We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Bermudian Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosedon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rosedon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosedon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekend Escape Special
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Elegant Bermudian Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were so pleased that we chose the Rosedon Hotel. It is ideally located for Business, shopping and Sightseeing. We came to Bermuda for Business, but also brought our family. The beautiful grounds and large private pool was quiet and relaxing away from the rush. The Hotel has an elegant charm with excellent service. The WiFi and Bandwidth allowed me to finish my work while the children enjoyed the pool. The Breakfasts and Afternoon Tea were wonderful. I will definitely return to Rosedon next time I go to Bermuda!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thankyou for this positive review. We are happy that the whole family got to enjoy the business trip! Your are right, Rosedon is the perfect spot for both business and pleasure.
We hope your business will call for another trip to Bermuda and we can welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    62
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
41
168
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is a refreshing change from the general run of chain hotels as it is their complete antithesis. It is an Edwardian villa that has been beautifully maintained and tastefully furnished while being updated with modern facilities. The stafff are all long time employees who cannot do enough to help and are always cheerful and polite. The hotel keeps to standards of the past with its afternoon tea (included in the price) available at 4-o'clock sharp and its Swizzle party (based on Bermudan rum punch) every Tuesday. Apart from its charm and friendly efficiency the hotel is situated just five muinutes walk from central Hamilton with its island wide bus services and ferry terminal as well as some interesting shops and much history lovingly preserved.

I particularly appreciated the free internet which is available as standard unlike many other hotels that still charge! Also the sparkling clean outdoor swimming pool which is kept heated at a constant 82/84 degrees Fahrenheit.

This hotel is really a 'home from home' and I would encourage anyone visiting Bermuda to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for this excellent review! It truly is a family affair with most guests feeling exactly as you do that it is a 'Home away from Home". The average length of service of our staff is 20 years, hence we all feel like 'owners' who are truly committed to making sure all of our guests feel welcome and pampered.
We look forward to the opportlunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Bermuda
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Rosedon is absolute a very special place to stay while in Bermuda or for a Staycation!!! The grounds of the property is lush garden full of every type of plant and flower that grows in Bermuda. The moment you arrive at the historical home on the outskirts of Hamilton you step back in time to a Old style Bermuda. The friendliness of the all staff and the attention to details from the lovely gardens to the comfortable and relaxing rooms. The main house have beautiful rooms and the rooms surrounding the gardens are all lovely appointed with all the amenities of a luxurious hotel. Not to be missed if you want to go back in time to old world Bermuda charm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for this positive review! As a fellow resident of Bermuda, it is gratifying to hear that you loved your 'staycation' with us. Living in Bemuda you get to see daily so many beautiful spots , hence it is extra special to hear you rave about our gardens and the setting here .

We look forward to welcoming you back for another local holiday.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Have recently returned from a weeks vacation in Bermuda and chose to stay at the Rosedon on the strength of the Trip advisor reports when it was given as one of the hotel options for a British Airways flight and hotel off season deal, and it was everything we hoped it would be.
This was our first trip to Bermuda and what attracted us was that we wanted the opportunity to be close to Hamilton and to stay somewhere that would have the character and feel of the island rather than a corporate business hotel that could be anywhere, and for this the Rosedon delivered in spades.
In essence it is really only a bed and breakfast guesthouse, but in reality it is so much more. The experience starts with the journey up the driveway to this stately 1906 mansion and its magnificent vista , once occupied by an English family, and the first house on the island to use gaslights. It still has the feel of a family home, as indeed it almost is, as it is family run and members of the family still live on site and will be found sharing the Swizzle party or afternoon tea with the other guests.
We were fortunate to have our room upgraded on arrival to one of the Royal rooms , but it would still have been a five star stay without this.
As others have mentioned a big plus in the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We were a late arrival from the airport on a Tuesday evening just catching the end of the Swizzle party. And as obviously fatigued as the body clock was at some ‘silly oclock’ hour, rather than worry finding our room, were seated in one of the comfortable rooms with a Swizzle in hand and then, although meant to be self service, a plate of snack food appeared in front of us. Thus setting the service level bar high, a level from which they did not deviate all week.
Our room was in the annex on the far side of the pool and was spacious and well fitted. As mentioned the Rosedon is more Guest house than hotel, so the best room in the house shouldn’t be compared to the best room you could get in the Princess across the road for example, but the allotted Royal room had everything we could have needed (and a few bits like iPod music centre that we didn’t), as well as giving us the truly wonderful King size four poster that you actually need steps to get into. The sleep quality was so good we did struggle to get out of it.
The garden areas are excellent as was the heated pool, which we utilised a couple of times on overcast afternoons as it was warmer in the water than out.
And I won’t repeat what others have already well covered, except to say that having promptly served breakfast every morning on the patio outside your own room whilst reading the provided Bermudan daily newspaper and then returning to afternoon tea on the Rosedon veranda after a day’s exploration was a complete joy.
We really enjoyed our stay here and did not want to leave. So I am very happy to be able to add to the increasing number of five star reviews for the Rosedon.

Room Tip: For that special visit, book one of the Royals, The four poster is truly wonderful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Wow! What a fabulous review. Thank you so much. You truly did capture the essence of who we are. A small boutique Bermudian owned and operated Hotel that offers so much more. We are pleased to have been able to upgrade you. Our gardens truly make for an oasis, yet we are so close to the city. Our heated pool is welcome on the chilly days also. We are happy to have hosted you for your first trip to Bermuda and look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back one day. In the meantime we are still working hard on improving our guest expereince every day.

Warm Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just back from beautiful Bermuda to celebrate my parents' 45 wedding anniversary! I can't say enough about the Rosedon. The staff are super friendly and accomodating. Everyone takes such pride in making their guests welcome and comfortable. There was a bouquet of fresh flowers and chilled champagne awaiting our arrival. Fantastic hot breakfasts and lovely afternoon tea. The grounds are gorgeous, like being in the middle of a lush garden. The location is perfect, closeby to everything. The weather did not co-operate but March in Bermuda is still winter. Hope to go back again and will most definitely stay at the Rosedon again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. We were honored that you choose to celebrate your parent's 45th wedding anniversary with us! So happy to learn that you had a good time despite the weather. Our location does make it perfect to enjoy the city and attractions nearby. All of us look forward to welcoming you back to Rosedon when you return.

Warm Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had not been to Bermuda for several years and stayed for 5 wonderful nights at the Rosedon. Even though the weather did not cooperate, we had a great stay. The rooms and grounds are impressive as is the staff who work very hard to please. The location is perfect, several blocks from downtown Hamilton.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for this excellent review. We were happy to welcome you back to Bermuda. Delighted that you enjoyed our services and staff .
We look forward to welcoming you back during future visits to Bermuda.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in June for our honeymoon and we has such a lovely relaxing stay. The hotel and grounds were beautiful, the staff were so kind and friendly, breakfast was amazing every morning, the weather wasn't that great out of a week it rained for 4 days but we didn't mind there was plenty to do on the island. I would definitely return and hopefully one day I will. Even the ghost of the little girl who woke me up on our first night was friendly...... Would love to find out if anyone else has experienced this??i hope we get to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We are thrilled that you choose to have your honeymoon with us. So happy you found all of our services to be excellent. All of us look forward to welcoming you back one day. Perhaps for anniversaries.

Best wishes on your new life together.

Warm Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosedon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedon Hotel

Address: 61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedon Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, intimate, Bermudian boutique hotel, centrally located within walking distance of our main city, Hamilton. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens, the private pool offers a quiet place to relax and gives one the feel of being in a country estate. Rosedon has an excellent reputation with a strong repeat guest following. Choose to get the ‘real feel’ of Bermuda by being spoiled by our long serving Bermudian staff. A uniquely Bermudian Hotel that offers a uniquely Bermudian experience! Rosedon’s bedrooms are individually decorated with European fabrics, fine furnishings, pillow top mattresses, high quality bed linens, fluffy bath sheets, flat screen TV’s, Ipod dock clock radio, DVD players and WiFi throughout the hotel. We serve a full breakfast included in your booking rate and we have a room service menu. We also have a honour system bar & pantry where you can sign for drinks, wine and a selection of fresh sandwiches and salads, however we do not have a full restaurant on site. We also offer a traditional afternoon tea and a swizzle party every Tuesday. Our guests are also offered daily complimentary round trip transportation to a popular south shore public beach, with the free use of a chaise and umbrella. Rosedon also offers many packages year-round including Wedding, Honeymoon, Romance & Spa and Anniversary, Holiday, and Golf packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Rosedon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedon Hotel Hamilton
Rosedon Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosedon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.