We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial cathedral gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral of the Most Holy Trinity (Bermuda Cathedral)

Cathedral of the Most Holy Trinity (Bermuda Cathedral)
Church St, Hamilton, Bermuda
441-292-4033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 35 Attractions in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Religious sites, Sights & Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mother Anglican church in Bermuda, known not only for its religious, historical, and social importance, but also for its beautiful architecture.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Colonial cathedral gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very pretty cathedral. We attended a Sunday service and chatted to some of the parishioners afterwards, one of whom kindly showed me the tiny, and hidden, St Francis garden. You get a glimpse into the lives of the Bermuda residents, something that makes a visit like this special.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    35
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Central New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The view from the top is a must-see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Climb to the top of the tower and you'll be amazed. When we got there the tower was closed, but the wonderful caretaker (former mayor?) let us up anyway! Such hospitality!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
100 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Such a Beautiful Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I loved visiting this church. It is in all of the guide book and for very good reason. The charm and beauty are so much like churches in New York or Europe, but it definitely had its own unique quality that makes one realize you're in Bermuda.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Historic, But underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The atmosphere in the cathedral is sombre, but there is a feeling that if anyone is in the church, they really don't want you there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The church is quite lovely inside. While we were there, a sight-seer asked me where the stairs to the tower were. I had to search for a bit to find them, as the access to the staircase is through a tiny door. There is a warning on the door that state that there are many steps up to the top (if I remember correctly, well over 100). Although we didn't go up to the top, I understand that the view is really amazing.
There is no fee, and no one met us at the front door, although there was a sign that they suggest that you leave a donation.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral of the Most Holy Trinity (Bermuda Cathedral) also viewed

 
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Cathedral of the Most Holy Trinity (Bermuda Cathedral)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral of the Most Holy Trinity (Bermuda Cathedral), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.