We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bumpy Start, Great Ending” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Hamilton Princess to your Saves list
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   76 Pitts Bay Rd, Hamilton HM CX, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Western NY State
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bumpy Start, Great Ending”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here off-season late December through New Year's and early January, and as a result, the Fairmount Gold concierge not there, though the space was. First room assigned had a huge cracked sink, but the young and very accommodating staff moved us to a huge suite on one of the Fairmount Gold floors! Stunning! Then, no hot water, and though it took a few days to get that sorted out, the staff went out of their way to try to assist and should be commended for composure and excellent follow-up on what could have been a situation that could have ruined our vacation. The facility is very nice with two swimming pools, an excellent fitness facility and it is very close to the heart of Hamilton so getting around was very easy. If you want your toes in the sand, take the free ferry to the sister hotel, the Fairmount Southampton Princess and bask on the beach there as well as access those hotel facilities and charge things to your Hamilton Princess room!

Cannot say enough about the great staff, from the bellmen who knew your name after day one and were ever present at the doors to assist, get taxis, provide tips or just a warm greeting and smile to the reception staff and managers to the Heritage Court service staff to the wonderful and attentive housekeeping staff. Room service was always much quicker than stated. The in-house spa was, unfortunately, VERY pricey, so we did not avail ourselves of any of those services.

My companion got ill while there (not from food or anything!), and a call to the front desk got us a return call from a physician on call to the hotel who was willing to make a "house" call in the hotel or just call in a prescription. And all in just a few minutes and late at night!!

We thoroughly enjoyed the proximity to the city, restaurants and transportation that the hotel afforded us. Would we stay there again? Absolutely. For an off-season stay, it was lovely.

Room Tip: Until they finish the upgrade in the Poinciana wing, avoid those rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    358
    126
    52
    34
See reviews for
152
443
48
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in May 2012. We first received a good size room with parking view but it had only shower. We had told hotel that we need bath as we have a toddler so they upgraded us at no cost to a one bedroom ocean view, which was nicer.

The pros:
- walking distance to the city of Hamilton
- walking distance to restaurants, grocery store, public ferry and bus routes
- shuttle ferry to the Southampton Fairmont
- heated pool (only one is heated and it wasn't hot enough in May to use the other pool)
- planned activities such as grill night in restaurant, the Friday drink and bbq, etc
- Actual hotel staff (not restaurants) were very nice, friendly and accommodating (specially the door men who made us laugh every time and danced with my toddler to make her happy!)
- nice gym
- hotel rooms are clean and comfy but see the comment below about the rooms
The cons:
- I DON’t recommend this hotel for families especially with young kids. The hotel is not designed to cater to this kind of people. We had multiple concerns and talked to the hotel manager, who plainly agreed with us and said that we should have booked Fairmont Southampton for kids not this hotel!! So beware!
- The biggest con for us was that this hotel FEELS like a business hotel and most of the clientele were either business men or older couples. We were a family with toddler and this is not really a hotel for kids. We both travel LOTS for work to business hotels and found the ambient to be very similar to work not allowing us to relax and kick in the vacation mood. General hotel people were friendly to our toddler but the restaurant manager was NOT! He was an Indian looking guy and way too concerned about her for other guests and three times that we showed up for breakfast and dinner, he hid us in a corner not moving our table after our request and brought non-sense excuses. We didn't like their attitude as our child is really well behaved and goes to fancy quiet restaurant with us every week and she never misbehaves so this was not at all necessary. As such we didn't go for breakfast dinners anymore and then had difficult time finding good breakfast alternatives around.
- very far from nice beaches in Bermuda - yes you can take the shuttle to Southampton but we found it not an acceptable alternative to being close to a beach due to reasons explained below
- First when we heard that there is a free shuttle we thought this is excellent as we can be close to the city and then go to the beach when we need to. But in reality, the shuttle times were annoying. You would have to get up early and rush rush to make the last morning shuttle. From the other side you couldn't enjoy the afternoon beach for long as you had to rush back to catch the last shuttle. Then the shuttle ride was long and became a drag with a kid as most times the shuttle was full and we had to stand for 40 mins!!! Really, if you like to be close to the beach, this is not a good alternative.
- although the rooms were nice enough and comfy, they weren’t anything luxurious. We had terrible rain and during that time the carpet close to windows got terribly wet as the windows were leaking and our small balcony facing the ocean had a big puddle of rain water, which never cleared during our stay so we couldn’t use the balcony even two days after the rain! The was a dent in the balcony floor and deep enough to keep the water. The rooms were a bit dated (specially the mattress in our room!) and in my view need an updating as this hotel is not cheap!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel was very nice. The room was very modern and clean. The hotel was very close to the city of Hamilton. You could walk to all of the local restaurants in town and even walk to the bus terminal. I would definitely stay here if you want close proximity to the city. If you would rather have more hotel amenities, then stay at the South Hampton Fairmont. It has an indoor pool and Free Cookies and tea daily @ 4:00pm. There are more activities and excitement at the South Hampton Fairmont.

