We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Trapped" in BDA at the Princess” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Hamilton Princess to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   76 Pitts Bay Rd, Hamilton HM CX, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
The Fairmont Summer Offer
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Berlin, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“"Trapped" in BDA at the Princess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at the Hamilton Princess over the last few years. This time, we had the pleasure of meeting Kerrie the concierge shortly after we checked in. She really made the difference in this vacation for us: from a hand written invitation to the Friday night sunset cruise on the M/V Venetian, to meeting the Governor of Bermuda at the hotel gallery, to inviting us to help clean, measure, and weigh the green sea turtles at the Bermuda Aquarium - she was absolutely fantastic and a major asset to the hotel. We had more Bermudian adventures in four short days then we have on any previous visit to the island.

Unfortunately, the afternoon before we were to leave, we learned that we couldn't get back to the States for at least 3 days due to Hurricane Sandy; which was good and bad. I know you're thinking "boohoo trapped in paradise" but it wasn't all fun and games. We had to book 2 more nights at the hotel which we hadn't budgeted for. Thankfully the Fairmont worked with us and many other couples in the same situation to ensure a fair rate for our "extended stay". They certainly didn't have to do this but really displayed great customer service and concern during this emotional time for those of us from the east coast.
We’ll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms 662 thru 668 have amazing balcony views of the courtyard, Hamilton Harbour with it's frequ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreanneBoden, Manager at The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your great comments. I am glad you got to enjoy Bermuda in a different manner... Kerrie is a fantastic colleague. We take pride in working with individuals who share our commitment to providing exceptional service. I hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    408
    343
    116
    51
    34
See reviews for
146
428
48
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

There are a lot of nice things about this hotel. It's in a nice location, and it's not a bad place to stay. But given my expectations of, and experience with, the Fairmont brand, as well as the rates charged by this hotel, I can only give it a three-star review.

First, the service. I gave up on most calls to the front desk because they went unanswered after ringing for at least a minute. And when requested, service was slow to come; after I asked to be moved to another room (see comments below) I was cheerfully told that someone was on his way to help me, but it took 45 minutes, and three more calls, before a bellhop arrived to take me to a new room

Second, the rooms. A mixed lot. I was first given (if I'm remembering correctly) room 039, and was quite surprised at how much I could hear from the room next door--from light conversation to suitcase zippers to the flush of the toilet. I was moved to another room upstairs, which was far quieter because it didn't have a door connecting it to the next room, and it was also closer to the water, but had a sink that didn't drain well.

In both rooms, the A/C shut off automatically, which was very annoying if you depend on the sound of the fan to fall asleep. There doesn't appear to be a way to simply run the fan by itself.

The charge for wi-fi is $13.95 per day, which really isn't excusable in a luxury hotel.

Minor point: the shower controls are unmarked and unintuitive, so it takes some trial and error to figure out how to set the water temperature, which isn't something you really want to be doing before your first cup of coffee.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms that have doors connecting them to adjacent rooms. I asked to be moved from my first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here on business, great location, big rooms, awesome fish chowder. Short walk to Front street. Hotel also have free ferry to go to The Fairmont South Hampton (the beaches). Love the Mark Twain statue in the lobby!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The bloom is off the rose, but this place is great for the location. The staff is excellent - very friendly but unobtrusive. Every time we returned from a walk, we were greeted with "welcome home" and it was most definitely genuine. The rooms are fine - yes a bit outdated, but quite serviceable. I've been told that some local business folks just bought the place. Maybe some upgrades will be in the works. Didn't eat there except for the buffet breakfast which was excellent. Not a lot to do there, but we didn't care since we spent most of our time downtown eating and drinking. We never had a bad meal - out favorites were flanigans, hog penny and the pickled onion. The fish chowder at hog penny is to die for.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

It pains me to give a two star review to such a lovely hotel in a beautiful location with great service attitudes amongst its staff. The hotel is beautiful, well maintained and clean. The staff is helpful and very friendly. Unfortunately, however, the fundamental reason for staying overnight is to get a good night's sleep, which for us, was impossible to do. No doubt as an energy saving measure, the hotel has put controls on its A/C that will not allow you to cool a room below 68F degrees. What's more, the system will not allow you to run the fan on high indefinitely - it resets to low after five minutes or so. My wife and I need a room cooled below 65F and really set our own A/C at home at 63F. Consequently, neither of us slept well at all. I would not return to tis hotel for this reason. A lousy night's sleep four nights in a row eclipsed all other wonderful features of this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreanneBoden, Manager at The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Needless to say I was disappointed and concerned to learn that you couldn't get a good night of sleep during your stay because of the controlled AC. And you are right it is an energy saving measure. On the other hand, this can be bypassed by our Engineering department when being advised of the situation. I hope this won't keep you from visiting us again. Regards, AB.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was our very first visit to Bermuda, so we wanted a place that would allow us a central location to walk around and take in all that Hamilton...and the rest of Bermuda has to offer. Our visit was from Nov 1 -4th,2012.

