We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Hamilton Princess to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   76 Pitts Bay Rd, Hamilton HM CX, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Culinary Escape Package
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
New York City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Elegant and Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stately, well-kept, old hotel whose staff is uniformly friendly and welcoming. Rooms not new, but beds are comfortable and grounds are nicely manicured. Located a short walk from the heart of Hamilton. Guests can take advantage of sister, private-beached Fairmont Southampton - including private ferry between the properties. Can' t wait to go back to Bermuda and the old-world elegance of the Fairmont Hamilton.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    317
    101
    48
    34
See reviews for
130
385
44
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I was a bit surprised to see the large variation of reviews ... this is due to the fact that there seem to be 3 "wings" in this Hotel - obviously partly run down, partly renovated. I was in the Gold-Wing, which is absolutely great, but it was very expensive. Rooms are luxurious, clean and comfortable. There is a wonderful Victorian style lobby on 2nd floor, where you can have a nice breakfast or just a tea, etc. - and you just dont want to leave this place anymore. There was free Wifi in this lobby and in my room too.

Make sure that you ask for a renovated room when booking or ask for the gold wing.

The Hotel location is very central, especially for business purposes.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business.

The hotel looks great from the outside, as does the lobby. The staff at check in were great; humerous, charming and polite in the extreme. A decent start to the experience.

However, the breakfast aside, this was the end of the good news. The rest of the hotel feels as though it is slowly rotting. The rooms are very large, but crumbling. Peeling (and dated) wallpaper, a large cathode ray television (when was the last time you had one of those in your 5 star hotel room???) with a tiny screen with poor channel selection, a fading and tiny bathroom with a shower over the bath (water pressure excellent by the way) and poor quality shampoo/condiments.

Overall this felt like a 4 star hotel that was fading into a three star experience.

Room service was prompt and of a decent quality and the room service waiter was very polite and charming. Breakfast had a decent array of dishes and the quality was superior to many I've had.

Overall though, despite the great service, this hotel will struggle to maintain a five star rating in my opinion, and for a business traveller was disappointing overall.

I'd look at other options if I needed a hotel in Hamilton in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent eight great nights at the Princess with the Mrs. late September into early October. This was at least our fifth visit in the last seven years, so we thought we knew what to expect. Well, our expectations were, for the most part, far surpassed.
We arrived very early, due to a pre-dawn flight from New York. We'd been corresponding with Ashley Dawson quite a bit prior to or visit, making some dinner and other plans, so we'd let her know we'd be in early. Fortuitously, we got to meet her at check-in and thank her for her help with our plans. And yes, even though it was only about noon, she'd come through and gotten our suite ready for us. Checkin formalities and accompanying pleasantries took about ten minutes, and we were off to our room with a friendly, smiling bellman.
On our way to the Poinciana Wing, we noticed a different wall color outside one of the suites (By the way, guys - Go with the blue. We named the other color "jaundice" Nuff said.), and, seeing that the door to it was open, glanced inside. We'd found,it turned out, the model for all of the suites in the ongoing reno/remodel. My wife commented to me on it, and a voice came from inside inviting us in for a look. We didn't get this gentleman's name, but he was the first of what we'd find to be the majority of the Pincess team members obviously personally proud of the changes already made and those to come. He showed us around the suite, asked our opinion of a couple choices, and thank us for stopping and discussing it with him.
So on to our suite - Living room and dining room combo probably about 22' by12', the other same-sized block through the double doors containing the bedroom and huge bathroom with a seperate soaking tub and glass-doored shower. We did notice, after unpacking, that there was some bird "mess" on our balcony overlooking the saltwater pool, and that we had no robes. Chalking this up to the rush to get the room ready so early, we mentioned it to Ashley on our way out to lunch, and both issues were corrected by our return..As for the furniture, fixtures, and condition, while everything worked and was attractive enough, and the room was always uber-clean, the remodel in progress is definitely due.
On returing to our suite after lunch and a little shopping in town, our welcome got even better when we found a phone message informing us someone had stopped by to drop off something for us but found we weren't in. After I called and indicated we were now in, a gentleman knocked on our door minutes later with a little pink box of chocolates and a note signed by the general manager welcoming us back!
That night, and nearly every night of our visit, we visited the Heritage Court, this time for dinner first, then a couple rounds of cheer. Most of our times there, we were lucky to have Taabu take care of us. He even remembered us from previous visits, and would always make sure to stop and say hello as we were passing by the rest of the week. By the way, while I respect the opinions of my fellow reviewers here, I must say that we saw our two evenings having dinner at the Heritage Court as our "cheap date nights" while in Bermuda (less expensive than our other choices, no cab fare). Great fish chowder, fish sandwiches, flatbreads. One night we also got the Princess Sample Platter - Fun little bites of this-and-that (We called it Bermuda PuPu). Only fair to you, though, dear reader, to point out that one of our after-dinner visits to the Heritage Court was less than great. It seemed the young lady responsible for our table was much more interested in cashing out for the night than in seeing to our needs. Guess this stuck out so much only because it was such an aberration from the usual customer focus we'd always experienced.
On our second nght, on the way to dinner, we were happy to see Wesley is still at the door in the evenings - Been there with a smile and big Bemy welcome since we first began visiting just for drinks or dinner (We miss the Tiara Room!) almost twenty years ago!
Most days we took the 10:00 boat over to Southampton for the beach or the spa. The two young men piloting us over were always friendly and upbeat - Even took a couple alternate routes across the harbor to change up the scenery. And on our way out to the dock, we'd usually run into Ms. Richardson in housekeeping, always ready with a big smile and wishes for a great day. And the beach at Southampton is beautiful - We even "met" a pair of parrotfish one day!
Throughout our visit, through routine requests or activity planning needs, we grew acquainted with much of the front desk staff, discussing dinner plans with them on our way out, getting tips about their favorite dishes wherever we were going, etc. E. Michael made a call to Ocean Club at the Fairmont Southampton the night we were headed there, and we were treated like the king & queen there! Courtney was kind enough to find details for us on some of the new art in the lobby after we'd commented on it to her (Apparently, the current owners are being very generous sharing their personal collection), and recommended the chateaubriand on our way to Fourways one evening (Great call, Courtney - Thanks!). Make sure, by the way, you ask Kalea at the desk about the old picture her father's in on the mezzanine between the gold lounge and the conference rooms! She's obviously very proud, both of him, and of sharing his connection to the Princess herself now! Oh, one more - Sierra in the coffee shop made each morning she was working even more sunny, with her big smile and warm welcome! Now, if only the coffee, by the way weren't so horrid!
Obviously, we're already discussing a hoped-for return to The Princess next year. Like all of her team members who weighed in wit us, we can't wait to see the results of her makeover. She may look a little different by then, but, thanks to her people, her heart'll still be the same!
By the way, tip -If you're heading over to Southampton on the last ferry over, make your dnner plans for late enough to chill and enjoy a cocktail at The Dock at Waterlot! Great concoctions, great vibe, fun singer the night we stopped! See - Another great change/addition by the current owners! So far, nice job, Mssrs Green - But, careful, we're watching, though!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I recently returned from a 1 week vacation with my daughter. So glad I chose the Fairmont Hamilton Princess Hotel as our destination! Loved the swimming pools, the location and accessibility to the Southampton Princess beach, the staff (Michael is great!), the food and the best frozen Pina Coladas at the beach side cabana! Will definitely return!!

