We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Thanksgiving Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Palms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Palms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Saturdays
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Boston
1 review
“Wonderful Thanksgiving Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We booked the Royal Palms based on reviews we viewed on Tripadvisor, and we are so pleased that we did. Royal Palms is a lovely, small hotel with so much charm and character. Our room was sparking clean, the bed incredibly comfortable and the location superb. We were within a 10-minute walk to Front Street in Hamilton. What we loved was that the management left the doors open to all vacant rooms so we were able to take a peak inside and see the layout and decor of all the other rooms, all of which were different but equally lovely and inviting. The staff were all friendly, accommodating and very attentive. The continental breakfast provided each morning had delicious fresh fruits and an array of breads, muffins, pastry, cereal and juices. We will definitely stay at Royal Palms Hotel on our next visit to Bermuda.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear buck100,

We're so glad that our previous reviews didn't disappoint you. We appreciate your lovely review of the hotel and services, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Happy Holidays!
Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    43
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
226
27
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jaffrey, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

With only 30+ rooms, Royal Palms is a small gem of a hotel just off the main roads of Hamilton, but reasonable walking distance from Front Street. We spent two relaxing nights here in November at the end of an international sailing championship. The room was spacious and very quiet with the windows closed. Opting for fresh air, we still were not bothered by street noise.
And yes, we crazy Yanks did enjoy two swims in the pocket sized pool (about four good strokes in length) while the natives scratched their heads in wonder at our folly.
Breakfast on the covered terrace was extensive and tasty. The staff was very welcoming in at all hours of day and night.
Our schedule was too full to avail ourselved of the restaurant for dinner, but local friends tell us it is excellent. The Premier and his wife were leaving it one night as we waited for our own taxi!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Over the years been to several beach islands and always stayed at luxury resorts or all-inclusives. Bermuda has several great resorts located on beaches but for a change we decided to stay at this highly rated place on tripAdvisor. What a great peaceful location and experience it was. It's almost living in your own house. Nice gardens, swings, small pool, pleasant breakfast, and very very neat rooms and beds. We enjoyed walking everyday to Hamilton downtown which took about 10 minutes and purchased a 3 day bus pass to travel on the island.

A must consider place when you travel with family or group of friends.

Room Tip: Walking distance to Hamilton Bus Station that has buses to every corner of the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent 2 weeks here 6/10/12 to 20/10/12. We found that this Hotel and staff were the best that we have ever experianced. The level of service coupled with happy, enthusiastic and attentive staff who all did everthing they could and made this a fantastic place to stay.
The accomodation we had was a superior suite in the gardens which was very clean and contained everything that you would need and all of which worked and was cleaned daily.On a daily basis the the buffet breakfast was very good quality and taken in a delightful breakfast room, on the patio or in the beatiful gardens, weather allowing.
The hotel has an excellent formal restaurant 'Ascots' which is one of the best in Bermuda and the food and staff were excellent however this is expensive if you are on a tight budget, it also has an informal restaurant which is much more reasonable and the quality of the food is just as good. There are many restaurants in Hamilton which a short 5-10 minute walk away along a street which was well lit with a seperate pavement which was very safe and an easy flat walk.
Hamilton also has a bus and ferry terminal from which you can easily visit the rest of the Island so this hotel is ideal as a base to explore the Island if you do not want a beach holiday.
The swimming pool is small but very well appointed with a supply of towels, sunbeds,chairs and a honours bar which provides soft drinks only.
We will definately stay here again the next time we visit Bermuda and would recommend it to any of our friends.