We really got the best view in the hotel, room 220 at the very end of the "Poinciana" Wing.... magnificent waterfront suite , with THREE balconies and the waters of Hamilton Harbour a few feet away. It was great to leave the patio doors open and hear the gentle lapping of the waves against the seawall ...plus the strong winds of the water as well.

Location wise the hotel is right on the very edge of the busiest part of downtown, you can walk to everything ( which we did) and yet it still quiet enough and has the beautiful gardens to make you feel you are in the countryside. It's about a five to ten minute walk to great pubs like the "Hog Penny" ( our fav) , and all the other great shops and restaurants along Front St.

The hotel has 2 pools ( one fresh water and quiet warm ...could have even been heated...and one salt water which definitely was NOT heated!) The pools both have very deep ends 11 ft , so watch your kids while they swim. there is also a putting green , and some of the biggest coy fish in the gardens ponds.

The hotel DOES NOT have a beach ( nor does anyone else on Hamilton harbour) but guest do have free access to the private beach club at the Fairmont Southampton which is the Princess's sister hotel on the western end of the island. We took our rented mopeds there ( approx. 45 minutes leisurely ride) , showed our rooms keys to the attendants and received free beach towels and access to the private beach. We even charged our lunch there to our room back in Hamilton, staff were very friendly and glad to have us there. There is also a regularly scheduled free ferry service that leaves from the Princess and take you to the Southampton as well...great way to get some time on the water ( about 25 minutes ) Be sure to confirm the return time with the ferry captain...you miss the last opne at 6:30pm its a $45 cab ride back to Hamilton.

Room amenities are very nice for an older hotel ( the TV are still CRT 's with a decent choice of channels...but who goes to Bermuda to watch TV eh?) Complimentary Keurig coffee maker is a nice touch.

We dined out every meal so no reviews on the restaurants, but keep in mind that ALL restaurants and bars automatically add a 15%-17% gratuity to your bill. ( but there NO TAX so who can argue with that ) Things are generally about 20% more than in Canada, great deals on Goslings rum at Duty Free ...$13 a bottle!

Staff are always happy to see you. If you want to mail some postcards the Front Desk will not only post them for you, but they even include the postage stamp which is a very nice touch. The Gift Shop in the hotel surprisingly had the BEST prices for postcards (60 cents) and souvenir fridge magnets ( $3), snacks and sodas were about the same price as the local supermarkets we found, not the usual high prices you'd expect in the lobby gift shop.

Room Tip: Suite 220 in the "Poinciana" Wing had the best water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We accompanied our elderly parents to Bermuda to visit our son and his wife. On an earlier visit this summer, I had searched for accommodations in Hamilton with elevators and full air conditioning and decided my family required the Fairmont. The hotel prices were high but Bermuda is simple expensive. The Fairmont Gold was ideal for my elderly parents – and perfect for us too. The fabulous gold lounge was reminiscent of the elegance of days gone by. Included is a delicious buffet breakfast (fruits, pastry, and always a few hot items including yummy eggs Benedict), high tea with sweets (even the scones and clotted cream) and in the evening an honor bar & hot and cold appetizers. Teas, coffee's (latte etc) and cold drinks were always available. The quality of food was excellent. The Gold staff provided exceptional friendly, professional service. I loved it as you can tell.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreanneBoden, Manager at The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to learn that your entire experience on our Fairmont Gold floor was so enjoyable and that you had a truly memorable stay with your parents. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Hamilton Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Address: 76 Pitts Bay Rd, Hamilton HM CX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hamilton Princess 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the stunning blue waters of the breathtaking harbor, The Fairmont Hamilton Princess hotel offers everything you could possibly need to make your vacation a truly memorable experience. Our stunning Bermuda resort is steps from Downtown Hamilton and conveniently located near shopping boutiques, restaurants and nightlife.The Hotel offers both a Saltwater and a Freshwater pool, a complimentary ferry over to our private Fairmont Beach Club in Southampton.The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Bermuda hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, many with harbour views, private balconies and marble bathrooms. For unsurpassed luxury and service reserve a room on Fairmont Gold, a luxury lifestyle offering that pampers guests with its dedicated concierge, complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea and evening canapés served daily in a private lounge.For business or special events, groups of all sizes can enjoy the resort's multiple indoor and outdoor venues—30,000-square-feet of elegant reception areas and meeting rooms providing picturesque backdrops for unique gatherings, corporate functions and tropical weddings.Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, Bermuda is perfect for getaways year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Hamilton Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Hotel Hamilton
Hamilton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.