We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bermuda Reef Explorer

Bermuda Reef Explorer
Front St, Hamilton HM11, Bermuda
+1 441-535-7333
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bermuda's largest and most spacious custom built glass bottom boat offering 2 hour Glass Bottom and 3 hour Glass Bottom and Snorkel trips. Morning and Afternoon trips depart Hamilton Monday through Saturday.
Kensington, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were fortunate enough to find Mike and Angelo during our one week trip to Bermuda. We phoned to make reservations and set up our day. We went to see a ship wreck, turtles (lucky enough to see 5 that day), lots of fish and the other family we were with went snorkling. We learned alot about the local eco-systems, economy, customs etc. from Mike and Angelo. It was like we were out for the day with a couple of old friends.

We would certainly recommend this excursion and will happily book again if we are lucky enough to return!

Cathy & Marshall
Prince Edward Island
Canada

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy-Simmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Huntington, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best day ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned home from our Bermuda stay and had to post a review about our wonderful experience aboard the Reef Explorer with Capt Mike and his associate Angelo. We signed up for the afternoon "glass bottom snorkel adventure" and it turned out to be the best part of our vacation!! Mike shared his vast knowledge of Bermuda history, architecture and famous landmarks on our way to the site of a shipwreck..there we were able to view through the glass bottom the coral and sealife that live there...then it was on to Turtle Cove for the best snorkeling ever..cove is secluded and sheltered making for very calm waters..saw lots of coral and many beautiful fish..on the trip back to shore we chatted some more with Mike and Angelo and it was so clear to see that they truly love what they do and are dedicated to making your time with them the best. Thank you both for a great day

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dborglive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BdaTurtle, Manager at Bermuda Reef Explorer, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write. We love what we do and enjoy sharing the beauty of our home with our guests. We hope to see you again some day should you visit Bermuda in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent tour...one of the highlights of our trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We took the sunset pirate cruise last week (september 2012). My husband and I were at Bermuda on a cruise with our daughter who is almost 4. The scenery was beautiful and we throughly enjoyed listening to both of the guides. They are Bermuda natives and you can tell how much they enjoy their jobs. They had tons of fascinating stories about pirates and local lore. My daughter loved the glass bottom portion, we made a few passes over a shipwreck and saw several different kinds of fish. Afterwards, we were invited to throw bread to the fish and watch them in a feeding frenzy, it was really something to see. Then we settled back w/ a rum swizzle for the ride back to the dockyards. Other beverages were provided free of charge. The only recommedation i would make is to just skip the pirate costumes, they were cheesy and not necessary...you all have got a really good thing going without that!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank jewele803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply the best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I just wanted to say that on a recent trip to Bermuda (September 2012) my wife and myself took a glass bottom boat trip with Reef Explorer and enjoyed the trip so much that we took the snorkel trip that very afternoon!!! The staff on the boat were Mark and his cousin Leanne, and they were absolutely brilliant!!! They were very friendly and informative and I would certainly use them again on any future trip to Bermuda.
You can catch their boat at the Hamilton Ferry terminal. The whole atmosphere was vey relaxed.

WELL RECOMMENDED!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank cjh06309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BdaTurtle, Manager at Bermuda Reef Explorer, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed the time you spent with us. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Bermuda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dedicated staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We took a 1:30 snorkel and glass bottom tour. After emailing with their office, this trip was recommended for my family, who included my husband and I, and his parents who are in their sixies. We were told to buy our tickets directly from the captain in order to save a "booking fee" but visa was available as well. Our captain was Michael, who was very knowledgeable and very concerned in his passengers enjoying the trip. Because it was a hot day, he decided to go snorkeling first and then on the tour, which worked out great, because the snorkel spot became very busy after we left it.
The snorkeling was fantastic. They provided all the gear, plus pool noodles the make the swimming easier. My mother-in-law cannot swim, and so they only charged her the glass bottom tour price ($20 less!) and still let her wade in the water with a pool noodle. The whole crew spent their time at the snorkel site watching us to make sure we were okay. The snorkeling was excellent!
The glass-bottom tour was great as well. They took us to see some sea turtles, reefs, and a ship wreck. A testament to how dedicated these guys are to making the experience enjoyable came as we finished with the shipwreck. There were lots of fishes swimming around the boat, so the staff had made a deal with the local bakery to provide us with day-old bread to feed the fish! A very enjoyable experience.
Finally, the crew also provided drinks for anyone who got thirsty, including, (after the swim, of course) Rum Swizzles for $5 each.

This was by far our best experience on the trip!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BdaTurtle, Manager at Bermuda Reef Explorer, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback. We love what we do and it is great to hear that our guests enjoyed their time spent with us. We hope we will see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bermuda Reef Explorer also viewed

 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Bermuda Reef Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing