We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosedon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rosedon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rosedon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Forked River, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a quick weekend getaway and we found it at the Rosedon. The staff is welcoming and friendly and you can immediatley feel at home. We chose it because we steer away from the big and flashiy hotels for a more quiet intimate feel. The rooms are immaculate, they will service you breakfast anywhere you want..poolside, in your room, on the porch. A five minute walk to great restaurants in Hamilton. We quiet, very relaxing. Would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for this great review! So happy that your weekend getaway with us was just what you wanted.
Our locattion surely lends itself to easy access to the rest of Bermuda.
We hope to welcome you back again one day.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    61
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
39
150
7
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I decided on staying at the Rosedon for a birthday weekend based on the reviews. It was absolutely perfect for us! A really quiet and relaxed atmosphere. The staff were so friendly and courteous, and I can't say enough about the breakfasts!
If you are looking for the big beachfront resort experience, this would not be for you. However, if you are interested in a very quiet, civilized stay while in Bermuda, you will not be disappointed with the Rosedon Hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for this great review. How wonderful that you and your friends were able to have a weekend to remember with us.
Bermuda is so close to the US and perfect for a quick getaway. Our location makes it ideal to explore the island and also relax.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We chose the Rosedon based on reviews and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is close enough to walk into Hamilton where there are shops and restaurants aplenty. The Rosedon itself was paradise to us. We stayed in room 31 which was outside of the main house and on the upper level. The room was lovely with plenty of storage space. The breakfasts, delivered whenever you wanted to your room, poolside or terrace, were different every day and set us up well for our touring of the island. The afternoon teas, served at 4pm, were a great way to meet fellow guests and to swap ideas as to what to see on the island. We recommend getting a Transportation Pass which allows unlimited use of the buses and ferries, well worth the money.
All the staff at the Rosedon were very courteous, friendly and we couldn't fault anything. We would like to name a particular member of staff which we felt gave us top service but all the staff we came into contact with were just wonderful so would be unfair to name a particular person.
What we needed from our stay in Bermuda was to relax which we did completely at the Rosedon. Even though we were leaving on Tuesday, the swizzle night, we were treated to a glass each before we left so we wouldn't miss out, I call that going the extra mile.
We both didn't want to leave and we'll be back around the same time next year as it wasn't too hot for us, we stayed from 21st April thru to 30th April.
If you don't like to be just one of very many guests in a large hotel then I urge you to stay at the Rosedon, there you are a valued guest not just a number. I'm sure when we return it'll be like coming home!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
What an amazing review! Thank you so much. We are sorry you missed our Swizzle Party, but sure glad you got to taste the rum swizzle.
So happy you had the opportunity at tea to swap ideas of things to do with other guests. You truly are a valued guest when you stay with us.
We can't wait to welcome you back home!

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Rosedon is a nice hotel and I certainly recommend it. It is well located in Hamilton and not quite as expensive as other places such as the Princess. The staff are is very courteous and the breakfasts are really good! Choose the Princess if you need a big hotel experience; otherwise, stay at the Rosedon!

Room Tip: We chose one of the rooms around the pool which I can highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for this positive review and recommendation.

We are happy to learn that you found the size of the hotel to be very appealing. Being small, sure allows us to personalise our service efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a place where I would come again. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the staff is friendly and courteous. My colleagues raved about breakfast by the pool. I did not have a chance to try it.

Rooms are clean, classic and well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for this good review. We are pleased to learn that you found our service and staff to be good.

We hope you get to return and try our breakfast that your colleagues raved about.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

After reading all the rave reviews on trip advisor and The Rosedon being rated no.1 hotel in Bermuda on Trip Advisor we booked to stay with them with very high expectations.
We agree with all the other reviews which say the hotel is well situated, the staff are helpful and courteous, the main building and the gardens are beautiful and that the daily afternoon tea and the Tuesday swizzle party are fun and a very nice touch, but we were a little disappointed in a couple of things.
We booked a superior room and were given a room which was on the ground level in the garden. Although there was nothing wrong with the room and it was comfortable we did find it rather dark and gloomy. We have stayed in much nicer rooms for a lot less money. The breakfasts (we prefer continental breakfast) were limited and inflexible. Basically you got what they had on the day with no choice except with the cereals. Throughout our stay we didn't have the option of a croissant or Danish pastry. Although we asked for strong coffee that wasn't an option either. I think the continental breakfast lets the hotel down a bit but according to other guests the cooked breakfast was very nice.
We did enjoy our stay and loved Bermuda it is a very pretty place. The best restaurant we ate in (twice it was so good) was The Barracuda Grill about 10 minutes walk from the hotel, the food was fresh, nicely presented and delicious. The Portofino, an Italian restaurant very close to the hotel was also good. Ascots was a lovely experience as it is such a pretty restaurant and the food was fine. Finally we had a fun evening in The Mad Hatter but we thought the food was average. All these restaurants are expensive but we found everything in Bermuda very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for this positive review. We are pleased that our rating of Number 1 Hotel in Hamilton helped you decide to stay with us. We are glad that you found our gardens, locaton, staff and afternoon tea to be good. So sorry that the Superior room that you had was dark and not up to your expectations. We really appreciate your comments about our breakfast. They are valid points that we have acted on immediately. We are pleased to share that every night our guest now have put on their pillow a card that clearly explains our set breakfast menu along with many other options. We have expanded our options. We also will always have a variety of pastries available. This valuable feedback has allowed us to improve our Breakfast service to better serve the needs of our guest that prefer Continental Breakfast. Thank you again for this review.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Rosedon Hotel in Bermuda on 17th March – 31st March 2013

This trip was for our 25th wedding anniversary (on the 19th) and my husbands 50th birthday (on the 4th) celebrations. On the 19th March we had a ceremony to renew our wedding vows and bless new wedding rings. The staff was fantastic, they helped the day feel very special - we had flowers, photos, champagne and more flowers in our room.

The Hotel is very unique in that they do not have a dining room or restaurant. For breakfast you use room service they tell you what is available and you choose, you also choose where you would like to eat it – balcony, pool side or room. This in itself made it all the more enjoyable as there was no jostling for tables as in larger hotels. The Lunches and Dinner choices were a bit limited if you had a big appetite but for ourselves was enough when we needed them.

Bermuda is a very beautiful place and belongs to the British Crown– it is not actually in the Caribbean but is further north to America - they drive on same side as UK and they speak english, (the currency is Bermuda Dollar which is same rate a the US Dollar). The sea is so clear and the colour of the most beautiful turquoise I’ve ever seen with PINK beaches – yes they have pink sand!!

The people are so friendly – on bus rides locals get on and greet everyone with cheery hellos and other kind gestures. Even in the street they talk to you – as we were there on Easter Sunday a local family greeted us, while we were walking with” Happy Easter” which is so so different to the UK – we should take a leaf out of their book.

Hamilton, which is the main city, is very colonial in style and the views across the harbour are stunning. It has 3 pubs, 2 English and 1 Irish, all very nice. Loads of cafes and restaurants, American department stores and 2 shopping malls. Public transport is excellent and cheap.
The most interesting places to visit were the Dockyard and the Bermuda Aquarium and Zoo.

All in all an absolutely fab holiday. I would recommend the Rosedon Hotel and Bermuda to anyone looking for somewhere different to visit

Room Tip: Some rooms are in the main building but I would recommend the delux or superior rooms are the best l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review! We are honoured that you chose to stay with us to celebrate two important milestones in your life. It was exciting and fun getting things ready for the renewal of your vows. All of us wish you many more years of marital bliss and hope they will include return trips to Bermuda and Rosedon.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosedon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedon Hotel

Also Known As:
Rosedon Hotel Hamilton
Rosedon Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton
Address: 61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedon Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, intimate, Bermudian boutique hotel, centrally located within walking distance of our main city, Hamilton. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens, the private pool offers a quiet place to relax and gives one the feel of being in a country estate. Rosedon has an excellent reputation with a strong repeat guest following. Choose to get the ‘real feel’ of Bermuda by being spoiled by our long serving Bermudian staff. A uniquely Bermudian Hotel that offers a uniquely Bermudian experience! Rosedon’s bedrooms are individually decorated with European fabrics, fine furnishings, pillow top mattresses, high quality bed linens, fluffy bath sheets, flat screen TV’s, Ipod dock clock radio, DVD players and WiFi throughout the hotel. We serve a full breakfast included in your booking rate and we have a room service menu. We also have a honour system bar & pantry where you can sign for drinks, wine and a selection of fresh sandwiches and salads, however we do not have a full restaurant on site. We also offer a traditional afternoon tea and a swizzle party every Tuesday. Our guests are also offered daily complimentary round trip transportation to a popular south shore public beach, with the free use of a chaise and umbrella. Rosedon also offers many packages year-round including Wedding, Honeymoon, Romance & Spa and Anniversary, Holiday, and Golf packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Rosedon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosedon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.