We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in style!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Palms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Saturdays
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing in style!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

To be honest, this was the least expensive hotel I could find for a one night business stay. What an amazing surprise to see how lovely it was! The staff could not do enough for me and I will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Alisonr201,

Thank you so much for your review!

We're happy you chose us and were pleasantly surprised at everything we had to offer including our complimentary offers of breakfast, Wi-Fi, and an evening wine hour. Hopefully you were able to enjoy dinner at one of our two restaurants.

We hope to be your hotel of choice on your next visit to the island, and look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    43
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
226
27
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

There are not enough superlatives to describe our second visit
to The Royal Palms. It is just the best place to stay in Bermuda.
The staff is always welcoming and caters to your individual needs. Upon our late arrival on May 2 I inquired about a late lunch. No problem, Arnold brought us some soup and hot rolls.
Many thanks to Elysha ,Myra, Kate and of course Thersa for making our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear dgm792,

Thank you for your kind review.

We're so glad you enjoyed your first visit to Royal Palms that you decided to stay again. We'll hold your favourite room until next year!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is our second stay at this hotel - so that answers your first question of "would they go there again?" First it is conveniently located for Hamilton, five minutes walk along a quiet tree lined road and you are in the city. Of course you could go by taxi - they arrive within minutes of bein requested by the hotel and a trip into town would be around $8. The staff are very friendly, every one of them. We have sampled two of the rooms, each beautifully clean and fresh, very comfortable good sized beds and well equipped with kettle microwave, small grill and plates etc. office facilities are also available - wifi in all rooms and wireless printing. Breakfast is served from 7 am to 10 am, all manner of bread, muffins, fruit, toast, cereal, yoghurt, cheese and ham. Coffee is available all day and wine from 5:30 to 6:30. In all it is the next best thing to home.

Room Tip: No 134 has dual aspect views and is close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Katie906

Thank you for your lovely review. We're so glad you chose to stay with us again, and look forward to seeing you on your third visit.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

As first time visitors to Bermuda, we couldn't have had a better experience. Royal Palms is a charming, small hotel with fabulous attention to detail. The rooms are perfectly furnished and immaculate. Location makes it so easy to walk to town (an easy 10 to 15 min) and connect with the buses and ferries if you wish. The staff is always available to help with reservations, touring tips, etc. Kate and John are just the most amazing and helpful staff. Ascots is not to be missed; we dined there twice during our brief stay. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else on our next trip to Bermuda.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear George L,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review.

We're so happy that you spent your first visit to Bermuda with us, and found our location so convenient to the city for shopping, restaurants and the public transportation. We certainly agree that our staff are pretty amazing!

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Bermuda.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This has to be one of the finest hotels in the world. From the very day we arrived we were made so welcome by all of the staff. Everyone had a smile on their face at all times of the day and the night. Aleshia was so helpful and just made our day. Every morning we had breakfast which was fab but added to this was Johns fantastic jokes. In the evenings at the bar and restaurant we received absolutely undivided attention from all the staff We came strangers and left as friends and would recommend the royal palms hotel to anyone who wants to have a comfortable stay in the beautiful island of Bermuda.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Douglas P,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We certainly appreciate our staff who do everything possible to ensure all our guests have a memorable stay with us. As our 'new friends', we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

While I normally only visit Bermuda on business, I stay at Royal Palms because it is a true Bermuda experience. Charming rooms (in any area of the hotel, and I have stayed in all of them), beautiful gardens, lovely sitting areas and a fabulous adjoining restaurant that has both a formal and casual dining room. You can even order from either menu and sit in the cosy bar on comfortable chairs to eat. I may only go for business, but Royal Palms makes it feel like a mini vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear aguascantantes,

Thank you for your kind review! We're so pleased to hear that while you may only be visiting us on business it actually feels like vacation. We would be more than happy to accommodate you in your preferred room, just let us know which one is your favourite.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a five night stay at the Royal Palms in Bermuda. It is a very lovely small hotel which makes you feel like a cherished member of their family.

The entire staff including the front desk, restaurant managers, housekeepers, and everyone else could not have been more helpful and loving in their treatment of us. They offered invaluable tips of where to go and how to best utilize the transportation system. The complimentary breakfast buffet was always fresh and had a nice assortment of fresh fruits, rolls, waffles, cereals and other breakfast offerings. Just enough for a good start to the day.

They also have a 24 hour coffee machine available for anyone to use, picking the type of coffee or tea they would like.

In the evening they have a complimentary wine tasting on the adorable porch area. This was a great place to enjoy the wine and get to know some of the other people staying there. Very convivial atmosphere. The grounds are gorgeous with many beautiful trees and flowers. There are many places to just sit quietly and just enjoy the views of the landscaping - even a nice swing in front. Their on- site restaurant, Ascot's, is the best restaurant experience we had in Bermuda. The food was WONDERFUL. I had a fantastic Salmon Wellington, preceded by their special Banana Rum Soup - YUMMY. My husband enjoyed his Roasted Veal Chops. It was our 40th anniversary and they served our wonderful dessert with a large cookie inscribed with "HAPPY ANNIVERSARY". The restaurant staff was very friendly and accommodating.

When we wanted to go into the town of Hamilton, it was just a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Very convenient. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Warm, inviting, well located, exceptionally caring and loving staff, and beautiful. Would definitely stay there again when returning to Bermuda. They made us feel very wanted, special, and appreciated...very rare.

Room Tip: We had a little mini-suite. Would choose larger room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear ceedob,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so happy that you were able to enjoy everything that was on offer at the hotel and around the island. The warm spirit of the hotel is in part to our dedicated staff that we are so proud of. Please don't take too long to come and visit us again!

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.