We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beauty in Bermuda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosedon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rosedon Hotel to your Saves list
Rosedon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekend Escape Special
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Beauty in Bermuda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to Bermuda. We picked The Rosedon because it had a charm that leaped out from the pictures we saw online. We were not disappointed! We've traveled to a number beautiful places, but this was the most relaxing so far. The property is beautifully landscaped, and the gardens and pool beckon all to come and enjoy. The rooms are very comfortable and homey. The wonderful breakfast, delivered to your room, poolside, or on the veranda each day, gets your day off to the perfect start. The Rosedon Family is by far the most courteous and attentive group of people we've encountered in a hotel setting. In fact, it felt more like a home away from home, than like a hotel. The fact that most things in Hamilton close at 5:00 was even fine by us. We looked forward to coming "home" every evening for tea and relaxation on the grounds. We've been excitedly telling all about our wonderful visit and encouraging others to consider The Rosedon as a vacation destination. One thing is sure, we plan to return! There is so much more I could say about our overall Bermuda experience, but I will save some for later. Go and see for yourself and tell us what you think {*_*}

As we say in Louisiana, "Laissez les bon temps rouler!" or Let the good times roll! Or just rest and relax your mind, body, and soul. Whichever you need, find it in Bermuda...and...at The Rosedon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review! It was heartwarming to read how you felt like you were with family. Our logo used to be 'home away from home'. So the feel of who we are and what we offer has remained. Our peaceful garden setting that is only a 10 minute walk from the city surely gives you the best of both worlds.

We are so happy you choose to stay with us and look forward to you joining our huge following of repeaters that come back year after year!

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    62
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
43
188
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Rosedon on our honeymoon to Bermuda June 3-9 which also coincided with my birthday. We started off our time at the Rosedon on the right foot, as the staff surprised us with champagne and cookies the morning we arrived. Throughout our stay we were blown away by the professionalism and courtesy extended from each member of the staff. Breakfasts were superb and to those who may consider themselves picky eaters-my husband is allergic to eggs and it was no issue whatsoever to get a different breakfast. You are provided each evening with a card indicating the next morning's breakfast as well as a list of alternate items you may request instead. The Royal Room was perfect-we had our king size bed, small sofa, refrigerator, ample closet space, desk,large dresser, and a lovely bathroom.

We loved the rum swizzle party on Tuesday night which had wonderful appetizers as well to our surprise! It was a lovely occasion to get to sit down and talk with other guests who clearly wanted to interact with others around them which is not always the case at a large resort. Even when laying poolside on a warm morning we were greatly pleased that other guests would hold conversations with us instead of keeping to themselves as I have encountered when on vacation in other locales.

We were extremely pleased with our stay and felt that without a doubt we had made a great decision. With shops, restaurants, the ferry terminal, and bus terminal within a 5 minute walking distance this was also a money-saving location to choose. Everything is at your fingertips at the Rosedon. Go on and book your room now; you won't regret being somewhere where the staff remembers your name after only hearing it once and treats you as a member of their family. We greatly look forward to coming back to see everyone and of course, Owen (the hotel cat) who we miss so much now that we're back at home!