Room Tip: Please include breakfast with your room rate. It is well worth it. The buffet breakfast was excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreanneBoden, Manager at The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I will make sure I share your nice comments with our colleagues. I just want to remind you that The Fairmont Hamilton Princess also serve Afternoon Tea daily. Recently praised by the New York Times as having the best afternoon tea in Bermuda, The Heritage Court is proud to continue this thoroughly British tradition dating back to the early 1800s. Please don't miss it next time you come visit!
Regards,

AB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Enjoyed a week her, with excursions on hired scooter and walking from centre to each end of the island. Excellent views over the sea and harbour from the bedroom balconies - and a breakfast (especially at the weekend) that looks more like a dinner menu - recommend the local potato dish.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

For me the, the true value of a property begins with the staff. The folks at the Princess could not be more accommodating. It started with the bellman. Even though I did not need help with my luggage....no..I am not cheap...I just had a small bag for a short two night stay. Anyway, the bellman walked me to my room to make sure all was in order.
The desk and wait staff were equally as professional.
The lobby bar was awesome as well.....try the fish tacos!!

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the harbor...you may have to upgrade but its worth even penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We spent the Xmas weekend at the Fairmont Hamitlon in Bermuda. I REALLY wanted to rate this hotel 5 stars. Let me first explain what I loved about it:

Excellent Service - the staff was extremely courteous and professional
Location Location Location - perfectly situated in the heart of Hamilton, literally a 5 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants downtown
Cleanliness - the hotel was kept up very well

Now, the reason I couldn't give this an 'excellent/5 star rating' is because the walls are extremely thin. We could hear everything going on in the adjacent rooms, as well as noise from the hallway, making sleeping conditions rather difficult. We were in the Bermudian wing, which is the newly renovated wing. It seems that when the wing was constructed, they didn't use soundproof material or whatever the standard is for hotels to block out noise and sound.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel if you're visiting Bermuda. However, I would caution the noise from the room.

If you find this post helpful, please indicate so :)

Room Tip: Rooms in the Bermudian wing are extremely noisy. I'd recommend asking the front desk about sugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreanneBoden, Manager at The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I appreciate you sharing your experience in this forum. Thank you for your nice comments about our high level of service. I will make sure I share them with our colleagues. I sincerely apologize for the challenges you faced with noise. I do hope that you will not let this stay put you off from returning to The Fairmont Hamilton Princess.
Thank you,