Room Tip: The superior suite in the beatiful gardens are excellent but the whole hotel is in a quiet location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear cja&dga

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our facilities and services. Thank you for highlighting the helpful and attentiveness of our staff. It confirms our pride for the high level of personalized service that our staff constantly strives for. Our close proximity to the city makes us an ideal location and I'm glad you were able to benefit from that.
We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to Bermuda and the Royal Palms soon.
Kind Regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a three night stay at the Royal Palms. We were totally impressed from the moment we arrived. Teresa was fantastic; welcoming us and showing us to our room, called The Flamingo. It was spacious, with a kitchenette and meticulous. It had a private patio for us to enjoy our morning coffee or glass of wine. Teresa was extremely knowledgeable about the routes to take, restaurants and their hours of operation, and sights not to be missed. She was so warm and welcoming as were all the members of the staff and a special thank you to Myrna for all her help and assistance. The grounds of this hotel are breathtakingly gorgeous and very well maintained. The daily breakfast is served in a room overlooking the gardens and had a nice variety of breakfast fare, although I would have liked to have some cooked eggs, scrambled perhaps, instead of making soft or hard boiled eggs. My husband totally enjoyed the waffles! There is a pool that was hardly used and we enjoyed it one day privately! The hotel is a ten minute walk into town and near some excellent restaurants. The Ascot and Just 24 are in the hotel and serve excellent food. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return again. You do not get this kind of hospitality at the larger resort hotels. It was so nice to be greeted each day by our names and we were made to feel 'like family'! Thank you so much Teresa and Myrna for helping to make a little vacation so very special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 days in September and couldn't ask more from the wonderful staff. It turned out that there are two properties - we stayed in the one with the reception but there is another nice looking block just across the lawns.

Room Tip: Had a very nice de luxe mini suite but try for the larger rooms in the annexe building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I just returned from a long weekend in Bermuda to celebrate my friend's brithday and this place totally exceeded my expectations. We were originally looking to stay at one of the larger resort hotels but instead are so glad that we decided on the Royal Palms. The room was spacious and well appointed with a nice size bathroom (loved the yellow rubber ducky!) and sitting area. We had a room with two double beds and there was plenty of space. We also had a kitchenette area with coffee/tea maker and a fridge. The daily breakfast is served in a lovely and airy room overlooking gardens and had a wonderful assortment of pastries, eggs, fruit, waffles, ham, cheese, cereals, etc. The pool area is private and has an honor fridge that is stocked with water, juices and sodas; the pool itself is refreshing (especially after a night of Dark n Stormys!) and was never crowded. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate, with so many little areas to just sit and relax. And you really can't beat the location: it's in a nice, quiet neighborhood yet a short 10 min or so walk into Hamilton city centre (make sure you walk along Richmond Rd as that it has sidewalks).

But the thing that really made my stay so special was the hospitable people at Royal Palms! From my reservation booking to the warm welcome each morning, you can tell that the staff really cares and wants you to have a great stay. And I did!!!! I definitely hope to be back ~ thank you all!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalbermuda, Manager at Royal Palms Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Kathy G,

Thank you for your lovely review! We're so glad you enjoyed your choice of suite. The 10 minute stroll along a well lit sidewalk into the city makes us a great location for easy access around the island. We are very proud of our staff and the exemplary job they do on a daily basis, thank you for recognizing them.

We'll look forward to welcoming you back, and will have a couple of 'Dark n Stormys' waiting.

Kind regards,
Theresa Harney-Zuill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Hotel

Address: 24 Rosemont Ave, Hamilton HM06, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Royal Palms Hotel, situated on a tree-lined lane near Hamilton, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality. This quintessential boutique hotel boasts a blend of Colonial and Bermudian architecture in a tranquil garden setting with coral-coloured walls, white shutters and a colonial wraparound porch with comfortable chairs for relaxing.You are graciously welcomed to one of two pink, 19th century manor houses, which are nestled in lush gardens where you may enjoy the sun from lawn chairs or take a dip in the secluded pool. Each of our 32 non smoking rooms is unique, with the same attention to detail extended to each one.Our friendly and professional staff take pleasure in providing personal service from restaurant reservations, to planning your day, to introductions at Bermuda’s world class golf courses. Just ten minutes from the nearest beach, Royal Palms is the perfect central location to access any island spot! Royal Palms is also home to one of the islands best fine dining restaurants, Ascots. There is also the more casual dining option of Just 24 serving dinner on Ascots enclosed patio in a lovely garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palms Hamilton
Hotel Royal Palms
Royal Palms Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.