We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very informative and well done.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute

Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute
Crow Lane, Hamilton, Bermuda
441-292-7219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 33 Attractions in Hamilton
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For kids and their parents: multimedia exhibits about underwater exploration such as The Dive, a seven minute ride that simulates deep sea diving.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very informative and well done.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We both enjoyed the science. I thought the exhibits were very well done. My husband really enjoyed the sea shell exhibit and I like the dive ride.
This is probably better for adults and older children.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    56
    16
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Minnesota
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
92 attraction reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Fantastic Shell Collection at the BUEI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a great place for kids, families, grandparents with kids. And a great place for me as a solo traveler to hang out for a few hours during a nasty wind/rain storm. The shell collection alone is pretty amazing. There are many interactive exhibits, a wealth of information about shipwrecks and underwater dives. The "ride" is rather lame, especially in comparison to major theme parks, but the younger kids may get a kick out of it. There's a small gift shop on site, all museum docents were friendly and helpful. It's about a 10 minute walk to the core downtown Hamilton area. There wasn't food available for purchase the day that I was there, but I was also there off-season.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lots of underwater history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visit often, just went today again. Great for kids 8 and up but I've been taking mine since they were babies as not many indoor options in Bermuda. Lots of great things about Bermuda and shipwrecks. My kids like the "ride" which is really an elevator but you sit down and watch a 7 minute movie while the elevator moves. I wish they had more for little kids, more interactive stuff, but the place is every educational and there is a tiny carousel downstairs.
If you want to know more about the Bermuda triangle, then visit the BUEI!!! Lots of parking and also a great restaurant next door.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“BUEI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great morning spent here. Plenty of interactive exhibits for children - and adults. 'ride' is not up to disney or large theme park standards but is entertaining. Worht a look.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great stop off on a rainy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The BUEI was a great place to visit in Bermuda. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves going through the exhibits and learning while also having fun. This would also be a great place for kids. The shell collection was amazing and the deep water displays and information was really cool. Certainly a must for a couple hours of entertainment in Bermuda.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute also viewed

 
Sandys Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.