We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston House B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kingston House B&B to your Saves list
Kingston House B&B
5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
End of Summer Getaway
Ranked #1 of 2 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply superb...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

An excellent find. Very welcoming hosts and such a comfortable, quiet house in a side street that is just over a 10 minute walk to Hamilton. Yes - the road is narrow but no problems. Splendid breakfasts and with dozens of different teas and home-ground coffee the choice was excellent. We were particularly impressed with the option of being able to buy food in the local Miles Market (a wonderful gourmet supermarket 10 minutes walk away) and then eat in the kitchen area with dedicated plates, bowls and cutlery. Large fridge to store wine - and help yourself to their range of wine glasses. Lots of comfortable space to sit and read their collection of hundreds of books in a house that is full of character. Superb hosts couldn't be more helpful. A definite 5 star!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    22
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
151
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in Dec 2012 for a quick during the Christmas holidays.

The B&B is located outside of the city - a 10 min walk on a narrow road. It can be a bit dangerous - especially at night walking the road but if you keep your eyes and ears open, you will be fine.
The B&B is owned by a husband (Harry) and wife (Marlie).
Marlie greeted us when we arrived and she gave us great tips on where to eat, how the public bus system worked, and offered some ideas on what to see / do. Marlie was very gracious and welcoming. She even stood up for us when we were reprimanded by Harry for missing breakfast one morning.
The breakfast is strickly vegan - no eggs, yogurt, cold cuts, cheese. But there was plenty. Fresh coffee, juices, scones, breads, cerals, and fruit.

We had a big big big room on the 2nd floor - the Palmetto suite. The bed in one room and a sitting area in another room. The decor is a bit dated but this is a B&B not a modern cosmo hotel. There was also a private deck for our use but the nights and some days were chilly so we never sat outside.

Overall this was a nice B&B but nothing special about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDBermuda, Owner at Kingston House B&B, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Correction: Breakfasts are not strictly vegan, even though Marlie is a raw vegan chef. Milk, cream, cottage cheese, hard cheeses, and a selection of plain and fruit yogurts have always been on the breakfast menu as well as the baked goods, fresh fruit, home-made granolas, etc.
We figure that there's always lunch and dinner and in Bermuda, folks who do like meat and fish will be spoilt for choice at the many nearby restaurants, pubs, bistros and other eateries or they can grill their steaks on the large stainless steel BBQ on the pool terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

It was actually two years ago that we visited the Kingston House. We were in the Frangipani room, which had everything you need, and which was very tidy. The room was great for couples! Marlie was unfortunately away, we were feeling sorry we didnt meet her. But Harry treated us as a real king and queen of Bermuda :) We enjoyed the pool and Digby was like the best dog you ever met. Breakfast was terrific, best we had so far at a b&b. Fresh fruit, home made granola, and many more! Harry even brought us with his car to on of our favorite restaurants on the island. The B&B was perfectly located on the island, you only had to do either a small walk or you could take a scooter. Best would be to take a scooter and enjoy the island, bus is also very well arranged on Bermuda. Enjoy, you should go there. Strongly recommend it! We wish to go back there, anytime soon. Kingston is a very special memory for us!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in the Palmetto suite, a beautifully decorated space with a balcony. Although the decorating and amenities were excellent, it wasn't in a style that I personally favor and I found it hard to organize some of "my stuff", the little things like toothpaste, toothbrush, and razor. The closet space was excellent, enough hangers to hang all of our wardrobe. The shower was roomy and had modern plumbing. We found the room to be excellent for relaxing in after a long day of sightseeing, with good chairs to watch a bit of TV. The premisses were well lit and airy. One thing I liked was the freedom to wear your shoes in the house.

Our hosts were very accessible and available for any kind of assistance we needed, from what to see to where to eat.

Breakfasts were strictly vegan with no meat or eggs, something I missed. Refrigerator space was provided for your own groceries if that was what you liked to do.

This B&B is on the edge of Hamilton, about a 10-15 minute walk, and that was the scariest part of staying there. Most of the road into town has no sidewalks and is very narrow and winding. Traffic is relatively slow but getting to town and back safely was a daily anxiety. Of course you could take taxis, but most people walk it.

Room Tip: I didn't see all the rooms, but I think they would probably all be well done, so make your choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I just returned from 5 nights at KH Bermuda and can't say enough nice things about it. We stayed in Bird of Paradise room and thought it was lovely-bright and cheery with a balcony for sipping coffee in the morning or reading a good book. Marlie and Harry are terrific hosts.Marlie met us on arrival-showed us the property and gave us a Bermuda primer-what to see, how to get there, what to expect.It really helps you decompress quickly so that you can jump into seeing this beautiful island on arrival. Harry gave us a brief tour of downtown via car and gave great suggestions for restaurants to try.We got a bus/ferry pass which was helpful to navigate around the island. We walked from KH to downtown Hamilton usually twice a day and the comments about Pitts Bay Rd are true-you do need to be careful but it is quite doable.My husband and I enjoy B&B's and this one did not disappoint. It felt like we were staying with friends and we got to meet some terrific folks at breakfast too. Shut out to Harry's home roasted coffee and Marlie's homemade granola-both yummy.I would highly recommend the Kingston House, in fact, I have done just that when anyone asks about the trip. Thanks Harry and Marlie! We'll be back.

Room Tip: The Bird of Paradise room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria British Columbia Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

HIghly recommend this small Old World Bermuda House as a great experience for especially a new visitor to Bermuda. The owners will help you and guide you and call taxi's for you and generally take you under their wing and include you in the family like feeling at this guest house. NIce simply breakfast and good coffee. I had bird of Paradise suite which had a large private deck and at the top of the stairs. Comfy queen bed in separate room from twin pull out for third person. The large deck was great to soak up Bermuda sun evening sun and the small pool wave pool a great place to cool off after a day or heat or to start your morning off. The owners of this Old Charming Bermuda home have created a haven here offering the opportunity to pick up some of the local news and local folklore. I highly recommend this B&B as a place to call home and make yourself at home, even to cook an evening meal. I will definately be back. Martha from Victoira B.C. Canada.

Room Tip: Have only seen one suite on the top floor and would prefer the top floor to the main floor for quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaffrey, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Staying at Kingston House is more like a houseparty than a hotel. Only four rooms (one a comfortable suite with balcony) limits the size of the group, I was one of five. The comfortable living room, dining room (breakfast) and family room welcome use by guests, and are often hosted by genial hosts Harry and Marlie Powell. Located within walking distance of Front Street, you can bring back a dinner to share using outrdoor grill. There is a pleasant terrace with pump driven swimming tank. Even in late October, this was a nice oasis from the international sailing event I had come to observe. Kingston House can't be beat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.1 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosedon Hotel
Rosedon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hamilton
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,544 reviews
6.3 mi away
Grotto Bay Beach Resort
Grotto Bay Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 1,666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hamilton Princess & Beach Club, a Fairmont Managed Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston House B&B

Address: 5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston House B&B is conveniently located walking distance to Hamilton and all it's amenities. It has plenty of architectural character and charm as well as the modern conveniences travellers expect in a top hotel. Friendly hosts help you make the most of your time in Bermuda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kingston House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston House Bed And Breakfast
Kingston House Hotel Hamilton
Kingston House B&B Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.