We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel never disappoints--It's the best of both worlds.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Hamilton Princess to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   76 Pitts Bay Rd, Hamilton HM CX, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
The Fairmont Summer Offer
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“This hotel never disappoints--It's the best of both worlds.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have stayed at other hotels, with private beaches, but we ended up taking taxis in town all the time to catch the ferry, shop, or have dinner. Eventually, we decided to stay in town and it really works much better for us. This hotel is beautiful and so well maintained inside and out. The staff is absolutely wonderful and friendly and professional. We easily walk to the ferry, the shops downtown, and many great restaurants. If you want the beach or golf, the hotel has a private ferry which you can take to their sister property Fairmont Southampton (no charge). So you have e best of both worlds!! We have booked suites and they are very spacious and roomy and we always find the furniture comfortable. We like the gold level with the concierge service. You can have a light breakfast, tea, or light snacks around five and a late night glass of wine. There is a very nice pool and the grounds are exceptional. We like a room with a balcony, so we can sit with a glass of wine and look at the harbor. On the fourth of July, we could see the fireworks from downtown.The service, the property and the location...we keep coming back and we are never disappointed. To be realistic , if you have children who want to be on the beach every day, you might do better at the Southampton property.

Room Tip: Two words: harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    400
    340
    115
    51
    34
See reviews for
143
426
47
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Located just a 10 minute walk from downtown Hamilton, this hotel is in the perfect location for first time visitors to Bermuda. The hotel is well kept and the staff is extremely helpful but the food prices are quite high so it is recommended that you dine in town. There is no beach at this hotel but there is a free ferry that travels across to the Fairmont Southampton where you can take a shuttle to its goergeous private beach, also free of charge.
The room was spacious and clean - having joined the President's Club we got a free upgrade and the internet fee was waived so I would highly recommend signing up before your trip. Smokers beware: having a patio/balcony does not mean you are allowed to smoke outside of your room. There is one designated area for smokers just outside of the hotel bar. If you are caught smoking anywhere else in close proximity to the hotel there is a $200 fine (according to the cleaning staff).
The grounds of the Fairmont Hamilton Princess are well kept, with the option of 2 different pools and a small putting green as well. The view of the harbour is gorgeous and the atmosphere is extremely relaxed. This is a great location for business trips or for those who care more about wandering around town than spending time on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
It is such a pleasure to know that you had a truly memorable stay. We take pride in working with individuals who embody our commitment to provide exceptional service. I am happy to share your accolades with our colleagues and congratulate them on a job well done.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts in this forum.I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at The Fairmont Hamilton Princess.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful view of harbor, close to downtown restaurants and shops. Ferry system to whole island close by but the hotel ferry to the other Fairmount hotel gives you a harbor ride and access to their golf course and private pink beach without any additional charge, what a savings! Don't bother renting scooters, too dangerous, take a taxi and ask the driver questions, they love to share. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had a really nice time staying at the Hamilton Princess. Our room was in a newer wing. We paid extra, but it was top-notch. The shower in the bathroom was bigger than our whole bathroom in NYC and paved with little beach rocks. Very nice!

Our room opened up on the ground floor with a little private patio facing the channel behind the hotel. Very peaceful and very lovely. We forgot to lock our sliding glass door one day and had no trouble. I wouldn't recommend that, I just put that in to underscore how safe I felt on the grounds.

The grounds are old-school beautiful - teeming koi pond, saltwater pool, normal pool, promenade along the harbor. We did wish the pools were open later, though. Closing at 8pm seemed a little too polite, even for Bermuda!

We walked in to the brunch, but stood up and walked out again when they quoted the price. The food just didn't look or smell worth it. We went down the street and got egg sandwiches at the espresso place next to the ferry dock for $5 each. Excellent!

We had a lovely time all-around.