Room Tip: Bermudiana wing overlooking the water to enjoy the beautiful sunsets from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreanneBoden, Manager at The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review. I am delighted that you and your daughter have a wonderful stay. I hope you will come back to our beautiful island and Hotel in a nott too distant future.
Sincerely, AB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We loved the total package of the hotel. The beauty, the friendliness of the staff, the comfort of the room, the food, the high tea and the closeness to town and the water ferry. We enjoyed sitting out along the water enjoying the beautiful sites. The only complaint I had was when I asked if we could have a free upgrade we were told no because the hotel was full...which it wasn't. We are even members of the President's club. Next time to Bermuda we will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Wa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here before leaving on a cruise and was in a room with a view of the lighthouse. Stunning. The first three nights were a great value. But, our ship was late and we had to book an extra night. The rates became about 4 times what we paid before. Most of this was reimbursed by the cruise ship company, but if it hadn't been, we probably would have left for the extra night. The restaurants on site are very good, if not overpriced (like the rest of Bermuda :)). Staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Hamilton Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Also Known As:
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Hotel
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Hotel Hamilton
Fairmont Hamilton
Fairmont Hamilton Princess
Hamilton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Bermuda
Address: 76 Pitts Bay Rd, Hamilton HM CX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hamilton Princess 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the stunning blue waters of the breathtaking harbor, The Fairmont Hamilton Princess hotel offers everything you could possibly need to make your vacation a truly memorable experience. Our stunning Bermuda resort is steps from Downtown Hamilton and conveniently located near shopping boutiques, restaurants and nightlife.The Hotel offers both a Saltwater and a Freshwater pool, a complimentary ferry over to our private Fairmont Beach Club in Southampton.The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Bermuda hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, many with harbour views, private balconies and marble bathrooms. For unsurpassed luxury and service reserve a room on Fairmont Gold, a luxury lifestyle offering that pampers guests with its dedicated concierge, complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea and evening canapés served daily in a private lounge.For business or special events, groups of all sizes can enjoy the resort's multiple indoor and outdoor venues—30,000-square-feet of elegant reception areas and meeting rooms providing picturesque backdrops for unique gatherings, corporate functions and tropical weddings.Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, Bermuda is perfect for getaways year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Fairmont Hamilton Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.