We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Gem in Hamilton, Bermuda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Palms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Royal Getaway
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Gem in Hamilton, Bermuda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent five wonderful nights the Royal Palms. We are both in our 40's and have traveled to many beautiful places and stayed at nice hotels and resorts.
The grounds of the royal palms hotel are beautiful: clean, flowers, plants, places to sit and relax. The buildings are so nice. The interior of the main building has a large patio, breakfast area (Breakfast served every morning), library, bar, wine hour every evening and popular restaurant. Our room was in the main building on the second floor. Our room was very nice, comfortable, clean, had everything we needed and with being in the main building there was no issue with noise. And like smaller bed and breakfast's we had real keys for our room and front door. It was like staying with family - not a monster hotel. So nice.
The staff - from the front desk (Kate and her co-workers), to the breakfast manager (Patrick) to the grounds crew - everyone was so nice and helpful.
The pool - which is on the smaller side, is still very nice and comfortable.
We were able to walk to Hamilton everyday for dinner or to go shopping...restaurants that we recommend are - Red, MadHatter, RobinHood, Flannagans. It area was safe, so no worries walking around. Lot's of nice shopping too - upscale, to t-shirts.
We rented a scooter from Elbow Beach Scooters. Delores at the scooter office is very helpful and her staff is great.
If you want to Dive or Snorkel - Visit Dive Bermuda at the Fairmont SouthHampton. Dive Master Chris is awesome...we did (3) dives.
We highly recommend Royal Palms. It was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Sarahandaj,

We appreciate your lovely review of our hotel, and are so happy you enjoyed everything we had to offer. Thank you for mentioning our staff who we feel do an awesome job too!

We all look forward to welcoming you both back very soon!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    50
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
60
274
30
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a perfect hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Recently after the BA flight being cancelled and BA being very unhelpful, the staff made sure I was safe, feed and even provided transport back to the airport. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds but is only a 5 min walk into Hamilton. The rooms are bright and always cleaned to a high standard. I have stayed here many times on business and it is always a pleasure to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

First time in Bermuda and we are so glad we booked at Royal Palms. Hotel is very charming, room is spacious with fresh flowers and rubber ducky for the bath tub. Love the Victoria style of the room and the hotel itself. And the fact that it's a short 10 minutes walk to the main drag of Front Street of the capital city of Hamilton doesn't hurt at all. But the strongest point of the hotel is the people, they make you feel you're family: Theresa, the very charming manager, Ellysha (hope i spell it right), Charry, Felix, Kate, and everyone that I didn't get the names. Feels like home. Will definitely come back.


Jason Olimpo

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Jay 026,

We're so glad you chose to spend your first trip to Bermuda with us. Our rooms are all individually decorated so I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the Victorian style of your particular suite. Our staff really enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Well run family Hotel in lovely grounds, within easy walking distance of the Front Street shops and Ferry Terminal in Hamilton. Friendly, helpful staff make guests feel at home. Carefully balanced daily menus and selection of wines and spirits make dining a pleasure.

Grahame Smith

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Grahame S,

Thank you so much for your review. We're very pleased that our staff made you feel at 'home'. We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We are frequent Bermuda visitors and make The Royal Palms our home away from home upon each visit. The moment you enter the property you are treated to the beauty and serenity of the gorgeous gardens, everything so well maintained, beautiful rooms, understated elegance with scrumptious towels and linens. Every single person who works at the hotel goes out of their way to make your stay comfortable and easy. They are quick to help and always with a smile - very courteous and lovely. The hotel is in a perfect location equidistant to everything - an easy 5 minute walk into Hamilton/Front Street restaurants, ferry terminal or bus station, and a quick taxi ride or bus ride to the beaches to the south. Oh yes, and probably the best restaurants (Ascots) on the island is right there for a memorable dining experience. We highly recommend the Royal Palms and we look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Gypsea44,

Thank you for your lovely review. We're so glad you found our location so convenient to everything Bermuda has to offer. We're even more pleased that you enjoyed our new linen and towels! Our staff are #1 in our books, doing their best to ensure each guest has a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Whether you are traveling on business or relaxation, it is "a must stay" at this boutique hotel. I have had the pleasure of staying at Royal Palms a few times on business. You are welcomed by smiles during your entire stay and the friendly staff will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Personally, for me, relationships are most important and I give everyone that I have dealt with at this hotel, a 10 out of 10. Experience it yourself to believe me!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Gupta_Bharat_B,

Thank you for your kind review. We're so pleased our hospitality left a memorable impression with you. I can honestly say all our staff love what they do!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Royal Palms is a super boutique hotel with an old world colonial feel but all the modern amenities as well. The staff are extremely welcoming and it felt more like being a guest at country house weekend. It's a great location as well, with just a short walk into town. Great bar and restaurant as well. Make sure you have a Dark and Stormy in the Tree House !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Richard M,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're glad you appreciated the charm of the hotel as well as the modern amenities. We'll be sure to have a dark 'n' stormy waiting for you upon your return!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.