We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Palms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Royal Getaway
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Absolutely great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is simply amazing. Our room was huge with nice high ceilings. It includes a mini-kitchen, sitting area and a very large bathroom. Everything is immaculate and housekeeping does a wonderful job each day. The grounds are very beautiful and inviting. The best part are the staff. Every single person we met was extremely friendly and helpful. They went out of the way to ensure our stay was pleasant. The included breakfast is quite expansive so there always something of interest each day. The free wine hour each night includes quality wines. The location is easy walking distance to the heart of Hamilton so there is ready access to stores, bars and restaurants. Do make a point of visiting the hotel bar and Ascots which are both excellent. We definitely want to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear FuzzyBeaver,
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so glad you appreciated everything Royal Palms has to offer. We are very proud of our staff who do an awesome job every day. We will be looking forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    48
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
59
260
30
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paget Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I am (almost) local, having lived in Bermuda for 13 years. This is my first choice for family and clients. The hotel restaurant, Ascots, is wonderful. Quiet garden setting, easy walk to town and public transport links - bus and ferry. Very helpful and long serving staff. i recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Queenie S,
Thank you so much for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the convenience of our location in regards to the city and public transportation. We are very proud of our staff, some having been with us for over 15 years! We really appreciate you recommending us to family and friends, and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington ma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We weren't looking for a big box hotel for our brief stay in Hamilton just after Christmas 2012. The Royal Palm met our requirements (smaller, personal, boutique) and exceeded our expectations. Susan and her staff were johnny on the spot, supplying smiles, service and information. RP was the first hotel on the island to supply their guests with free wi-fi, thanks to Susan's techno husband. Our room (102 Rose) even had an ethernet jack for faster wired internet. Their bountiful breakfast could keep you 'til dinner, and the restaurant, Ascot, was something not to be missed. The high prices for everything on the island ($8/head lettuce, $10/gal gas) were because everything must be flown or shipped in. We'd recommend it with no reservations (no pun intended). The in room coffee prep stopped after our first night. An oversight?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Rachelrider,

We're very happy to hear we exceeded your families expectations during your stay with us. A definite oversight with regards to your coffee replenishment so I do apologize.

We appreciate your lovely review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Theresa Harney-zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have had dinner numerous times in Ascot’s, the restaurant connected to the Royal Palms, but I had never stayed at the hotel before this visit to Bermuda. I think it is my new favorite place. The property is made up of two adjacent mansions built in the early 1900’s, set in beautiful gardens on a quiet side street removed from the hustle and bustle of Hamilton. It has the feel of a high end Bed and Breakfast but has all the amenities of a modern hotel. There are lots of old family antique pieces scattered the common areas, mixed with a large collection of vibrant oil paintings by local artists that combine to create an elegant, comfortable feel rather than the visiting grandma experience. The rooms upstairs are large, well furnished with high quality pieces, very comfortable beds and have large, modern bath facilities. I had a great night’s sleep.
The staff are all extremely pleasant and helpful and are more than willing to stop what they are doing to help, answer questions or just chat about the Island. They are all proud of their hotel and it shows.
The location is only a little removed from Hamilton, an easy 10 minute walk if you are not uncomfortable with the lack of sidewalks part of the way. Given the twisting, narrow nature of the road I would recommend a cab home if you have been out late.
This is the perfect place for a business person who is tired of corporate hotels, as well as for the couple where she likes bed-and- breakfast and he likes the freedom of a hotel. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house, or the Somerset suite if you are in for long stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Carldaddy,

We are so pleased you appreciated the charm of our hotel and the experience that comes along with it. We are very proud of our staff who take great pride in what they do every day!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property. On your return to your 'new favourite place' please ensure we show you the route into Hamilton that includes a sidewalk.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

If I had written this review at the start of our 2 weeks recent stay there I would not have given it a very good review as our initial reaction was that it did not live up to the standard that we were expecting based on the reviews that we had read before booking it.
We changed rooms after 2 days, and actually downgraded! We had booked a 1 bedroom suite but the outside sitting area was too near the road and we found it quite noisy. The open plan suite was much nicer. It was on the opposite side of the hotel and the large area of the room was, we found, much nicer.
The staff at the hotel were very nice, especially Vera and her husband John, who both seemed to be "Jack of all trades", We did not see much of the owners but the girls on reception and Johnny who did breakfast were all very friendly.
The hotel does need some upgrading, but then talking to other people that we met during our holiday, this seems to be rather common in Bermuda. The bathrooms in particular were in need of refurbishment, and the furnishings were rather dated.
This is not an east review to write because by the end of our 2 week stay, it really did feel like home and we enjoyed our stay both at the hotel and the island.
But Bermuda is expensive and tourism has declined so it is unlikely that hoteliers will be spending money until something changes.

Room Tip: We did not see the rooms in the main building,but ask for a room away from the road if you are choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I recently stayed at Royal Palms for a number of weeks in November and December, all on business; my wife came with me for some of the time. I have never written a TripAdvisor review before, and I may never write another.

A gem of a hotel, with excellent helpful staff and very, very good service given the cost. Small things matter: my room was spacious by European standards, well equipped, there's free wi-fi, and a good spread for breakfast; the cost of laundry is sensibly (in my opinion) by the bag-size, not by the item. A complementary glass of wine between 6 and 7pm was followed on a number of evenings with 'bar-meals' in the reasonably priced Just24 dining option; and there's excellent but more pricey fare in Ascot's.

Knowing a little about Bermuda, I can assure you that the hotel is also popular with some of the most important members of the Bermudian community. There is also a sense of sophistication, and experienced elegance; quite charming.

Access to Hamilton was critical for my visit, but the location is not at all 'urban'. There is no 'Gym' as such - but there's a small pool and plent of walking / jogging options in the vicinity.

The hotel has a charming 'old Bermuda' feel to it, something which is sorely wanting on the island these days.

Again, I found the staff both courteous and polite, and would recommend Royal Palms highly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Traveler_UK-CH,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel. I appreciate you highligting the professionalism and helpfulness of our staff. We're all so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the walk into Hamilton quite easy.

We look forward to your return visit whether it be business of vacation.

Kind Regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a Gorgeous Hotel. From the easy entrance to the car park, through the tropical garden, and into the reception area - this is a lovely retreat. Our room was large and had billowing curtains. Except for the bar/restaurant area, the hotel is painted in the palest of pinks and creams. Downtown Hamilton is an easy walk - and quiet safe. There are often festivals and music along the waterfront. If you don't feel up to walking, the Royal Palms has a comfortable garden where you could curl up with a book. We parked our car in the lot and rented a scooter for a week of discovery. Getting around on a scooter is just part of the experience. Lastly, the prices may seem steep, but the hotel has an outstanding restaurant.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if there is construction going on near the room. It won't necessarily be IN the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear MarcB13,

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you took advantage of our close proximity to Hamilton enjoying the easy 10 minute stroll into the city. While enjoying our gardens you can also stay connected with our Wi-Fi which is complimentary throughout the hotel and gardens.

We hope to see you again soon!
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Escapio, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.