We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Palms Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Palms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Royal Getaway
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Royal Palms Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Palms on our first trip to Bermuda. From start to finish the stay was a fantastic experience. The entire staff was friendly, helpful and could not do enough for us. The room was spacious, clean and everything worked. The room was serviced every day while we were at breakfast. The continental breakfast selection was great and everything was fresh every day. Wine Time from 1730 - 1830 each day was a great time to relax and visit with the other guests.
We will stay here again, Sooner rather than later hopefully

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review. I'm so pleased you had a wonderful experience with us. After a long day of activities, our early evening wine hour is a lovely time to relax and unwind with fellow guests. We look forward to you joining us for a glass on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    50
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
60
274
30
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

First time at this hotel, third time to the island, we will never stay anywhere else in Bermuda. Very clean and well kept property. Room was spacious, we were not in the main building. Staff was extremely cordial and very helpful. Within walking distance to Hamilton shopping and restaurant area. You won't be disappointed staying at this wonderful, clean hotel.

Room Tip: The area across from the main entrance where we stayed was quite and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We're so pleased that you chose to stay with us on this trip and were not disappointed. We'll be happy to welcome you back whenever you visit the island.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We decided to stay at the Royal Palms on our first trip to Bermuda -- we are so glad we did! This lovely hotel / inn is so personal -- from the moment you walk up the steps until you are walked to your cab to depart for the airport. The grounds are full of beautiful gardens -- the rooms are clean and well appointed. Our room had a lovely little balcony where we could sit out in the evening and listen to the whistling frogs and sip on some wine. Continental breakfasts are delightful, as is "Wine Time", where you get a chance to meet other visitors or just sit in the gardens or porch and relax at the end of a busy day of exploration. Many thanks to Elysia, John Felix, and the entire staff for making our visit memorable, and especially the bartender who was always smiling and accommodating. Ascots was a memorable dining experience -- not to be missed. 10-15 minutes walking distance to downtown and the ferry stops -- Taxis generally readily available at the hotel or they can schedule one whenever you want. Loved this place. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you want an outside balcony or patio, be sure to specify one in your request -- some do not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear mocleaver,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your first visit to Bermuda. I'm so glad you enjoyed everything we had to offer, including the very tiny but loud tree frogs! We really appreciate your lovely review and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from our fifth stay at the Royal Palms. It is a beautiful place to relax and enjoy Bermuda. The grounds and the rooms are spacious and well- maintained, it is an easy ten or fifteen minute walk to Front St. and the ferry, and there are many restaurants to choose from close by. Best of all, the staff truly go out of their way to be welcoming and helpful. It is always a pleasure to see familiar faces, both in the office,the housekeeping staff and the dining room. Whenever we have been to the Royal Palms, we have made sure to eat in Ascot's Restaurant. This year we had two wonderful meals there.
We hope to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary there next year.

Room Tip: The deluxe mini suites are extremely comfortable. We have stayed twice in 126 which is set a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our stay at the Royal Palms was excellent! There is a very welcoming feeling as soon as you enter. As we checked in, we were provided an escorted tour of the property as well as being shown to our room. (Thanks Elysha)
Our room was large, bright, and immaculate. The hotel grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed sitting on the verandah in the comfy wicker furniture.The staff were very pleasant and most helpful answering questions. They readily made suggestions which helped make our stay enjoyable.
Breakfast was delicious and more than adequate. John was very pleasant and always had a big smile for everyone.
We did have the opportunity to eat at Just24 and Ascots. We would highly recommend both. Aneal helped make our dining experience at Ascots fun as he arranged an anniversary dessert.
Another added touch was the evening wine and snacks. Great opportunity to mingle with other guests.
The Royal Palms was about a 10 minute walk from the downtown area . We enjoyed the walk and felt very safe at all times.
We will certainly return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear AudreyD20,
We're so pleased you had an excellent stay with us. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Most people want to go near the beach but this place is worth not staying near the beach for the Charm and staff. Great b&b beautiful garden, 10 minute walk to bus depot to get to beaches. Number 7 to elbow, horseshoe is about 30 to 40min by bus. Continental breakfast is good. Dinner at ascot is delicious. The staff is amazing and you with recommendations and reservations . Stayed in room 103 in main building, double beds, spacious and clean. Would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Many thanks for posting your kind feedback. I'm so pleased you found our staff helpful and enjoyed the service and facilities we provide. Our location is indeed ideal for getting around the island whether by bus, ferry or moped. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our week long honeymoon here; the staff (especially Kate, Sonia, John, Charry, and Idamae) were wonderfully friendly and truly helpful; going out of their way to make our stay there memorable. (A Thank You to John who made a special effort to get me an aloe leaf to help me sooth my "road rash" and Idamae who came back in the afternoon to clean our room after we absentmindedly left the "do not disturb" sign on the door all day.) The room was wonderful: clean, spacious, and adorable. The hotel grounds are absolutely charming and very well maintained. Breakfast was excellent as was the nightly wine tasting. Having two of our favorite Bermuda restaurants on site (Ascots and Just 24) just adds to the overall wonderful experience of staying at the Royal Palms. We also discovered Mad Hatter's restaurant which is on the short and enjoyable walk to Hamilton from the hotel. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear James G,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and so pleased you chose to spend your honeymoon with us! I'm happy to hear you found our staff attentive and the rooms immaculate.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.
Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.