We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying Stay at Princess” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Hamilton Princess to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   76 Pitts Bay Rd, Hamilton HM CX, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
The Fairmont Summer Offer
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Satisfying Stay at Princess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a harbour view balcony room in the main building last week. Weather was not the best so we only had a couple of occasions when we could actually enjoy the balcony; but the view was pleasant and it was nice to let in the fresh air. The room was large, comfortable and clean and meet our needs fully. Given the less than ideal weather we were happy to be located in Hamilton where we could walk into town for meals, shopping, and visiting some attractions. Also handy to the ferry terminal and bus. We took the hotel ferry over to the Southampton property one day (it was cancelled the other days due to high winds).

Service was impeccable but also warm and friendly which is a difficult combination to achieve. The doormen, servers and housekeeping staff in particular were confident and competent and made you feel like a welcome guest. The younger staff on the reception desk were also well trained and efficient. The hotel itself is a beautiful property and the interior is reminiscent of traditional downtown hotels like the Waldorf and Royal York, while having resort style pools and harbour front access as well. Too bad it was not warm enough this time for us to use them.

Price seemed high for off season but perhaps we could have done a better job picking out a time to go that fit into some of their special offers. I find the Fairmont reservatons website difficult and tedious to use when you are comparing all the various offers - every time you want to look at a different pricing program you have to go all the way in and all the way out of several screens before you see all the price choices you may have. It's not an easy or fun experience and definitely less user friendly than many other chains.

If you are going to Bermuda to experience the culture and local attractions of this friendly and beautiful island then the Princess is a good choice, especially for your first visit as this was for us.

Room Tip: We liked our balcony room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    328
    110
    50
    34
See reviews for
137
417
45
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in the Fairmont Gold section of the hotel in February 2013 with our teenaged daughters, and it was wonderful. The concierge staff were extremely accommodating and helpful. The main room of the Gold section is a beautiful "Old Bermuda" style, with elegant furnishings. The breakfast, afternoon tea and evening appetizers were all great. The rooms were spacious and clean. The location is convenient, particularly in the off-season. Easy walking distance to shops and restaurants and there is a great grocery store, Miles Market, around the corner. The concierge really made the difference in making our stay exceed our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here in Feb. 2013. I can't say enough about the incredible staff. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is centrally located and an easy walk to restaurants and shops. Even though the hotel is older it was very clean and impressive. We had a wonderful, spacious room, although it was warm even with the air on. i wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The only negative is that the restaurants are very expensive! However, there are many other restaurants within walking distance. On the last day, we found a wonderful, gourmet grocery right around the corner. It was a perfect place to pick up some
great snacks and wine to enjoy in our room. The grounds and facilities are beautiful. A really fabulous Bermuda experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreanneBoden, Manager at The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
On behalf of the General Manager, Len Czarnecki, and the entire team at The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, we would like to thank you for this wonderful review. Your kind words will go a long way to validate our colleagues hard work and inspire them to continue on in their quest to provide the quality customer service our guests expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have visited Bermuda numerous times and stayed at a variety of hotels on the island. We chose this hotel due to its central location...my husband had some business meetings. The weather is inconsistent in February so it is nice to be within walking distance of stores and restaurants. We took advantage of the hotel's free ferry to its sister hotel, the Fairmont Southampton, on the other side of the island, to walk the famous Horseshoe Bay beach. If the weather was better this resort would be more conducive to fun in the sun.
Every staff member at the hotel that we encountered was welcoming, polite and helpful. Our room was not too big - another comfortable chair in the room would have been nice. I was surprised that we did not receive turndown service - I thought this was something we might expect at a Fairmont hotel? We were put in a recently renovated wing (Bermudian) that was quite a walk from the front of the hotel. Close to the saltwater pool. The fitness room was well equipped.
The hotel does offer a shuttle service to and from the airport for only US$10 per person. A quick and easy way to go. Book ahead.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return if there for business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevastopol, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

One of the best hotels, central located it has everything you need- food, pool,views, bars etc
If you want walking way to the beach go to fairmont shp, it is 20 minutes from center,but you will see ocean from your window.
Taxi are expensive,would be 50$ to get from the airport to the Hamilton princess,but it is good.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip in February 2013.

The hotel itself is fairly grand and the main public areas are quite impressive.

I had one of the suites on the first floor and the room was huge and fairly well equipped. The only criticism I had was that it was all a little dated and tired, the TV's in the room for example are at least 15 years old (CRT monsters), certainly in need of a refurbishment.

The staff were excellent, friendly and could not do enough to please.

We ate in the bar on our first night and had breakfast in the restaurant every day, the food was good and again the staff excellent.

I think that my only gripe would be the need for some renovation and renewals and, at the price charged, we paid in excess of $500 per night, I think that this is not an unrealistic expectation.

Room Tip: Join the presidents club or you will be charged to access the wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreanneBoden, Manager at The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent reviews. We are always looking at ways to improve our historic property (more than 125 years) and as such the hotel is constantly refurbishing its guestrooms. I am terribly sorry that your room did not meet your expectations but can confirm that the entire Poinciana wing (66 rooms) will be renovated this coming November. I hope you we will have the opportunity to welcome you at The Fairmont Hamilton Princess in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I spent 4 days here on business. The hotel was good but not excellent. For example, the wireless was patchy and the corridors and room in need of some tlc. The restaurant was also worth avoiding, particularly given the expense and lack of service. That said, the place is steeped in history and a comfortable and convenient place to be based in Hamilton.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Hamilton Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Address: 76 Pitts Bay Rd, Hamilton HM CX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hamilton Princess 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the stunning blue waters of the breathtaking harbor, The Fairmont Hamilton Princess hotel offers everything you could possibly need to make your vacation a truly memorable experience. Our stunning Bermuda resort is steps from Downtown Hamilton and conveniently located near shopping boutiques, restaurants and nightlife.The Hotel offers both a Saltwater and a Freshwater pool, a complimentary ferry over to our private Fairmont Beach Club in Southampton.The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Bermuda hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, many with harbour views, private balconies and marble bathrooms. For unsurpassed luxury and service reserve a room on Fairmont Gold, a luxury lifestyle offering that pampers guests with its dedicated concierge, complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea and evening canapés served daily in a private lounge.For business or special events, groups of all sizes can enjoy the resort's multiple indoor and outdoor venues—30,000-square-feet of elegant reception areas and meeting rooms providing picturesque backdrops for unique gatherings, corporate functions and tropical weddings.Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, Bermuda is perfect for getaways year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Hamilton Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Hotel Hamilton
Hamilton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.