We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are curious about sea glass, then stop here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Glass Beach

Sea Glass Beach
Corner of Cochran and Malibar Road, Hamilton, Bermuda
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 58 things to do in Hamilton
Attraction details
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“If you are curious about sea glass, then stop here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was very curious to see a beach covered in sea glass and was not disappointed. We walked from the Royal Naval Dockyard. After you cross the bridge, stay to the right when the street splits. Once you get behind the apartment buildings, look for a little picnic shelter. There are steps that lead down to the beach right by that. The beach is COVERED in sea glass. It does look like it was once an old dumping ground. There were a few people there looking through the glass to find some treasures. We also saw some squid who "inked" when you got too near. This is not a place to be barefoot or to swim. It makes a good adventure for the last day of your cruise as you can walk there and then take the bus back to the Dockyard and visit all the stores. There was one booth in the craft market where a gal was actually demonstrating making sea glass jewelry and several that sold sea glass jewelry. I just find it fascinating.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    29
    14
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
144 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Absolutely crazy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Ok. Anyone who says they went here and it isn't mind boggling is not thinking clearly! The glass is awesome and the sounds of the waves over the pieces is soothing. We were respectful and took only photos and no glass to preserve the beauty for others. Take the local bus to Albert row apartments (they are blue) and walk between the buildings down the stairs and the view is there and amazing! Locals grill there and they have benches and tables and a dock. Also a trail leads off onto the woods to the right which is shady and private. Nice for a picnic or just enjoying the view. Worth a bus ride and some photos to remember. Please leave the glass for others. A great secret spot!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Prince Edward Island, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sea Glass Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Yes the glass was abundant, the water was beautiful but I wouldn't go out of my way to get there. The location isn't very well marked so make sure you know where you are going.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Exactly As Named”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The only beach I know where you are not supposed to pick up the litter (glass). Not in the best location and really not much to see unless you like funky art in weird places.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithsburg, MD
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting but over-rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Very difficult to find though asked a local and was pointed in the right direction. Maybe I went into it with unrealistic expectations from reading the reviews because I was disappointed. Not quite sure what I was expecting but hardly a real wow for me. Yes, there is quite a bit of sea glass, was interesting for one visit. Would I go back? Not likely. Time would have been better spent seeing more of the island instead.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Glass Beach also viewed

Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Sea Glass Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Glass Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.