We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingston House B&B
5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Alexandria VA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a lovely stay in the Palmetto Suite. It was a very large room. We enjoyed the scones everyday at breakfast. We used the pool often too. The owners are around and provide tips and information. We walked to town and used buses often. The walk is fine but wear comfortable shoes to do it. We also brought a small light so drivers could see us at night on walk home. We would return. The space for items in fridge was helpful as was the beach cooler. Bermuda is a beautiful island! Best beaches I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Like being upstairs and having a larger room in Palmetto Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    21
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
137
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I cannot fully express how grateful I am to Marlie and Harry Powell for making Kingston House such a gracious and inviting place to spend a holiday.
As a child, my father's airline passes allowed us to visit my Bermudian grandparents once a year. Until I found Kingston House, I feared I could not afford a Bermudian holiday ever again. However, not only is this guesthouse affordable, it is also offers first-class hospitality and a welcoming environment. The owners are 'hands-on', and obviously work overtime to provide for every practical need.
I stayed in the Bird of Paradise room for the second time in two years; this time for seven nights, from June 25 to July 2. This room has a wonderfully comfortable adjustable bed for my chronic back issues. It also offers a balcony which overlooks a beautiful front garden. I actually got up early (on holiday!), just to sit on the balcony to enjoy the fresh, early morning sky, the vibrant colours, and the sounds of the birds.
As a single, Christian minister in his 60's, I enjoyed the quiet and solitude when I needed it, and the delightful company of several fellow guests in the evening, as we shared food and drink from our sections of the ample guest refrigerator, while relaxing next to the endless pool. Everyone enjoyed describing their adventures of the day.
When I returned my rented scooter on the day of departure, the walk back to Kingston House was only five minutes. What else can I say? Great location, great people, great holiday!
Arthur S.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I just came back from a 3 night stay here. Marlie and Harry were gracious hosts, and the room/house was terrific. My wife was a little apprehensive about staying in a bed and breakfast instead of a hotel, but she admitted that this turned out to be a great decision. The breakfast was delicious, the room was very clean and spacious, and Marlie and Harry were very helpful and kind. We also made friends with another couple staying there, which was pretty cool. It’s a 10-15 minute walk to the heart of town. It was one of our best vacations, highly recommend Bermuda, and the Kingston House.

Room Tip: We stayed in the birds of paradise room, very large, peacful and has a balcony. I'm sure the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

While I may only be repeating what others have written, we were so pleased with our stay that I feel compelled to add another great review. We stayed in the Palmetto Suite for 4 nights. After a long and frustrating flight, a short 30 min. cab ride (about $30) from the airport brought us to the Kingston House. Harry warmly met us and even took us on a short 10 cent tour of the town (in his new electric car!) to get our bearings and show us where the grocery store is etc.

Our room was clean, bright and spacious. Complete with a terry robes, a large furnished balcony and lots of closet space.

While not a "hot" breakfast, breakfast is more than adequate with yogurt, homemade granola, fresh fruit, fresh baked scones and bread etc. Very good.

They really have made an effort to provide anything that you could possibly need. Such as small kitchenette area where each room has a shelf in the fridge, dishes, cultery, wine opener, coffee/tea, filtered water, umbrellas, beach mats, towels etc. These extras are really appreciated.

The walk into town is only about 5-10 min. I wouldn't say it is "dangerous" but there is no sidewalk. Just be alert. Most of the other guests were pleased with the bus system and ferries. My husband and I rented scooters for 3 days from Smatts. It was one of the highlights of our trip and we enjoyed the freedom it gave us. We covered the whole island in the time we were there. And found the locals to be very patient with us on the road.

One rainy evening a cab failed to show up to take us to dinner, and so Marlie insisted on driving us into town herself. Very nice!

This B&B is fantastic value in Bermuda. The proximity to town was very convenient. My only question is when can we come back?

