We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the middle of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosedon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rosedon Hotel to your Saves list
Rosedon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
St. George, Bermuda
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A Gem in the middle of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Rosedon is absolute a very special place to stay while in Bermuda or for a Staycation!!! The grounds of the property is lush garden full of every type of plant and flower that grows in Bermuda. The moment you arrive at the historical home on the outskirts of Hamilton you step back in time to a Old style Bermuda. The friendliness of the all staff and the attention to details from the lovely gardens to the comfortable and relaxing rooms. The main house have beautiful rooms and the rooms surrounding the gardens are all lovely appointed with all the amenities of a luxurious hotel. Not to be missed if you want to go back in time to old world Bermuda charm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for this positive review! As a fellow resident of Bermuda, it is gratifying to hear that you loved your 'staycation' with us. Living in Bemuda you get to see daily so many beautiful spots , hence it is extra special to hear you rave about our gardens and the setting here .

We look forward to welcoming you back for another local holiday.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    64
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
45
190
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
424 reviews 424 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
402 helpful votes 402 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Have recently returned from a weeks vacation in Bermuda and chose to stay at the Rosedon on the strength of the Trip advisor reports when it was given as one of the hotel options for a British Airways flight and hotel off season deal, and it was everything we hoped it would be.
This was our first trip to Bermuda and what attracted us was that we wanted the opportunity to be close to Hamilton and to stay somewhere that would have the character and feel of the island rather than a corporate business hotel that could be anywhere, and for this the Rosedon delivered in spades.
In essence it is really only a bed and breakfast guesthouse, but in reality it is so much more. The experience starts with the journey up the driveway to this stately 1906 mansion and its magnificent vista , once occupied by an English family, and the first house on the island to use gaslights. It still has the feel of a family home, as indeed it almost is, as it is family run and members of the family still live on site and will be found sharing the Swizzle party or afternoon tea with the other guests.
We were fortunate to have our room upgraded on arrival to one of the Royal rooms , but it would still have been a five star stay without this.
As others have mentioned a big plus in the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We were a late arrival from the airport on a Tuesday evening just catching the end of the Swizzle party. And as obviously fatigued as the body clock was at some ‘silly oclock’ hour, rather than worry finding our room, were seated in one of the comfortable rooms with a Swizzle in hand and then, although meant to be self service, a plate of snack food appeared in front of us. Thus setting the service level bar high, a level from which they did not deviate all week.
Our room was in the annex on the far side of the pool and was spacious and well fitted. As mentioned the Rosedon is more Guest house than hotel, so the best room in the house shouldn’t be compared to the best room you could get in the Princess across the road for example, but the allotted Royal room had everything we could have needed (and a few bits like iPod music centre that we didn’t), as well as giving us the truly wonderful King size four poster that you actually need steps to get into. The sleep quality was so good we did struggle to get out of it.
The garden areas are excellent as was the heated pool, which we utilised a couple of times on overcast afternoons as it was warmer in the water than out.
And I won’t repeat what others have already well covered, except to say that having promptly served breakfast every morning on the patio outside your own room whilst reading the provided Bermudan daily newspaper and then returning to afternoon tea on the Rosedon veranda after a day’s exploration was a complete joy.
We really enjoyed our stay here and did not want to leave. So I am very happy to be able to add to the increasing number of five star reviews for the Rosedon.

Room Tip: For that special visit, book one of the Royals, The four poster is truly wonderful..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Wow! What a fabulous review. Thank you so much. You truly did capture the essence of who we are. A small boutique Bermudian owned and operated Hotel that offers so much more. We are pleased to have been able to upgrade you. Our gardens truly make for an oasis, yet we are so close to the city. Our heated pool is welcome on the chilly days also. We are happy to have hosted you for your first trip to Bermuda and look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back one day. In the meantime we are still working hard on improving our guest expereince every day.

