We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Grill

Victoria Grill
29 Victoria Street, Hamilton HM01, Bermuda
1-441-296-5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 81 Restaurants in Hamilton
Price range: $16 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Victoria Grill & Rumba°R is an upscale restaurant and cocktail bar, located at centre of Hamilton, at 29 Victoria Street. Our menu is currently focused on a Coastal Southern comfort-food theme utilizing local and international seafood, top quality meats and local produce when available. Our Wine Spectator Award winning wine list is priced at only $20 above retail, and we are the only upscale restaurant offering a Bring Your Own Wine (BYOW) program for both lunch and dinner for only $20 corkage. So whether you bring it, or we provide it, it only costs $20 to enjoy some of the world's best wines in our beautiful setting.Known for the best mojito's and gaucamole on the island, our Rumba°r lounge is the epitome of the South Beach scene, with an onyx stone bar and cocktail tables setting a delightful scene indoors. With our covered outdoor lounge with retractable roof that can be quickly deployed to cover the courtyard to guard against inclement weather, Rumba°r is a perfect and reliable indoor and outdoor destination for small and large gatherings from 2 to 200. Reserve the total privacy of the V.I.P. Room which, with a flick of a switch, is converted from see through glass to opaque seclusion for that privately staffed business lunch or dinner for up to 12.We look forward to greeting you the next time you are dining in beautiful Hamilton, Bermuda.
St. George, Bermuda
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Restaurant Week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Menu had a good selection for the special menu. Food was very good. Service a bit slow and took a while to have the order actually taken. Not bad atmosphere. For a Friday not overly busy which was disappointing. The first time tried to make a reservation couldn't because it was the Managers day off which I thought was a bit feeble. Do you want business or not and surely there must be someone else there capable of taking reservations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Victoria Grill, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review Di S. To start, I am very happy that you really enjoyed our 3-course Restaurant Week menu! The Coastal Southern style of cuisine has been very popular.

The service issues you experienced are not the standards to aim for, especially the slow response to your table, and the disappointing reservation process. If you would be kind enough to contact me personally, I would appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your evening with us, so that I may address it with my team, and make it right with you. We really want your business, and appreciate the feedback.

I hope you will take the time to assist me in ensuring your next experience is memorable.
Best regards,
Kevin Rhyno
General Manager
Victoria Grill & Rumbar Lounge
441-296-5050
victoriagrill@irg.bm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Winterlicious Menu - great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have reviewed this restaurant in the past, but wanted to post again as we ate here last night, dining from Victoria Grill's "Winterlicious Menu" and we had a great meal that was fantastic value for money - $30 for 3 courses. We both started with the potato and onion hash with poached egg - we both really enjoyed it - it was reminiscent of a "brunchy" type dish, but ideal for a cold winter's night (well, cold in Bermuda terms!). We also both went for the braised short rib with grits and broccolini - perfect "down home" comfort food. The fruit crumble I had for dessert was the best I've had in ages - so many places over-sweeten desserts rather than letting the tart tanginess of the fruit play its part. Along with this, the friendly and attentive service of Darko and the fabulous Kevin Rhyno, made it a perfect mid-week dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, General Manager at Victoria Grill, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review HLG12398! Our Restaurant Week menu has been immensely popular and I am please to hear that as a returning guest the food and service continues to impress. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kevin Rhyno
General Manager
Victoria Grill & Rumbar Lounge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“I expected more...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The ad in the paper said "All you can eat Saturday dinner" and "eat until you are full" when describing the Brazilian Churrasco featured Saturday nights at Victoria Grill in Hamilton for the advertised price of $39.95 per person "inclusive of sides". "Sumptuous swords of delicious meats carved at your table". Well, the reality was a bit different. Our party of four was seated quickly but we were then left to our own devices a bit too long. The host-server brought family-style salad, which was quite good, and bread. After ordering wine, we were each brought a plate with sides of steamed vegetables and some mashed potatoes, along with a tray of three dipping sauces for the meats. Soon, the first sword arrived, but nothing is carved, table-side, anyway. Rather, small pieces of meat and fish are removed by the server using tongs and placed on your plate. There was skirt steak, beef tenderloin, two varieties of pork, two kinds of fish, and shrimp. To my surprise, there was no chicken. Most of the meats were quite good... the first time around, anyway. Far from being "all you can eat", one server asked if there were any other meats we'd like to have more of, and while I was tempted to say "all of 'em", we asked for one or two. But they said they were "all out" of the tenderloin, but had "quite a lot" of the skirt steak. My guess is that they cook a number of skewers proportionate to the number of Churrasco diners they expect - and no more. The second time around, the steaks were underdone, and so were the shrimp. I really got the sense they had been rushed to the table. We were never offered more of the side dishes or sauces, which is a pity, as the sauces complimented some of the meats perfectly. To me, it might be a great value, but this is still Bermuda, where absolutely everything is expensive, and a truly "all you can eat" experience in a venue of that quality would cost a lot more. The restaurant is small, cozy and intimate with a modern flair. The tastes were good, but the service and the experience could be managed better. Still, we enjoyed a nice evening out on the weekend before New Year's... we just didn't leave quite as full as we had expected.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Not excellent but reasonable value and usually quick service. Rumbar has good Salsa nights and lots of soca events.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Bermuda
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Fun and Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The guacamole table side is a must before dinner. The food, atmosphere and the new wine list with a byow concept is fantastic. Kevin, the manager is super and very knowledgeable. The service is great and very personable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Grill also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Victoria Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.