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Palmetto Suite which has a large balcony (facing rear garden), and a sitting room/tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay. Marlie was a great host and spent time showing us everything when we arrived. Nice breakfast, 10 minute walk to town and a lot cheaper than hotels like the Princess (which is only a 5 minute walk away). Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just finished a great week in Bermuda and the Kingston House B&B. Marlie's fruit plates and home made bread and granolas were superb! After hiking segments of thr Rail Trail, we relaxed nightly in the endless pool and the lovely garden. We plan to return soon to finish the Rail Trail and to stay at the Kingston House.

Bev & Larry (Prescott, AZ)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford Upon Avon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have just stayed at Kingston House and in many ways I concur with the glowing reports to be found on here about this property. I just feel some of them are a little exaggerated and therefore perhaps I was expecting a bit too much. Overall it is fine. It is cosy and clean and handily placed for Hamilton, although the 15 minute walk into town without a pavement is somewhat lethal. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and the pool, although small, is a great temperature. The owner, Marlie, is lovely, very chatty and friendly. During my visit we had mainly just Marlie and the atmosphere in the house relaxed noticeably after her rather overbearing husband left for a trip to Canada.

Regarding negatives and changes I would make. It is not pointed out that this is a vegan establishment. That is fine and I have no problem with that lifestyle choice but I would probably not have chosen to stay there if I had known there wouldn't be any eggs or ham for breakfast. The choice is very limited and breakfast is very average. I was surprised to see the pastries cut in half to make it look more! It is good to offer free tea and biscuits all day but please also offer coffee without guests having to ask, not everyone wants tea. I think it would also be good to put a couple of sun loungers on the back terrace. When the sun disappears behind the house you lose it completely unless you go to the back terrace where it is still blazing but there is nowhere to sit. Finally I had to turn off my bathroom towel rail. I understand the problems of drying towels but these rails should be off in summertime - the bathroom was like a sauna.

Reviewed 27 June 2013

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs. It is quite noisy in the mornings on the ground floor as everyone is up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marliepowell, Owner/Manager at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Clarification & Correction:
Breakfasts are not strictly vegan, even though Marlie is a raw vegan chef. Milk, cream, cottage cheese, hard cheeses, butter and a selection of plain and fruit yogurts have always been on the breakfast menu as well as the baked goods, fresh fruit, home-made granolas, etc.
Very large pastries are sometimes cut in half so guests can sample several different types without feeling overloaded. As breakfast is buffet style, one could eat both halves of many and no one would mind!
Our fresh roasted, fair-trade organic coffee left on the brew all day would not taste very nice so we keep keep instant in the guest fridge on the "house" shelf--we dashed out and bought another jar without checking to see that there was a full jar in plain view. We will put in a small coffee brewer in the guest galley, so folks can make their own fresh coffee in the afternoon if they like. Point well taken.
The large west terrace is a 'yoga deck'. It's tranquil and surrounded by flowers and vines wrapped around big columns with a large Buddha sculpture at one end. Yoga mats are provided but it is not furnished. There is nothing stopping from anyone from grabbing a mat and towel and sunbathing there rather than using it for yoga.
The heated towel racks are widely appreciated year-round. If unwanted, guests can switch them off, no problem. However, if one also chooses to switch off the air conditioning in the summer, the heat from the rail can make the bathroom too warm. Either way, guests have full control of the heating and cooling in their rooms.
Harry is a big guy, and hard not to notice but when he is away, guests miss out on his wonderful sense of humour, willingness to provide shuttle service back and forth to town for those who aren't comfortable with our narrow roads, and as his family dates back hundreds of years to the early settlers in Bermuda, he's always ready with some local folklore which most guests thoroughly enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kingston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston House B&B

Address: 5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston House B&B is conveniently located walking distance to Hamilton and all it's amenities. It has plenty of architectural character and charm as well as the modern conveniences travellers expect in a top hotel. Friendly hosts help you make the most of your time in Bermuda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingston House Hotel Hamilton
Kingston House Bed And Breakfast
Kingston House B&B Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kingston House B&B to your Saves list