Room Tip: Royal Room 83 was lovely, as it was on the second floor and not on the end so you were "insulat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for this amazing review! We are excited to learn that your honeymoon with us turned out to be great! The size of Rosedon lends itself to intimacy and the opportunity to meet other guests. That is also the aim of our Swizzle Party which I am happy to read you enjoyed the interaction with other guests.
All of us at Rosedon wish you a lifetime of love and happiness and of course many anniversaries back with us.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My mum and I recently stayed for one week at the Rosedon Hotel, it was our first visit to Bermuda but most certainly not our last!! This hotel is perfect in every way - we could not fault it at all. A beautiful setting with pretty and lush gardens and a heated outdoor pool providing a secluded and quiet place to relax. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and well maintained. Our room was delightful with elegant furnishings and extremely comfortable beds, plenty of fresh towels, a fridge and very spacious indeed, we had a patio table and 2 chairs right outside our door where we could sit and enjoy the gardens and listen to the birds and the whistling tree frogs. It really is paradise but yet it is so conveniently located with the centre of Hamilton just a few minutes walk away - the ferry terminal and bus station so easily accessible. We thought the breakfast was truly delicious - with such a choice available and so nicely presented on a tray including everything that one could desire. Afternoon tea in the lobby served at 4pm was delightful, the sandwiches and scones and cakes all very fresh with pretty china tea cups and saucers - taking tea on the front porch with its beautiful blue and white furniture in a wonderful climate - how elegant - it really is like staying in a private house/mansion with the gardens and the furniture. There is an elegant drawing/sitting room where we relaxed with afternoon tea prior to our departure. What i thought was really nice is the breakfast menu being placed upon your pillow the night before when the maid came to turn down and also a sweet was left there too. Also the fact that you have the choice as to where you would like to take your breakfast, front porch, poolside, private patio/balcony or in your room - excellent. The swizzle party on Tuesday evening was a great way to meet with fellow guests. Every single member of staff that we had the pleasure to meet was delightful, friendly, helpful and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble, they have the most impeccable manners and they have pride in what they do - which is why they do it so very well. Bermuda itself is a beautiful place to visit with the Bermudians being the most welcoming and genuinely friendly people - a classic example at the Rosedon Hotel. My only regret is that we were there for one week - we will definitely return to this bit of paradise but next time for 2 weeks - An excellent hotel - perfect in every way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review! We are thrilled that you and your Mom were able to have such a wonderful time during your first trip to Bermuda and Rosedon. We have made a special effort to Bermudianise our service and offerings as demonstrated by our afternoon tea and friendly service from staff. Even our cakes at tea time are made mostly by our staff.

We welcome the opportunity to have you and your Mom come again for two weeks!

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here with my mother for a week (she is 80). Ten minute walk to downtown Hamilton which she could accomplish with a slight rest (she gets out of breath). The main ferry terminal is right at the end of the road! Not only that but busses will stop there and swing you up to the terminal if you ask so you have all the buses at your disposal!
The Rosedon has a back area where all the rooms are (that are not in the main house). It is super jungle dense with a pool buried in the middle of gorgeous foliage. They will serve you your breakfast (included in the price) anywhere you ask! There is a Rum Swizzle party tuesday nights, afternoon teas, free shuttle to Elbow Beach. Pool is 24/7. Each room also has a table/balcony area in front of it to eat. (You don't get that in the main house although I think those rooms are super colonial-style in atmosphere as a trade off).
Also, across the street in the basement of a large waterfront building is a supermarket!! Sort of upscale gourmet, but stilll! Right across the street, liquor, food, sushi, salads, sundries. (Miles Market).
Rosedon staff was very friendly. People were quiet and respectful and relaxed. To be clear this is not on the beach or really even near it, you have to take a bus or taxi or scooter. (or the free shuttle) But ten minutes walk gives you lots of restaurants to eat in each night if you'd like, and like I said, ALL ferries and buses at your fingertips.
We really loved it. Would go there again.

Room Tip: The back row of rooms overlooking the pool...rooms 33, 34 and probably 35 are in my opinion the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for this positive review. We are honored that you choose to spend this special trip with your Mom here at Rosedon. Our location really is a definite pllus. Everything with the exception of the beach as you mentioned is a walk away. The gourmet Miles Market is also a wonderful asset to have close.

We all look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned from a cruise to Bermuda, our ship was docked for three days in Bermuda so my BFF and I decided to take advantage and stay in Bermuda for one night to enjoy the island without having to rush back at the end of the day.

Loved the location, the service and the setting of the hotel in general. We especially loved the garden/pool area and the front porch for afternoon tea and breakfast. Breakfast was delicious and the scones were out of this world!

The room was clean, well appointed and updated. Very comfortable beds and the housekeeping service was on point, there to ask if we wanted fresh towels.

The shuttle too us to Elbow Beach which is available twice a day with drop off/pick up with a 3 hr duration at the beach, just enough time to work on our tan! We came back in just enough time to hang by the pool for a bit and then have afternoon tea on the front porch!

I am definitely coming back but next time...to stay for a week!

