We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Royal Getaway
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Bronxville, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you're looking for a boutique hotel tucked away on a quiet street yet just a short ten minute walk from Hamilton, then look no further than the Royal Palms. Offering a quiet respite after soaking up the sun and fun on Bermuda's beautiful beaches, this gem of an inn offers everything one could hope for when vacationing in Bermuda, outstanding hospitality, comfortable and large air-conditioned rooms, beautiful grounds and last but certainly not least, one of the best restaurants on the island, Ascots. Our family has been vacationing in Bermuda for 25 years, so I speak from experience. Our children who are 20 and 22 thoroughly agreed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Elizabeth B,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope you will continue to travel to Bermuda with your family and stay with us.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    47
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
58
237
29
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was our second visit to Bermuda and this time we decided to look for somewhere to stay in Hamilton. We are so pleased that we found The Royal Palms Hotel. It is a short, interesting 10 minute walk into town either to catch the ferries or buses or for shopping, restaurants etc. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was on the first floor in the main part of the hotel and was lovely and clean and the bathroom spotless. The air conditioning was extremely efficient and quiet. The staff were very prompt to respond when we reported that the battery was low in the safe. There were some very nice touches in that there were ground coffee sachets in the room, not instant, and there was freshly brewed coffee available around the clock in one of the lounge areas. All the food items at breakfast were lovely and fresh. We had one meal in Just 24 at the hotel and our desserts were amazing and looked almost too beautiful to eat! The gardens were lovely to sit in. We were very sorry to leave and will certainly stay here again on our next visit to Bermuda and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Sue H,

Thank you for your lovely review. We're so glad that you chose to stay with us on your 2nd visit to Bermuda.

We're pleased you appreciated the coffee!

We hope to see you on your 3rd trip to the island.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, SC
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We recently spent four nights at the Royal Palm. We could not have found a more perfect hotel. We were looking for a small hotel with beautiful gardens and the Royal Palm was everything we wanted and more. Theresa and the rest of the staff made our Bermuda holiday so much more enjoyable with their advice and recommendations. We will return to the Royal Palm!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear liveoak33,

We're so glad that you found us and offered everything you were looking for. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The first time we vacationed on the beautiful island of Bermuda we stayed in at the Southhampton Princess which was inclusive of meals because we were told that you couldn't go to Bermuda without a meal plan, food was much too expensive. We really were not happy with our experience in such a large hotel so we began to look for a small boutique hotel. We found the Royal Palms and have returned every year since for the past 15 years. First, we love that the Royal Palms is just a short walk into town where there are many opportunities for dining (both more and less expensive) although our very favorite restaurant "Ascots" is located right inside the Royal Palms. The owners Angelo and Eddie along with their staff provide top notch food and service. This year they have even added a second restaurant "Just 24" which is more casual and very convenient for hotel guests. Royal Palms is owned by Susan and years ago, along with her brother Richard, they began to treat us not just as guests but as friends. Over the years the hotel has expanded a bit and they have a larger staff now that is managed by Theresa who treats us like family. Theresa and her staff cannot do enough for us, they're very accommodating and fun as well. We always stay in a mini suite and over the years we have been in many different rooms which are all tastefully decorated with comfortable bedding and all are extremely clean. The grounds are beautiful and well manicured and there are plenty of chairs throughout the property if you just want to sit outside and enjoy the sunshine and the gardens. Breakfast is provided outside the main building on a lovely patio and we often times bring our coffee and sit on the patio outside our own room. After a day out and about exploring different beaches on the island I love to relax for an hour or two poolside to read a good book. The pool area is nice and peaceful. We travel quite a bit and this is the only place that we return to year after year, its really like our Bermuda home away from home.

Room Tip: We love the mini suites away from the main building where it feels a bit more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear GMA 1495,

Thank you for the awesome review. We always look forward to seeing our repeat guests each year. We hope we will see you returning for the next 15.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at the Royal Palms Hotel in late May; my daughter was on a business trip.

This hotel was excellent; the staff was wonderful to me and my daughter; helping us with transportation; making sure the room was comfortable; as well as suggestions for site seeing.
The hotel was so clean; I don't think you could find a piece of dust if you looked.

The outside gardens are delightful; it is a very calming and quiet place.

I didn't want to leave

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear grandmasis,

Thank you so much for your review. We are very proud of our housekeepers and agree that they do an awesome job. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old bride
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I want to start by saying this experience was wonderful. We were on a cruise, and after many days on the boat, we needed a break and some quiet time away from the ship. We docked in Bermuda and decided to stay overnight. This one night at the Royal Palm was way more than my husband and I expected. This place is amazing and the service and staff were great. The breakfast was good, and we just overall enjoyed everything about the Royal Palm. This place is so clean and the grounds are beautiful. We will definitely come back and stay here.

Crystal Howell

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Crystal H,

Thank you for your kind review. We're thrilled that you found us to be more than you expected. Hopefully your one night visit has enticed you enough to return for a longer stay and to enjoy everything Royal Palms has to offer.

We all look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was thinking about going back to Bermuda this year and realized I had never written a review about our experience at the Royal Palms last year. When we went, it was our first trip to Bermuda and we were looking for a small hotel. The Royal Palms was perfect for us. As guests, we were treated as guests - not just one of the hundreds of people in a big hotel. The staff worked hard to help with island information, taxi arrangements, dinner reservations, directions, etc. This is more of a B&B than a hotel because it is small (by hotel standards) yet it is large enough to provide a full-time staff, bar, restaurant, and pool. The Royal Palms is clean and quiet with an air of distinction and a keen attention to detail. When you leave this renovated Victorian home, you will feel like you had been staying with a favorite relative.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear EENG,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so glad you were able to enjoy all our amenities. We are proud of our staff who do their best to ensure each guest leaves feeling like they can't wait to come back. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.