Warm Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just back from beautiful Bermuda to celebrate my parents' 45 wedding anniversary! I can't say enough about the Rosedon. The staff are super friendly and accomodating. Everyone takes such pride in making their guests welcome and comfortable. There was a bouquet of fresh flowers and chilled champagne awaiting our arrival. Fantastic hot breakfasts and lovely afternoon tea. The grounds are gorgeous, like being in the middle of a lush garden. The location is perfect, closeby to everything. The weather did not co-operate but March in Bermuda is still winter. Hope to go back again and will most definitely stay at the Rosedon again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. We were honored that you choose to celebrate your parent's 45th wedding anniversary with us! So happy to learn that you had a good time despite the weather. Our location does make it perfect to enjoy the city and attractions nearby. All of us look forward to welcoming you back to Rosedon when you return.

Warm Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had not been to Bermuda for several years and stayed for 5 wonderful nights at the Rosedon. Even though the weather did not cooperate, we had a great stay. The rooms and grounds are impressive as is the staff who work very hard to please. The location is perfect, several blocks from downtown Hamilton.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for this excellent review. We were happy to welcome you back to Bermuda. Delighted that you enjoyed our services and staff .
We look forward to welcoming you back during future visits to Bermuda.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in June for our honeymoon and we has such a lovely relaxing stay. The hotel and grounds were beautiful, the staff were so kind and friendly, breakfast was amazing every morning, the weather wasn't that great out of a week it rained for 4 days but we didn't mind there was plenty to do on the island. I would definitely return and hopefully one day I will. Even the ghost of the little girl who woke me up on our first night was friendly...... Would love to find out if anyone else has experienced this??i hope we get to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We are thrilled that you choose to have your honeymoon with us. So happy you found all of our services to be excellent. All of us look forward to welcoming you back one day. Perhaps for anniversaries.

Best wishes on your new life together.

Warm Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place is amazing. From breakfast served on your patio to tea in the afternoon. Your room is surrounded by beautiful flowers and the smells are amazing. The staff is so nice and accommodating. We even hung out with them late at night and had a few drinks they were the best. If you’re going to Bermuda this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon sweet is by far the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review!
One of the reasons our staff are so outstanding is that most have been with us for at least 20 years. They truly have the art of taking care of our guests down. Just this week we had our longest serving employee of over 50 years service to the Hotel retire.

We glad you had such a positive experience with our staff and look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I treated ourselves to a mini break to Bermuda (our first trip) this February and stayed in the Rosedon. What a wonderful retreat from the world , the staff were so lovely and friendly and nothing was too much trouble ( including storing my husbands travel bike!) The rooms were well appointed and there was nothing that they had missed out on providing , even an umbrella in the wardrobe. The breakfasts were amazing and delivered to a location of your choice within 5 mins of ordering. There was also a sumptious afternon tea at 4pm just when you need a pick me up after a day of sight seeing. There is also an honesty bar where you could help yourself to drinks or snacks. The Rosedon occupies a fantastic location in Hamilton and everything was accessible by foot. We will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review! We are thrilled that your visit with us was full of positive experiences. Our staff truly are a huge part of our success. They make the great breakfasts, afternoon tea and warm spirit of the hotel happen!
We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosedon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedon Hotel

Address: 61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, intimate, Bermudian boutique hotel, centrally located within walking distance of our main city, Hamilton. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens, the private pool offers a quiet place to relax and gives one the feel of being in a country estate. Rosedon has an excellent reputation with a strong repeat guest following. Choose to get the ‘real feel’ of Bermuda by being spoiled by our long serving Bermudian staff. A uniquely Bermudian Hotel that offers a uniquely Bermudian experience! Rosedon’s bedrooms are individually decorated with European fabrics, fine furnishings, pillow top mattresses, high quality bed linens, fluffy bath sheets, flat screen TV’s, Ipod dock clock radio, DVD players and WiFi throughout the hotel. We serve a full breakfast included in your booking rate and we have a room service menu. We also have a honour system bar & pantry where you can sign for drinks, wine and a selection of fresh sandwiches and salads, however we do not have a full restaurant on site. We also offer a traditional afternoon tea and a swizzle party every Tuesday. Our guests are also offered daily complimentary round trip transportation to a popular south shore public beach, with the free use of a chaise and umbrella. Rosedon also offers many packages year-round including Wedding, Honeymoon, Romance & Spa and Anniversary, Holiday, and Golf packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rosedon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedon Hotel Hamilton
Rosedon Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosedon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.