a nice stay at Kingston House and we were able to help you with your extra night at the (gorgeous and friendly) Royal Palms. Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed a quick 3 night stay at Kingston House B&B. What a wonderful spot. Marlie and Harry took great care of us...offering travel tips, delicious breakfasts, great conversation, and even their pup, Digby, to satisfy our dog fix. A beautiful home with lovely gardens and patio. Comfortable room with private bathroom. The shared kitchen was very convenient, offering dishware and use of a refrigerator for storing beverages and food. This also allowed us to pick up dinner at the local market and eat candlelit out on the patio. Excellent location about a 10 minute walk to the center of Hamilton. Convenient scooter rentals right down the street. We look forward to our next visit. Thanks Marlie and Harry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
It looks more like Digby, the wonder dog, is getting his 'human fix'! It would seem that he likes our guests better than he likes us... Thank you for your lovely review and photo. We enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next time! Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I just came back from a 4 night stay at the Kingston House and it was wonderful! I usually do not sleep well away from home and the bed in our Jacaranda Room was comfy! We ate a delicious breakfast of scones, jams, yogurt, homemade granolas and breads and fresh fruit every morning. Marlie and Harry were so helpful as to where to go and what to see, and even gave us a ride to the ferry terminal on a rainy morning. The house is so quaint, reminded me of an inn I stayed at in Cape Cod, and Digby the Dog was friendly, greeted me and my husband at breakfast and told me when our food delivery had arrived! The pool was cleaner than any resort and the landscape was a tropical paradise. I do not have enough good words to say about this place and the people. It was very hot and humid this time of year, but the air conditioning in the room was a relief! The whole experience was a treasure, but I hate to give away the secret of this place for fear it will be booked solid if we ever decide to come again. I think it is even better than staying at a big resort because of the care they gave to us. If we come back, it will definately be here!

Room Tip: The Jacaranda is one of the smaller rooms with one queen on the first floor. Bigger rooms are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We're so glad you had a nice stay at Kingston House and enjoyed your first trip to Bermuda. It was great to see you both get out there and try everything from beach combing for sea glass to scuba diving and zooming around on the scooters for the first time. Well done! We look forward to seeing you next time--maybe go for a bit of paddle boarding or a helmet dive?! Cheers, Harry, Marlie & Digby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I'm just finishing a brief stay here at Kingston House. The property itself is very nice, with lots of character. But the hosts make this place special. Both Harry and Marlie went out of their way to provide great conversation, tips, and insights. They genuinely like taking care of their guests. And Digby the dog is a friendly greeter as well. Strong recommendation for this place. I plan on returning.

Room Tip: The Palmetto Suite is a generous size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for your advice about replying publicly on the TripAdvisor. We've always just figured out who the authors were and replied privately by email (except when there are corrections)...but you're right, nobody knows that we thank guests for their reviews. We'll do our best to get with the program!
Reviews are not just helpful to other guests but also encourage service providers like us to keep trying to do our best and when we do a great job and guests talk about it, the bar goes up and we we will try even harder to top that.
We're very happy that we were able to help you make the most of your time in Bermuda and so pleased that you would like to come back!
All the best,
Harry, Marlie & Digby
Kingston House B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The owners, Marlie & Harry are the reason we both fell in love with the Kingston House. They're both so very gracious, helpful and spirited. With drives downtown in Harry's new electric truck, to Marlie's breakfast with the beach reports, they made us feel like one of their family.

The rooms, decor, gardens and pool set an atmosphere that immediately let us relax and fall into a stress-free vacation. Sitting out on the pool deck early in the morning with Marlie's home-roasted coffee, or having a late afternoon drink and swim, was so peaceful and memorable.

Only a scenic 15 minute walk to downtown, we went shopping and took advantage of the great public transit system with ease, and enjoyed everything that makes Bermuda unique. We stayed in the Jacaranda room on the ground floor, and were extremely pleased. The breakfast room, common sitting room and the "refrigerator" were all used each day and the room rate was very competitive. I have to mention the heated towel racks, used daily to dry our bathing suits. A very nice added touch.

Choosing vacation accommodation is always a risky venture, but staying with Harry & Marlie has no downside.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper room with a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kingston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston House B&B

Also Known As:
Kingston House Hotel
Kingston House Hotel Hamilton
Kingston House Bed And Breakfast
Kingston House B&B Bermuda/Hamilton
Address: 5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston House B&B is conveniently located walking distance to Hamilton and all it's amenities. It has plenty of architectural character and charm as well as the modern conveniences travellers expect in a top hotel. Friendly hosts help you make the most of your time in Bermuda. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kingston House B&B to your Saves list