We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bermuda Reef Explorer

Bermuda Reef Explorer
Front St, Hamilton HM11, Bermuda
+1 441-535-7333
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bermuda's largest and most spacious custom built glass bottom boat offering 2 hour Glass Bottom and 3 hour Glass Bottom and Snorkel trips. Morning and Afternoon trips depart Hamilton Monday through Saturday.
Huntington, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best day ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned home from our Bermuda stay and had to post a review about our wonderful experience aboard the Reef Explorer with Capt Mike and his associate Angelo. We signed up for the afternoon "glass bottom snorkel adventure" and it turned out to be the best part of our vacation!! Mike shared his vast knowledge of Bermuda history, architecture and famous landmarks on our way to the site of a shipwreck..there we were able to view through the glass bottom the coral and sealife that live there...then it was on to Turtle Cove for the best snorkeling ever..cove is secluded and sheltered making for very calm waters..saw lots of coral and many beautiful fish..on the trip back to shore we chatted some more with Mike and Angelo and it was so clear to see that they truly love what they do and are dedicated to making your time with them the best. Thank you both for a great day

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BdaTurtle, Manager at Bermuda Reef Explorer, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write. We love what we do and enjoy sharing the beauty of our home with our guests. We hope to see you again some day should you visit Bermuda in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent tour...one of the highlights of our trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We took the sunset pirate cruise last week (september 2012). My husband and I were at Bermuda on a cruise with our daughter who is almost 4. The scenery was beautiful and we throughly enjoyed listening to both of the guides. They are Bermuda natives and you can tell how much they enjoy their jobs. They had tons of fascinating stories about pirates and local lore. My daughter loved the glass bottom portion, we made a few passes over a shipwreck and saw several different kinds of fish. Afterwards, we were invited to throw bread to the fish and watch them in a feeding frenzy, it was really something to see. Then we settled back w/ a rum swizzle for the ride back to the dockyards. Other beverages were provided free of charge. The only recommedation i would make is to just skip the pirate costumes, they were cheesy and not necessary...you all have got a really good thing going without that!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simply the best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I just wanted to say that on a recent trip to Bermuda (September 2012) my wife and myself took a glass bottom boat trip with Reef Explorer and enjoyed the trip so much that we took the snorkel trip that very afternoon!!! The staff on the boat were Mark and his cousin Leanne, and they were absolutely brilliant!!! They were very friendly and informative and I would certainly use them again on any future trip to Bermuda.
You can catch their boat at the Hamilton Ferry terminal. The whole atmosphere was vey relaxed.

WELL RECOMMENDED!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BdaTurtle, Manager at Bermuda Reef Explorer, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed the time you spent with us. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Bermuda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dedicated staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We took a 1:30 snorkel and glass bottom tour. After emailing with their office, this trip was recommended for my family, who included my husband and I, and his parents who are in their sixies. We were told to buy our tickets directly from the captain in order to save a "booking fee" but visa was available as well. Our captain was Michael, who was very knowledgeable and very concerned in his passengers enjoying the trip. Because it was a hot day, he decided to go snorkeling first and then on the tour, which worked out great, because the snorkel spot became very busy after we left it.
The snorkeling was fantastic. They provided all the gear, plus pool noodles the make the swimming easier. My mother-in-law cannot swim, and so they only charged her the glass bottom tour price ($20 less!) and still let her wade in the water with a pool noodle. The whole crew spent their time at the snorkel site watching us to make sure we were okay. The snorkeling was excellent!
The glass-bottom tour was great as well. They took us to see some sea turtles, reefs, and a ship wreck. A testament to how dedicated these guys are to making the experience enjoyable came as we finished with the shipwreck. There were lots of fishes swimming around the boat, so the staff had made a deal with the local bakery to provide us with day-old bread to feed the fish! A very enjoyable experience.
Finally, the crew also provided drinks for anyone who got thirsty, including, (after the swim, of course) Rum Swizzles for $5 each.

This was by far our best experience on the trip!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BdaTurtle, Manager at Bermuda Reef Explorer, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback. We love what we do and it is great to hear that our guests enjoyed their time spent with us. We hope we will see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Glass Bottom Boat/Snorkel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We took a group of teenagers and parents on the glass bottom boat and snorket excursion. The crew is very friendly. For the first hour you can sit on top of the boat while they drive you to the shop wreck and coral reefs. Once you reach the coral reefs you go back inside the boat to view the glass bottom portion of the trip for about a half an hour. I was expecting to see more than grey fish and a few kinds of coral but I guess that's what Bermuda has to see under the water. After seeing the fish you can go back outside and feed the fish bread - and there was plenty of bread to feed them. That was fun to do and then they took us to a cove that you could snorkel, kayak or just float around on a noodle. The water was warm and clean - it was a very enjoyable. It was a nice way to spend the afternoon.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BdaTurtle, Manager at Bermuda Reef Explorer, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you we enjoyed having you join us and hope that you will visit us again on any future trips to Bermuda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bermuda Reef Explorer also viewed

Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Bermuda Reef Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bermuda Reef Explorer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.