We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE Saturdays
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I travel to Bermuda 6 to 8 times a year and this place is wonderful. Much nicer than the Fairmont Princess. Ground floor rooms can be a bit musty smelling if they have not had their A/C or dehumidifiers running (off season), but that is same on every island. They have two restaurants Ascots and something 24 (forget). Ascots is top notch (and expensive) and the casual restaurant is one of the least expensive on the island, but has the same quality of food. (Same chef). Lots of nice porches and garden rooms to sit in. Walking distance to town. You cannot go wrong here.

Room Tip: The big suites are very nice. Two rooms - feel like a little cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Alexzen,
Thank you for your kind review. We're so glad that you discovered us and certainly hope we will be your hotel of choice for your frequent business trips to the island. If you have a room preference please let us know and we'll be happy to accommodate you.
Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    42
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
225
26
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I spent a few days here with my mother. Staff were helpful and responsive. The grounds are relaxing to hang in, the pool not as big as the photos on their website might suggest, but big enough to cool off in, if the need were there. This weekend in February it wasn't, with rain most of the first day, the hotel lent us a couple of fold-up umbrellas that we used while perusing the cafes and stores in Hamilton, a short walk away. They also found a way to dry my sandals that were thoroughly drenched. After that it was water shoes the next two days - and barely a spot of rain, with the sun coming through on the final day of a very short stay. All the same it was a relaxing weekend. Botanical gardens are a short cab or bus ride away and offer an excellent cafe beside the art gallery.
The hotel provided a decent breakfast with some variety included in the room rate. And Johnny introduced himself and helped me find some green tea for my morning brew. They also offer a complimentary wine hour at 5:30 to 6:30. Decent wines from Oyster Bay.
Our one recommendation I would have is that they provide better choice of decaf at breakfast and not just after 11 am when they bring out a pod-based machine. What was on offer was a coffee teabag which is as good as it sounds...Ideally, it would be great if expresso and decaf expresso with a bean such as illy were offered. Getting a good coffee on the island is a hit and miss event. The restaurant on the premises offers these when you eat there. (hmm, wonder if some arrangement could be made....just a thought.)
And as a final note, when we had a small issue with the safe unlocking, staff were responsive in a very timely way. The size of this hotel leads to helpful, friendly and accommodating service. Thank you again for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: I would recommend the main hotel or the luxury suites in the building set back from the main hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear greentaratoronto,
Thank you for your lovely review. In spite of the raining start to your weekend we're glad you were able to get out and about and enjoy the island. We're so pleased you enjoyed our complimentary services such as daily breakfast and our wine hour each evening. Our staff are a big part of our success many having being with us for many years.
Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.George's Bermuda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Palms for a night which was lovely. We had a beautiful room, spacious, clean and comfy. We had the pleasure of dining in Ascots , which was fabulous. Their February specials were great. We enjoyed our time and the continental breakfast was very filling and tasty! Highly recommend a visit. We are looking forward to returning to enjoy the pool in warmer weather. Thank you for a fantastic break.

Room Tip: We travelled with our teen and. Room 23 was spacious for all of us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Nicki O,
We're so glad you took advantage of our great winter specials and enjoyed a relaxing break in one of our comfortable and spacious suites. Please be sure to visit us again during the summer when the pool will most certainly be an inviting escape on a hot summer day. You will also enjoy our second restaurant, Just 24, which offers a casual menu in a more relaxed atmosphere on Ascots garden patio. Thank you so much for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is simply amazing. Our room was huge with nice high ceilings. It includes a mini-kitchen, sitting area and a very large bathroom. Everything is immaculate and housekeeping does a wonderful job each day. The grounds are very beautiful and inviting. The best part are the staff. Every single person we met was extremely friendly and helpful. They went out of the way to ensure our stay was pleasant. The included breakfast is quite expansive so there always something of interest each day. The free wine hour each night includes quality wines. The location is easy walking distance to the heart of Hamilton so there is ready access to stores, bars and restaurants. Do make a point of visiting the hotel bar and Ascots which are both excellent. We definitely want to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear FuzzyBeaver,
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so glad you appreciated everything Royal Palms has to offer. We are very proud of our staff who do an awesome job every day. We will be looking forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paget Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I am (almost) local, having lived in Bermuda for 13 years. This is my first choice for family and clients. The hotel restaurant, Ascots, is wonderful. Quiet garden setting, easy walk to town and public transport links - bus and ferry. Very helpful and long serving staff. i recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Queenie S,
Thank you so much for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the convenience of our location in regards to the city and public transportation. We are very proud of our staff, some having been with us for over 15 years! We really appreciate you recommending us to family and friends, and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington ma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We weren't looking for a big box hotel for our brief stay in Hamilton just after Christmas 2012. The Royal Palm met our requirements (smaller, personal, boutique) and exceeded our expectations. Susan and her staff were johnny on the spot, supplying smiles, service and information. RP was the first hotel on the island to supply their guests with free wi-fi, thanks to Susan's techno husband. Our room (102 Rose) even had an ethernet jack for faster wired internet. Their bountiful breakfast could keep you 'til dinner, and the restaurant, Ascot, was something not to be missed. The high prices for everything on the island ($8/head lettuce, $10/gal gas) were because everything must be flown or shipped in. We'd recommend it with no reservations (no pun intended). The in room coffee prep stopped after our first night. An oversight?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Rachelrider,

We're very happy to hear we exceeded your families expectations during your stay with us. A definite oversight with regards to your coffee replenishment so I do apologize.

We appreciate your lovely review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Theresa Harney-zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have had dinner numerous times in Ascot’s, the restaurant connected to the Royal Palms, but I had never stayed at the hotel before this visit to Bermuda. I think it is my new favorite place. The property is made up of two adjacent mansions built in the early 1900’s, set in beautiful gardens on a quiet side street removed from the hustle and bustle of Hamilton. It has the feel of a high end Bed and Breakfast but has all the amenities of a modern hotel. There are lots of old family antique pieces scattered the common areas, mixed with a large collection of vibrant oil paintings by local artists that combine to create an elegant, comfortable feel rather than the visiting grandma experience. The rooms upstairs are large, well furnished with high quality pieces, very comfortable beds and have large, modern bath facilities. I had a great night’s sleep.
The staff are all extremely pleasant and helpful and are more than willing to stop what they are doing to help, answer questions or just chat about the Island. They are all proud of their hotel and it shows.
The location is only a little removed from Hamilton, an easy 10 minute walk if you are not uncomfortable with the lack of sidewalks part of the way. Given the twisting, narrow nature of the road I would recommend a cab home if you have been out late.
This is the perfect place for a business person who is tired of corporate hotels, as well as for the couple where she likes bed-and- breakfast and he likes the freedom of a hotel. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house, or the Somerset suite if you are in for long stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Carldaddy,

We are so pleased you appreciated the charm of our hotel and the experience that comes along with it. We are very proud of our staff who take great pride in what they do every day!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property. On your return to your 'new favourite place' please ensure we show you the route into Hamilton that includes a sidewalk.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.