We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Stay at Rosedon Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosedon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rosedon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosedon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekend Escape Special
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Pikesville, Maryland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Our Second Stay at Rosedon Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The staff at the Rosedon Hotel is exceptional and will do anything within their power to help make your stay perfect. We feel like we are staying with family; and no matter what we were out doing always seemed to gravitate back to the Rosedon for the afternoon teas.While I can't drink my husband enjoys Tuesday evenings, "Rum Swizzler" night and the entertainment and hor d'ouerves. We enjoyed our breakfast every morning and the staff flexibility in make some substitutions and/or additions. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Proximity to town and restaurants is great. Less than a block to the gourmet Miles (?) Market across the street for a few extra drinks, snacks or necessities; Several restaurants are close by, Harry's, Fairmont Princess Restaurants, Bouchers, and a new Sushi restaurant, etc. Close to the ferry station and bus stops; also easy to get a taxi, either request the front desk to get one or just walk across the street to the Fairmont Princess where the taxi's line up. We definitely enjoyed our stay and were able to relax and just enjoy our break from daily life.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for this great review. It is always a pleasure to welcome back our repeat visitors. You are right, our location is perfect. Everything is literally a short walk nearby. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the staff for their exceptional service. All of us look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit!

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    61
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
43
178
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Summit, NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Rosedon Hotel. Due to Hurricane Sandy, our stay was extended from 3 nights to 6. The longer we stayed, the more I appreciated what a special place it is. If you're looking for something glitzy, then you're better off at the Hamilton Princess. But if you're looking for a place that will make you feel at home, you can't go wrong with the Rosedon Hotel. The location is a short walk to town and lots of restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the grounds were beautiful. We looked forward to a nice breakfast and afternoon tea on the porch each day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for this excellent review. We are sorry that you had to stay longer due to Hurricane Sandy. But we are glad it enabled you to enjoy Rosedon much more. Surely the warmth of the Rosedon experience gave you a little feel of 'home'.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Recently returned from the beautiful island of Bermuda, and surely we must have been staying in the best hotel, with very spacious, comfortable rooms in the big house. Fantastic breakfast and afternoon tea included in price. Attentive staff. Gorgeous gardens with pool. Close to Hamilton for transportation, restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: No fitness room, cannot erase the "terrible" rating
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for this excellent review. We are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a joy to hear our guests say they feel like they stayed in the best Hotel in Bermuda. Because clearly that is our goal.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

