We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Palms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Royal Getaway
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This place is Excellent they are very nice people and very helpful and are great with calling taxis. There swimming pool is lovely and the rooms are great. Did you know they won trip advisor 2011. They have a little garden witch grows fruit and they let us pick some to have. There breakfast is great and tastes great ,you can boil your own egg witch can be fun. If there is a kid in your family and is keen on watching a little film they can choose one. It is a very friendly family hotel. I really do recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Louis B,

Thank you for your kind review. We also won a Certificate of Excellence for 2013!

We're glad you were able to take advantage of the in room DVD player and movie library. Our gardens are filled with banana trees, grapefruit, guava, and avocados which I'm so pleased you were able to enjoy.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    54
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
64
293
31
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the palms for a week while our son sailed the North American championships. He stayed down at the princess, we wanted nothing to do with the carnage down there with 180 sailors.. Hotel was great, people great, service great. Wifi great. It's our 20th anniversary and we had a nice bottle of vino in the room waiting for us,. Perfect. Rooms are quaint not spacious but when in Bermuda, you are really not in your room. The pool was perfect and friends came down from the edge hill to chill with us in the morning. Breakfast was good but too much bread and pasties for us. We plan to stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear John L,

We appreciate your review, thank you!

While you may have been booked into our only superior room which happens to be the smallest accommodation we offer, there are also much larger mini suites which hopefully you can enjoy on your next visit. We're so happy you enjoyed the wine on your special occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I think this is the best of the three Hamilton Hotels.
It turns out that Royal Palms is no further from the centre of Hamilton than the other two, it is just that access to Hamilton is along a different road. In the first instance I thought Royal Palms was further from Hamilton and therefore it wasn’t my first choice, in fact I stayed at the other two more expensive hotels first which, in hindsight, was a mistake ( see other reviews if you are interested); I won’t be looking any further.
Royal Palms is a quaint seemingly 100 year old inn that turns out to be squeaky clean and new beneath the skin. I was there on business so wasn’t interested access to beaches etc. but I was interested in the fact that the rooms are large, crisp and clean. The linens appeared to be new and I felt I was the first person to use the bathroom. This is what I liked:

There was nothing tired about my bedroom; everything was new or well maintained. Large flat screen TV, DVD player, fridge with space to put my own things, wired and wireless Internet. Iron, ironing board, bath robes and even a rubber ducky!
The air conditioning was quiet!
The staff was professional, friendly, but not pushy and I sensed were looking for ways to enhance my stay.
The inclusive continental breakfast was comprehensive and plentiful and served in a beautiful indoor/outdoor area. They have good coffee and tea all day in the lounges, an honor bar by the pool and free wine every evening.
Ascots Restaurant was first class and expensive, their other restaurant Just 24 was just right for me!
They don’t just have a computer for guest use they also have a printer that prints from my iPad and smartphone.

What are the negatives?
The pool could have been larger but fine for me
The front entrance isn’t grand

All in all I think their main goal is to satisfy guest and they hope the business will follow – I think they are right!

Room Tip: I just think they like to have happy guests and the business will take care of itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Raymond S,

Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased you enjoyed everything we had to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

7 of us went to celebrate out 40th birthdays. We had 2 suites next to each other that were very comfortable and roomy. Breakfast was delicious each morning and we were able to walk to town to restaurants, the bus, and our snorkeling trip. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendlier. They even gave us wine to celebrate and booked all our dinner reservations and taxis. We had an amazing time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear C B,
Thank you for your lovely review. We were delighted to host you and your friends for your birthdays, and happy you enjoyed the wine.

We look forward to welcoming you all again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have been traveling to Bermuda from the U.S. off and on for 20 years. Once we found The Royal Palms 10 years ago, we've never considered lodging anywhere or with anyone else. If one wants first class service with a highly professional smile, rare privacy in an intimate location with spacious rooms and suites, and high standards with terrific value; then stay The RP. We have just returned from our 40th wedding anniversary and can not applaud every aspect of our time there nearly enough in a short review. The RP is simply the BEST.....

Room Tip: The mini-suites are terrific.....great value and plenty sizeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear CS R,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you for many more years as you celebrate your anniversary with us.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The best of a bed and breakfast and a small hotel. The rooms and big and comfortable. The staff is unfailingly charming and helpful. Great location a short walk to Hamilton. Nice buffet continental breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Lesaw4,

Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Anything I would say about this hotel would be redundant to all the other excellent reviews. It is a hotel of peace, beauty and tranquility with a staff that is the best. I would like to say "hello and thanks" to Elysha, Myra, Kate and Charry for all of their genuine friendliness and concern. Also, I would like to thank the residents of Bermuda for their sincere warmth and hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Lindabird16,

Thank you for your kind review. We feel our staff are the best too! Thank you for mentioning them by name. We look forward to welcoming you again to enjoy the peace and tranquility of Royal Palms.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.