We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay at the Kingston House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingston House B&B
5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay at the Kingston House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I just returned from 5 nights at KH Bermuda and can't say enough nice things about it. We stayed in Bird of Paradise room and thought it was lovely-bright and cheery with a balcony for sipping coffee in the morning or reading a good book. Marlie and Harry are terrific hosts.Marlie met us on arrival-showed us the property and gave us a Bermuda primer-what to see, how to get there, what to expect.It really helps you decompress quickly so that you can jump into seeing this beautiful island on arrival. Harry gave us a brief tour of downtown via car and gave great suggestions for restaurants to try.We got a bus/ferry pass which was helpful to navigate around the island. We walked from KH to downtown Hamilton usually twice a day and the comments about Pitts Bay Rd are true-you do need to be careful but it is quite doable.My husband and I enjoy B&B's and this one did not disappoint. It felt like we were staying with friends and we got to meet some terrific folks at breakfast too. Shut out to Harry's home roasted coffee and Marlie's homemade granola-both yummy.I would highly recommend the Kingston House, in fact, I have done just that when anyone asks about the trip. Thanks Harry and Marlie! We'll be back.

Room Tip: The Bird of Paradise room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    21
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
137
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria British Columbia Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

HIghly recommend this small Old World Bermuda House as a great experience for especially a new visitor to Bermuda. The owners will help you and guide you and call taxi's for you and generally take you under their wing and include you in the family like feeling at this guest house. NIce simply breakfast and good coffee. I had bird of Paradise suite which had a large private deck and at the top of the stairs. Comfy queen bed in separate room from twin pull out for third person. The large deck was great to soak up Bermuda sun evening sun and the small pool wave pool a great place to cool off after a day or heat or to start your morning off. The owners of this Old Charming Bermuda home have created a haven here offering the opportunity to pick up some of the local news and local folklore. I highly recommend this B&B as a place to call home and make yourself at home, even to cook an evening meal. I will definately be back. Martha from Victoira B.C. Canada.

Room Tip: Have only seen one suite on the top floor and would prefer the top floor to the main floor for quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaffrey, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Staying at Kingston House is more like a houseparty than a hotel. Only four rooms (one a comfortable suite with balcony) limits the size of the group, I was one of five. The comfortable living room, dining room (breakfast) and family room welcome use by guests, and are often hosted by genial hosts Harry and Marlie Powell. Located within walking distance of Front Street, you can bring back a dinner to share using outrdoor grill. There is a pleasant terrace with pump driven swimming tank. Even in late October, this was a nice oasis from the international sailing event I had come to observe. Kingston House can't be beat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton,PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I spent 6 nights at Kingston house in early October. We stayed in the Bird of Paradise room which we loved and thought was the nicest of the 4 rooms. The balcony catches the evening sun and was a great spot to relax. The pool area was very nice especially when you get back from a long day in the sun. The guests we met were also interesting and friendly. The hosts of this establishment are hard working gracious people. They are VERY helpful to all guests and there are many value added things that they both do on a daily basis. The 5 cent tour to orient new guests, great advice re restaurants and beaches, rides to town, history lessons, transportation guidance, botany, fishing info, the list goes on. It is a seamless experience that does not happen by accident. They know their process and they work it well while working all the hours that God gives them. Meeting Mr. and Mrs. Powell is reason enough to visit Bermuda and if you come, consider a stay at Kingston house. It's a treat. Thank you M&H for sharing your home and yourselves with us.
Kind Regards,
J&C

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I took a cruise to Bermuda in 2001 and have thought about going back ever since. The island is absolutely beautiful. The people are friendly, the beaches are fantastic and the weather is the best. But this review is not about the island, but the Kingston House.

I had found the Kingston House when searching Trip Advisor for a place to stay. Looking at the write ups and seeing the pictures, I thought….this can’t be that nice. People who had stayed there had nothing but praise…. But it can’t be true, can it? Well, I’m here to tell you….it is!

When we pulled up to the Kingston House, it looked just like the pictures on the website only nicer… because it wasn’t a picture…it was real. The grounds were green and lush and a scent of nectar from one of the many flowers greeted you as opened the gate and walked toward the house. It’s difficult to say what impresses you more, the look of the house and grounds or the greeting you get from the Powells (Marlie and Harry). I’m not sure how they did this, but after the introductions and a brief casual walk to show us the house, we didn’t feel like we were visitors but rather like we were friends returning to spend time with people we’d known all our lives.