AB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you are looking for the typical 5 Star Fairmont experience, this IS NOT the place to go. It's not a dump, but definitely not worthy of being flagged as a Fairmont. Stay at the Fairmont Southampton instead and take the ferry back and forth to Hamilton. The Princess is dated and service is lacking to nonexistent. It was a waste of time to try calling the front desk, since no one ever answered - based on other reviews, I guess this is common and apparently the issues never really get addressed by management. In looking at previous reviews, it seems many of the guests have had the same issues and receive the same comments from management yet nothing has improved. We did as little as possible at the hotel itself since you have to wait in the check-in line to ask questions/directions. There is no doorman and the concierge desk was unmanned the entire time we were there. We are President's Club members and asked if we could upgrade but were told that the Gold Level was closed for the season, whatever that means, even though "Fairmont Gold" signs were displayed at the front door and in the lobby. One of the few positive things I can say is that the location is good for dining in Hamilton with many good restaurants close by. Wi-fi is free if you are a President's Club member, but the service/connection is sketchy. I had a difficult time staying connected. Use the direct connection, it seems to work better.
We checked in during tea time and decided to go over for tea and relax. Bad idea. We were seated next to a mother with several out of control children, all under the age of 6, who threw screaming tantrums any time they didn't get their way - all the while Dad was seated at the bar ignoring the circus. We asked to be moved in order to have a conversation without trying to shout over them. After finishing their snacks and drinks, they finally left. As a parting gift to the rest of us still there, one of the boys pulled down his pants and peed in the coy pond that all our tables overlooked. I guess better that than relieving himself on one of the table legs in the restaurant. :) Incidentally, the selections for Tea are not "all that" and not really worth the effort if there are other things you are out doing. Go have tapas and cocktails at Mickey's at Elbow Beach. You won't be disappointed.
As others have mentioned, there is a $25 "gratuity" charge per day that will appear on your portfolio when you check out. There is no signage advising you of this nor were we told about it when we arrived. The fee is supposedly going for gratuities for housekeeping and bell service. When we asked about this fee at checkout, we were told this is standard for all Fairmont properties worldwide. This is absolutely not the case. I had never heard of this fee, nor have ever been charged a "gratuity fee" at any Fairmont I have ever stayed in. I called Fairmont Corp. today and was told this fee is only charged by a few of their resort properties but is not the norm. As an aside, I have no issue with the fee in and of itself, but would have liked to have been informed about this prior to tipping staff generously during my stay.
We were given a room in the Bermudiana House. We found the room a bit dated, even though we were told the rooms were renovated in 2008. We could hear the people in the room next door and above us. The drapery rod was damaged and our shower door would not stay closed nor would the shower head stay in place. Despite calls to the front desk - which takes forever to get anyone to answer - the issue was never addressed. We just took extra towels off the housekeeping cart in the hall and placed them on the bathroom floor. Calls to front desk for regular coffee went unanswered. I ended up going down there and asking for it, only to be told I had to get it from housekeeping. I explained we were going to be getting ready to go out in a bit and was assured someone would be there momentarily with coffee for the machine. It arrived, over an hour later. Fortunately, the restaurant let us move our lunch reservation back.

Room Tip: The Bermudiana House is apparently the better place to be. We were told "Fairmont Gold" c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Hamilton Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Address: 76 Pitts Bay Rd, Hamilton HM CX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hamilton Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the stunning blue waters of the breathtaking harbor, The Fairmont Hamilton Princess hotel offers everything you could possibly need to make your vacation a truly memorable experience. Our stunning Bermuda resort is steps from Downtown Hamilton and conveniently located near shopping boutiques, restaurants and nightlife.The Hotel offers both a Saltwater and a Freshwater pool, a complimentary ferry over to our private Fairmont Beach Club in Southampton.The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Bermuda hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, many with harbour views, private balconies and marble bathrooms. For unsurpassed luxury and service reserve a room on Fairmont Gold, a luxury lifestyle offering that pampers guests with its dedicated concierge, complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea and evening canapés served daily in a private lounge.For business or special events, groups of all sizes can enjoy the resort's multiple indoor and outdoor venues—30,000-square-feet of elegant reception areas and meeting rooms providing picturesque backdrops for unique gatherings, corporate functions and tropical weddings.Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, Bermuda is perfect for getaways year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Hamilton Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Hotel Hamilton
Hamilton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.