Room Tip: Upgrade, baby, upgrade. Get out of the main hotel and into one of the newer sections. I can't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel is "ok". If we did not have breakfast included in our room rate I would have been very angry at the $30 PP buffet charge - not worth it. You also have two $20 charges added to your room rate; one for gratuities and the other a resort fee - ouch. The one for gratuities did not stop bellmen from expecting to be tipped and a 17% gratuity is added to all of your restaurant and bar bills. A previous reviewer suggested joining their presidents club online before going to get their internet charge waived - great suggestion as this saved another $13 PP/day.

The location is the best. You can take their ferry to another area where the sister hotel is. Within a few minute walk you are in Hamilton for shops and restaurants, the main ferry line and the bus station.

Room Tip: Request a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am disappointed to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. I would like to clarify those gratuities that you were charged are allotted to the housekeeping and the front of the house departments. You are correct that a 17% gratuity is charged on all food and beverage. I hope you will consider the Fairmont Hamilton Princess in the future. Thank you for sharing in this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

If our room was as polished and tastefully decorated as the main floor public areas and dining rooms, we would give this Fairmont an Excellent rating. Alas, our room was is in desperate need of updating. Lumpy mattress (which was remedied), inadequate air conditioning (which was not), soiled upholstery, frayed carpets, circa 1990 TV and generally tired furnishings took the lustre off of an otherwise pleasant stay. The service was extremely friendly and efficient. Its location is hard to beat, being no more than a 7 minute walk to downtown, and the setting -- on the harbor -- is exquisite. Some very good restaurants are less than a block or two away (Flying Fish, Buzz and Boochee), as well as a grocery store.

Pricey it is, but no worse than other options.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a recently updated room. May want to consider the bed and breakfast option--othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have spent much time in Bermuda growing up as my family is Bermudian. From the time I was a small child, I have admired this hotel, so when I travelled back with my own family, we decided to stay at this property. This is not a beach hotel, however, it is faily easy to take the complimentary shuttle to the sister property in Southhampton. It's really like getting a free boat excursion. The landscaping on the property was breathtaking, and the view on the harbor was the same. The location in Hamilton was ideal for strolling, shopping and access to many restaurants.
However, I was extremely disappointed with the level of service.It was not the gracious, helpful Bermuda that I know. The front desk staff was slow and not helpful, often giving erroneous information to questions . (Knowing Bermuda helped me to decipher what was untrue and what was true). At the prices of the room, this was unacceptable.
The suite was comfortable and spacious,. Having a coffee/tea maker and refrigerator in the room was nice. There are 2 pools, the smaller one is quieter, if that is your liking
The nightly activities at the property was also nice. The jazz trio that plays at Jazz night was INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!!But, my advice would be to stay at the Southhampton property which is a better run and newer property, and shuttle into to town

Room Tip: A harborview suite in the Bermudiana wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Hamilton Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Address: 76 Pitts Bay Rd, Hamilton HM CX, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Pembroke Parish > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hamilton Princess 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the stunning blue waters of the breathtaking harbor, The Fairmont Hamilton Princess hotel offers everything you could possibly need to make your vacation a truly memorable experience. Our stunning Bermuda resort is steps from Downtown Hamilton and conveniently located near shopping boutiques, restaurants and nightlife.The Hotel offers both a Saltwater and a Freshwater pool, a complimentary ferry over to our private Fairmont Beach Club in Southampton.The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Bermuda hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, many with harbour views, private balconies and marble bathrooms. For unsurpassed luxury and service reserve a room on Fairmont Gold, a luxury lifestyle offering that pampers guests with its dedicated concierge, complimentary continental breakfast, afternoon tea and evening canapés served daily in a private lounge.For business or special events, groups of all sizes can enjoy the resort's multiple indoor and outdoor venues—30,000-square-feet of elegant reception areas and meeting rooms providing picturesque backdrops for unique gatherings, corporate functions and tropical weddings.Conveniently located in the mid-Atlantic, less than a two-hour flight from most east coast gateways, Bermuda is perfect for getaways year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Hamilton Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Hotel Hamilton
Hamilton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.