Marlie brought us back to the Frangipani room. This room, which was right off of the combination family room and kitchenette, was the perfect size for the two of us. Bright and airy, I was very impressed with how clean and spacious it was. The queen size bed was comfortable and would ultimately become a welcome haven after a busy day of sightseeing and hitting the beaches. After unpacking, the Powells did something that you’d never see happen at hotel – since they had to run an errand; they offered to give us a ride to the market. Now, the city is just a quick 10 minute walk, but carrying some provisions back can make for a longer walk so we gratefully accepted. During our trip, Harry threw in a “quarter tour,” but Marlie, who realized we were running late, had him keep it to a “nickel tour.” In our eyes….it was priceless.

We really can’t say enough nice things about the Powell’s, especially Marlie. Harry had been away for the bulk of our time so we leaned heavily on Marlie for everything from her input on where to dine to which beach was better… Elbow or Warwick Long Beach (the winner was Warwick). Marlie made us feel quite at home and we never once felt like we were pestering her, although I’m sure she has probably answered the questions we had asked a thousand times before……she made it seem like it was the first time anyone every asked it. Her guidance truly made our choices easy and spot on. She is a sweet and wonderful lady… Harry joined us later on in the week. An interesting man, his stories of his sailing days or the work he has done kept us both riveted as well as entertained. It was fun to watch him get to really poignant part of the story only to be interrupted by Digby (the Wonder Dog) who wanted to play with his ball. The Powells are wonderful people…and so were their guests

During the 9 days we were there, we had the pleasure of meeting 6 different guests. Although most were from the U.S., two were from Europe. It didn’t matter where everyone was from. We all had one thing in common… we were guests of the Kingston House and we all started our day at the breakfast table. Breakfast was a lot of fun. We all got to know one another… and hearing stories of home and past travels. By the second cup of coffee, there were no strangers… we were all friends. And I noticed that no one seemed to be in a hurry to leave the table. At first we thought that everyone was just being polite, or that’s what you do on the “first day.” But this continued for the entire time we were there. Breakfast was a wonderful time. It was an excellent way to start the day.
So how could one possibly end a day that starts this good? How does having drinks and snacks poolside at the end of the day sound? It’s hard to say which was better? Planning what you were going to do that day, or talking about the shells or sea glass you picked up. The friends we made at the Kingston House will truly be our friends. And we have the Kingston House to thank for that.

So are we planning on returning? Absolutely! So keep the Frangipani and my plastic wine glass ready for us for we are planning on return next August.

Until then, we would like to thank Marlie, Harry and of course, Digby the Wonder Dog for one of the nicest vacations we’ve had in quite a while.

Katie and David Foster

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have been visiting Bermuda for 40+ years and Kingston House is far and away the best place I have ever found for a truly relaxing vacation. The attention to detail that Marlie and Harry provide leave you with nothing on your mind but unwinding day after day. If Kingston House were a book it would be the story of a l00 little nice touches that add up to a wonderful stay. From the amazing breakfasts to the fresh flowers in your room to the always available computer, the nice touches were everywhere. The quiet street only added to the ambience and yet so near to everything. Best wishes to the Powells and may they show others in the local hospitality business how to provide top of the line service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Last year, I stayed at Kingston House B&B as it seemed to afford the best facilities for the best price. This year, I once again chose Kingston House because, frankly, why would I want to stay anywhere else? And next year, when I return, there will be no question about where to stay.

Returning to Kingston House this year felt like returning home, especially as I once again stayed in the Jacaranda Room. Since last year, some improvements have been made, such as a bigger area to prepare food in the Guest Lounge as well as a new, very clever water cooler which extracts water out of the air for either hot or cold drinks. The rooms have also benefited with the replacement of the old tubs with new, modern showers.

What hasn’t changed is the warm, friendly welcome you will receive from Harry and Marlie (and Digby, the resident dog), the wealth of knowledge about the island they are eager to share with their guests around the breakfast table, the delicious options available for breakfast (including superb home-roasted coffee), the offer of rides into the City of Hamilton, availability of beach towels and mats and the knowledge that the hosts want you to truly experience the Bermuda they are proud to call home.

You can stay at any hotel to experience the beauty of Bermuda but to really get a sense of what makes it such a magical island, stay at Kingston House Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kingston House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston House B&B

Address: 5 Turnstile Lane, Hamilton HM 06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston House B&B is conveniently located walking distance to Hamilton and all it's amenities. It has plenty of architectural character and charm as well as the modern conveniences travellers expect in a top hotel. Friendly hosts help you make the most of your time in Bermuda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingston House Hotel Hamilton
Kingston House Bed And Breakfast
Kingston House B&B Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kingston House B&B to your Saves list