after reading all the reviews on all the hotels in Bermuda, I decided to choose the Rosedon for our vacation this fall. The hotel is really more of an inn or a very large B&B. I liked the idea that there was a pool at the property, shuttle service to the beach, and was walking distance to town and to the ferry and bus terminal (which we made full use of to explore the island).
The rooms are not luxurious but are nice, same for the bathrooms- no luxury, you are provided with robes and slippers and reasonably thick towels, but the toiletries are basic, and the bar is not top shelf. Breakfast is very good, and you can customize your food if you need to, but Tea time is a little busy and if you do not arrive "early enough" you might find yourself without a tea cup or without some cake.
With that said, it is a homey place. Everyone is extremely friendly and nice.- Many of the patrons are regulars, returning every year.
My husband and I found the Rosedon very peaceful, and enjoyed the fact that we were not at the big hotel across the street or any other large facility. We liked the quiet of this property and the fact that you could sit on the balcony all day and read or at the pool and read your email with the free wifi.
We would return to the Rosedon if/when we visited Bermuda again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We have noted areas for improvement. We are pleased to share that we have recently upgraded our bar offerings and are about to roll out a new amenity line for our bathrooms. So sorry to learn that our tea offerings were not adequate during your stay. Some days we literally have trays of goodies left over. So we will have to look at managing this bettter. We sure appreciate your honesty. We will be working on improving the Hotel services to ensure your next visit is an even better experience.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I just came back from a long weekend at the Rosedon. Really more an inn than a hotel (think private, but not anonymous/ friendly and personal service, but not perfect). We were very comfortable and would return to the Rosedon in a minute (especially if they run a special again). We were in one of the "Luxury Rooms" which meant we had a king size four poster bed and a modern bathroom. The room was a bit dark, as the windows look out onto the buildings behind, but we are not travelers who spend much time in our room anyway expect to sleep. As for sleeping, the room was quiet and appropriately dark. We spent most of our time exploring the beautiful island and when at the hotel, in the pool, on the front porch or on our balcony. Typically hotels look better online than in person. For the Rosedon, the actual grounds are more beautiful and spacious than online. The pool is lovely, warm and clean, the front porch is a perfect gathering spot and the staff are friendly, knowledgeable and eager to help. The rooms are clean, the breakfast ample and quick to arrive at your room or wherever your choose to have it and the beds are very comfortable. Indicative of the atmosphere is that upon check in the staff apologizes that there is no full service dining room and instead they bring your breakfast to you. A stuffier place might play up the room service/"breakfast in bed" perk, but not the Rosedon. While service is not 5 star, especially on Sunday when the whole island slows down, (yes, you may have to carry some of your own bags to your room, you may have to ask for more towels at the pool, you will have to fetch your own drink at the pool - horrors!, they may run out of an item at the complimentary tea), no request is greeted with a grumble or denied. Respect the people who work here and work hard, and you too will have a smile on your face at the Rosedon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for this good review! Delighted to learn that you would return 'in a minute'. We would sure love to have you back. Our gardens are a wonderful oasis and we are glad they looked better than on line. So sorry to learn about our lack of services on the Sunday you were with us. One should never have to carry bags or look for towels. We have reviewed our staffing levels to ensure this does not happen again. What a good report to know our staff handled all requests with warmth and professionalism.
We will definitely have a few specials this year and look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Rosedon six times for from 8 to 10 days each time. It is a lovely experience. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. It is not an inexpensive stay but we always come home feeling that we have had a relaxing ,civil ,charming and quality vacation. We really look forward to the daily breakfasts and the daily afternoon teas --they are quite special.The hotel is very central-- less then a 10 minute walk from downtown Hamilton.Usually we arrive on a Tuesday and leave 8 days later on a Wednesday. We do this purposely in order to attend 2 Swizzle parties which are held every Tuesday night at the hotel.
The Rosedon staff are welcoming,helpful and extremely professional.

Room Tip: Bermuda is a very beautiful destination with many scenic sites worth visiting. A visitor can not ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It is an honour for us to have been able to welcome you back for your 6th visit with us. What a recommendation! Our aim is to always maintain a very high quality standard and your continued return assures us we are doing just that.
How clever to ensure you get two Swizzle parties. We love having you with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for your seventh visit to Rosedon.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sandwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I have never stayed at a place like the Rosedon. From the wonderful breakfasts, high tea, rum swizzle party, and the friendliest staff on earth, The Rosedon is a place everyone should have the opportunity to experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyBermuda, General Manager at Rosedon Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We are so happy you got to experience all of what we have to offer. Our aim is to be unique and hence we loved your comment regarding ' no place like it'. We also feel that everyone should have the opportunity to experience Rosedon.

We are sure glad you did and sincerely thank you for this good review.

We look forward to wecloming you back to 'the friendliest place under the sun'.

Kind Regards,
Muriel Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosedon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedon Hotel

Address: 61 Pitts Bay Road | Bermuda, Hamilton HM AX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosedon Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, intimate, Bermudian boutique hotel, centrally located within walking distance of our main city, Hamilton. Surrounded by lush tropical gardens, the private pool offers a quiet place to relax and gives one the feel of being in a country estate. Rosedon has an excellent reputation with a strong repeat guest following. Choose to get the ‘real feel’ of Bermuda by being spoiled by our long serving Bermudian staff. A uniquely Bermudian Hotel that offers a uniquely Bermudian experience! Rosedon’s bedrooms are individually decorated with European fabrics, fine furnishings, pillow top mattresses, high quality bed linens, fluffy bath sheets, flat screen TV’s, Ipod dock clock radio, DVD players and WiFi throughout the hotel. We serve a full breakfast included in your booking rate and we have a room service menu. We also have a honour system bar & pantry where you can sign for drinks, wine and a selection of fresh sandwiches and salads, however we do not have a full restaurant on site. We also offer a traditional afternoon tea and a swizzle party every Tuesday. Our guests are also offered daily complimentary round trip transportation to a popular south shore public beach, with the free use of a chaise and umbrella. Rosedon also offers many packages year-round including Wedding, Honeymoon, Romance & Spa and Anniversary, Holiday, and Golf packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Rosedon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedon Hotel Hamilton
Rosedon Hotel Bermuda/Hamilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosedon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.