Room Tip: I enjoyed that our room was in the garden, there are a few in the main manor house but in the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for this positive review. We are glad that your one night stay while cruising to Bermuda was such a great experience. You managed to enjoy many of our offerings in such a short time.
The idea of coming back for a longer stay is a good one and we would love to welcome you back to Rosedon. Hope your cruise home was smooth sailing.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is an exquisite, serene, scenic, perfectly located hotel in Bermuda. Located along the main road however you get a feeling as though you are nestled in paradise. The staff is friendly and efficient. The grounds are meticulously maintained. The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and inviting. Tea time and breakfast time are extra special with their delicious scones!!! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely return to this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review! We too continue to be amazed that this beautiful tropical oasis, that is so lush and peaceful is only a six minute walk from our city of Hamilton.
So happy to learn you enjoyed our many services too.
We thank you for staying with us and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our one-week honeymoon in Bermuda. He had wanted to stay at an "all-inclusive", I wanted a small bed and breakfast. This place was the "just right". Large enough with just the right amount of amenities, but small enough with just the right personalized touch.

It's been mentioned before in reviews, but I need to reiterate. This is more than a hotel, it is more like staying at your wealthy great-aunt's mansion in Paradise. The main house is a picturesque early 20th century masterpiece with a blue and white veranda that photos cannot do justice. Stretching behind the house is a bend of rooms that embrace a lush garden and a perfect pool. Owen, the tiger-striped cat greets each guest as they come in, then continues his sun-bathing/futile attempts at catching one of the wily sparrows... The tree frogs sing your lullabye... You drink some rum and fall asleep in the comfy rooms. It is Paradise.

What makes this place so perfect, however, is the staff. From the moment we walked on the property till the moment we sadly left it, we were treated like family. What you have heard about Bermudians is absolutely true and especially so at Rosedon. They are the happiest, friendliest and most genuinely kind folk you will ever encounter. And it's contagious! We had the most fun meeting fellow travelers and exploring the island together (the Swizzle Party helps lubricate such social ventures!).

The breakfasts are lovely. Here's a great selling point: bacon with everything. No joke. I think just one day they had some really delicious sausage with pancakes, but expect lots of bacon. And carbs. Toast AND waffles? Oh yeah. Really fresh fruit every day. Juice, water, choice of tea or coffee (the coffee is very, very good). The breakfasts are considerably customizable as well. Hot oatmeal, cereals, granola and yogurt are offered as substitutions.

There is a shuttle to and from Elbow Beach, door-to-door so to speak, that is really convenient. I recommend ordering a boxed lunch from the kitchen the day before which they pack in an insulated bag with ice pack, consisting of a sandwich of your choice (we chose a BLT and tuna salad), a few pieces of fruit, hard-boiled eggs, granola bars and two soda pops.

This is a very special place filled with very amazing people. At the risk of unveiling this secret gem, I recommend the Rosedon over any other spot on the island!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Wow! Thank you for this amazing review! We are honored that you choose to stay with us for yourr honeymoon. And are thrilled that your new life got off to a good start with us. We love the fact that we were 'more than a hotel". And yes we are proud of our staff who with the exception of one employee are all Bermudian with an average of 20 years of service. This is a key ingredient in making for a unique, warm, friendly, Bermudian experience.
We wish you many happy years together and hope your married life includes many anniversary trips back to Bermuda and Rosedon. The welcome back awaits you!

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosedon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedon Hotel

Address: 61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, intimate, Bermudian boutique hotel, centrally located within walking distance of our main city, Hamilton. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens, the private pool offers a quiet place to relax and gives one the feel of being in a country estate. Rosedon has an excellent reputation with a strong repeat guest following. Choose to get the ‘real feel’ of Bermuda by being spoiled by our long serving Bermudian staff. A uniquely Bermudian Hotel that offers a uniquely Bermudian experience! Rosedon’s bedrooms are individually decorated with European fabrics, fine furnishings, pillow top mattresses, high quality bed linens, fluffy bath sheets, flat screen TV’s, Ipod dock clock radio, DVD players and WiFi throughout the hotel. We serve a full breakfast included in your booking rate and we have a room service menu. We also have a honour system bar & pantry where you can sign for drinks, wine and a selection of fresh sandwiches and salads, however we do not have a full restaurant on site. We also offer a traditional afternoon tea and a swizzle party every Tuesday. Our guests are also offered daily complimentary round trip transportation to a popular south shore public beach, with the free use of a chaise and umbrella. Rosedon also offers many packages year-round including Wedding, Honeymoon, Romance & Spa and Anniversary, Holiday, and Golf packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rosedon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedon Hotel Hamilton
Rosedon Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosedon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.