We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place for a rainy day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute

Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute
Crow Lane, Hamilton, Bermuda
441-292-7219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 29 Attractions in Hamilton
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For kids and their parents: multimedia exhibits about underwater exploration such as The Dive, a seven minute ride that simulates deep sea diving.
Hopedale, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“good place for a rainy day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The BUEI is right in Hamilton. It has a lot of history in it. It rained out pretty hard one day and we just happened to be passing by it and decided to go in. The price is reasonable. It's not the most exciting place to be in BDA, but it's worth the trip if you can't spend the day outside.... It has one of the most extensive shell collections in the world......

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    55
    15
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very informative and well done.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We both enjoyed the science. I thought the exhibits were very well done. My husband really enjoyed the sea shell exhibit and I like the dive ride.
This is probably better for adults and older children.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Minnesota
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
“Fantastic Shell Collection at the BUEI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a great place for kids, families, grandparents with kids. And a great place for me as a solo traveler to hang out for a few hours during a nasty wind/rain storm. The shell collection alone is pretty amazing. There are many interactive exhibits, a wealth of information about shipwrecks and underwater dives. The "ride" is rather lame, especially in comparison to major theme parks, but the younger kids may get a kick out of it. There's a small gift shop on site, all museum docents were friendly and helpful. It's about a 10 minute walk to the core downtown Hamilton area. There wasn't food available for purchase the day that I was there, but I was also there off-season.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Lots of underwater history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visit often, just went today again. Great for kids 8 and up but I've been taking mine since they were babies as not many indoor options in Bermuda. Lots of great things about Bermuda and shipwrecks. My kids like the "ride" which is really an elevator but you sit down and watch a 7 minute movie while the elevator moves. I wish they had more for little kids, more interactive stuff, but the place is every educational and there is a tiny carousel downstairs.
If you want to know more about the Bermuda triangle, then visit the BUEI!!! Lots of parking and also a great restaurant next door.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“BUEI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great morning spent here. Plenty of interactive exhibits for children - and adults. 'ride' is not up to disney or large theme park standards but is entertaining. Worht a look.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute also viewed

Sandys Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.