We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Peaceful Retreat in Bermuda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE Saturdays
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Orland Park, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Totally Peaceful Retreat in Bermuda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Anything I would say about this hotel would be redundant to all the other excellent reviews. It is a hotel of peace, beauty and tranquility with a staff that is the best. I would like to say "hello and thanks" to Elysha, Myra, Kate and Charry for all of their genuine friendliness and concern. Also, I would like to thank the residents of Bermuda for their sincere warmth and hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Lindabird16,

Thank you for your kind review. We feel our staff are the best too! Thank you for mentioning them by name. We look forward to welcoming you again to enjoy the peace and tranquility of Royal Palms.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    43
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
225
27
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Nevada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Walking distance to downtown Hamilton and the waterfront make this a good destination hotel and the staff is exceptional at all levels. This was our first trip to Bermuda, birthday celebration for my wife and we could not have selected a better price/features/facility destination.
The hotel arranged transportation from the airport, the driver was a hoot, never stopped talking and describing things along our route to the hotel.
Breakfast is pretty much standard B and B selections, but very noticeably fresh. Dining in an open air cabana-like structure, exceptionally well-tended is remarkable.
The pool area is scaled perfectly for the hotel size, access is easy and there is an honor system making cool drinks and ice available. I particularly liked the fact that a hand sanitizer is present at the cooler and ice dispenser.
Internet service in the rooms and common areas is strong and easily accessed with either wireless connection or hard-wire.
Sleeping accommodation and bath are well appointed, very comfortable and clean. We often find that tropical destinations have difficulty maintaining cleanliness, but the Royal Palms housekeeping and attention to details is exceptional.
We did visit other hotels in the area for comparisons, and the Royal Palms, hands down, will be our future first choice.

Room Tip: Room 118 is a suite, in a detached building, ground floor, has good kitchen facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Jaygu,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We're happy to hear you chose to stay with us on your first visit to Bermuda. So glad you appreciated everything we had to offer. Our staff works very hard to ensure our rooms are kept to standard and each guest is taken care of.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was my first time traveling to Bermuda by plane and we booked our stay at the Royal Palms based off of the previous reviews on Trip Advisor. We wanted the ability to walk to downtown at night to the various restaurants and scooter to the beaches and other parts of the island during the day. The hotel is in a perfect location and the property is beautiful. The walk to the middle of downtown on Front Street is 15 minutes. The staff was very helpful and friendly. As most of the other reviewers pointed out, this is a small hotel with a bed and breakfast feel. If you are looking for a new, resort style hotel, the Royal Palms will not be for you. I believe the buildings are around 100 years old, but everything was very well maintained. Our room was immaculate as far as cleanliness goes and we had a ductless split AC system which kept the room cool and was very quiet. My wife and I have absolutely no complaints and were extremely happy that we picked the Royal Palms. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Ryan N,

Thank you so much for your kind review, and for choosing to stay with us.

We're pleased you found our hotel very convenient to everything Hamilton has to offer, and easy to walk to. The scooters are certainly a fun way to explore the island. You are indeed correct in that our main building dates back to 1901.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

the royal palms in Hamilton town is a very good choice for those adults who prefer a reserved and calm city property that is run as a large bed and breakfast inn (35 rooms). the staff is well-trained and formal but not "stuffy." the property is perfect for those who do not need an oceanfront resort and do not mind walking 10-15 minutes into Hamilton for the bus/ferry terminals, shopping or restaurants. there is no bus stop nearby and the hotel does not offer regular shuttle runs. keep in mind that taxis are a relatively expensive way to come and go. rooms are comfortable and well-maintained with the amenities most expected and needed. breakfast and the on-site restaurant are surprisingly good. we were impressed with the clean and colorful gardens and pool. if you are looking for excitement or postcard views, this may not be the place for you...but if you seek understated class and comfortable accommodations just outside Hamilton town, you have found the place. my wife and I will return...as our means allow !

Room Tip: the front desk is excellent at helping you pick a room that is right for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear travelmansam,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed our quiet central location while only being a 10 minute stroll away from the city. We are proud of our staff and gardeners who do a wonderful job of taking care of our guests and ensuring the gardens are in full bloom.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I chose the Royal Palm Hotel because we wanted a quiet and relaxed experience like one gets at a Bed and Breakfast. We were not disappointed. Everyone member of the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They gave us great recommendations for transportation modes on the island, restaurants, tourist sites and shopping. The hotel is located within walking distance of downtown Hamilton, so it takes very little time to walk to all the fun shops and eateries in Hamilton and to public transportation (bus and ferry service) that will take you to other tourist spots on the island. If you'd rather relax at the hotel, there is a pool, a wonderful veranda and two great restaurants on the premises. If we return to Bermuda, we will definitely stay at the Royal Palms.

Room Tip: Our room (suite style) was located in a building separate from the main building that houses the two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear ccpddp,

We're so happy to hear you weren't disappointed with choosing Royal Palms for your quiet vacation getaway. Our staff thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Since 2009 I've travelled to Bermuda for business about 4 to 6 times a year. I used to stay in other hotels until a friend recommended that I tried Royal Palms Hotel and that was the best recommendation I ever had!.

I have never stayed any where else after staying there! This hotel has a rather peaceful and serene atmosphere. They have great staff, very helpful!. The rooms are kept clean and after a hard days work you are sure to return to a nice clean room.

There is no need to go out for breakfast as you can always grab a coffee, tea, milk, yogurt and a toast, waffle, blue berry muffin(mmmm my favorite), hard boiled eggs, fruits and much more if you so wish.

For me Royal Palms is, as the saying goes, "a home away from home" If you are like me, be sure to get a glass of red or white wine from the lobby in the evening before retiring to bed..wink wink...Royal Palms Hotel, Simply the Best in Bermuda!

R. Yankey

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear bobbyy2ko,

Thank you for listening to the recommendation of your friend!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to your 'home away from home' for many more years.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Recently returned from seven day holiday / busness trip to Bermuda, stayed at the excellent Royal Palms Hotel in Hamilton. First class hotel should be 5* rooms large clean & comfortable. Food excellent, good choice and great service I am a Coeliac & had no problems, bar service also excellent, one night we were having a little swallow & asked bar staff what time do you finish, reply was whenever you say goodnight, that was the standard of all the staff but must mention Elysha on the front desk, whether you were going out or returning she would come out & speak to you, very friendly but not pushy or too inquiisitive & always smiling. Watch out for Johnny at breakfast,an Irish man full of laughter & lots of jokes & helpful hints about the Island , one day going to play golf he told us to wear two pairs of socks.......in case we got a hole in one!!
Golf courses fantastic, overall had a great time would certainly recommend the Royal Palms Hotel in quiet area & nice small out door pool, just a very short walk into the centre of Hamilton. My next visit to Bermuda,will stay at the Royal Palms Hotel
Michael Slater

Room Tip: Room 32 was very good, double bed, interesting point they leave doors open of the empty rooms during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Michael1pike,

Many thanks for your lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed everything we had to offer. Our staff are key to our success, so thank you for mentioning them. We all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.