We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bermudians are friendly, helpful and happy people!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Hamilton Princess to your Saves list
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   76 Pitts Bay Rd, Hamilton HM CX, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Malverne,New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bermudians are friendly, helpful and happy people!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hamilton Princess is lovely hotel in ideal location for downtown Hamilton. Many very good restaurants within walking distance and plethora of stores for shopping. Upgrades are being made to many rooms, so make sure you get a room that has been done.
We are frequent travelers so I am not surprised to find resort fees and taxes as add ons to room rates. I was surprised to find a charge for "Room Gratuities" which I guess is for Housekeeping? The add ons amounted to 20 percent of room rate - a bit over the top in my opinion. In fairness half of the 20 percent was for "local" tax ! We did enjoy our stay on the "Gold Floor" and will return.
It is nice to be able to use all the facilities of the sister hotel, the Southampton Princess. Lovely beach and challenging 9 hole golf course on site.

Room Tip: Would recommend the "Gold Floor" - lovely lounge! Also provides breakfast, afternoon tea a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreanneBoden, Manager at The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed our Fairmont Gold product. With regard to your comment about the daily gratuity charge, this is mandated by the agreement between the Bermuda Hotel Association and the Bermuda Industrial Union, which has been in effect for many years, and we have absolutely no discretion in this matter. I am glad to know that this won't put you off from returning and enjoing our true Bermudian Hospitality! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    365
    126
    53
    35
See reviews for
152
444
48
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We visited Bermuda again and decided to stay at the Fairmont Hamilton this time. The position of the Hotel is superb being near the ferry and walking distance to the town centre. Look for the Miles supermarket which is hidden away on the right as you walk into the shops. The reception and door staff are always helpful and ready to greet you. The Bermudian House is away from the main hotel and gives you a feeling of privacy. The room service was excellent and the quality of the food was first class.

Room Tip: Head for Bermudian Lodge with harbour view but do expect a long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I visited The Hamilton Princess in early February. We stayed on the gold level in newly renovated rooms which were lovely and immaculate. The hotel staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. The hotel manager took very special care of us and made wonderful suggestions for our nightly dinners. The gold level is charming and is an especially lovely place to meet for afternoon tea and happy hour. Overall a wonderful trip made better by a great experience at the Hamiilton Princess.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the gold level. It is absolutely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Half hour from airport.No car rentals on the island.Take a cab everywhere especially to golf courses.Can rent scooters.Very narrow roads.Hotel part new,part old.Scheduled for major renos.Great food in the restaurants and superb breakfast buffet.All restaurants on island automatically add 15% gratuity.Hotel charges 17%.Staff friendly and very helpful.
Walking distance to downtown.Can walk to ferry terminal for trips to other parts of island ie.The Dockyards and the other Fairmont Southampton.
Island very expensive.Great museums dedicated to islands rich naval and military history.Visit the Bermuda Arts Center,Dockyards Museum and Masterworks.
No taxes.Very disappointing Airport in terms of duty free,restaurants and gift shops-totally lacking.

Room Tip: At this hotel get a room with a water/harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here October 2012. I had been debating between the Bermudiana house room or Gold room and opted for the Bermudiana, since it had a balcony. We absolutely loved it! Our room was clean, newly renovated, and the view of the Harbor was spectacular. The room overlooked the pool as well, but was not noisy at all. The staff at the hotel were friendly, especially the doormen! The hotel bar was a fun place to unwind at night after dinner in town. Loved the location...we walked into town for dinner every night. I would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend the Bermudiana House rooms.

Room Tip: Bermudiana house rooms are more recently renovated. Rooms overlooking the pool are also on harbor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I was fortunate to have a business trip to Hamilton which required a two night stay. Since my company has an office nearby, I received a corporate rate of $399 per night and was booked on the "gold" floor which provided the free continental breakfast and the quiet lounge area to relax in after a long day of meetings. The food in the restaurant was good but pricey. I don't usually travel at this level so it was a treat for me. The bed was comfortable and room was clean and spacious. The staff was courteous and professional. My only complaint is that the air conditioner was noisy which most hotels are. Given the opportunity, I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a stop over in Bemuda due to a person being taken ill on our flight and we were taken here to spend the night. This is a beautiful hotel. The staff at the reception were helpful and friendly. The room was well laid out with everything you could need. Beds were very comfortable and the bathroom and shower were lvoely. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the main strip where everything you could need can be found. The breakfast was lovely and the serving staff were very polite and served us quickly. The hotel pool is lovely and well kept. I would happily stay here again if I came to Bermuda on holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreanneBoden, Manager at The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review and I certainly hope that you will come back visit us for a longer period of time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Hamilton Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Address: 76 Pitts Bay Rd, Hamilton HM CX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hamilton Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the stunning blue waters of the breathtaking harbor, The Fairmont Hamilton Princess hotel offers everything you could possibly need to make your vacation a truly memorable experience. Our stunning Bermuda resort is steps from Downtown Hamilton and conveniently located near shopping boutiques, restaurants and nightlife.The Hotel offers both a Saltwater and a Freshwater pool, a complimentary ferry over to our private Fairmont Beach Club in Southampton.The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Bermuda hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, many with harbour views, private balconies and marble bathrooms. For unsurpassed luxury and service reserve a room on Fairmont Gold, a luxury lifestyle offering that pampers guests with its dedicated concierge, complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea and evening canapés served daily in a private lounge.For business or special events, groups of all sizes can enjoy the resort's multiple indoor and outdoor venues—30,000-square-feet of elegant reception areas and meeting rooms providing picturesque backdrops for unique gatherings, corporate functions and tropical weddings.Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, Bermuda is perfect for getaways year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Hamilton Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Hotel Hamilton
Hamilton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.