We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find, but you must. It was so... good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mad Hatters

Mad Hatters
22 Richmond Rd, Hamilton HM08, Bermuda
441 297 6231
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 81 Restaurants in Hamilton
Price range: $21 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Quaint little restaurant ,serving unique and inspiring cuisine.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but you must. It was so... good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I had a special with shrimp and stir fried vegetables for lunch. It was outstanding. It is hard to cook shrimp just right and it was. We are so used to it being overcooked, that most of us don't even know what it should taste like and what that texture is. Even though I previously rated another restaurant in Bermuda as my favorite, we went to this restaurant on our last day there. This is by far my favorite restaurant in Bermuda.
As far as where it is. We walked by it 2 or 3 times on our way to the center of the city from our hotel and did not see it. It is in a Mariner's building, that is still being used by the Mariner's organization. It is a white building set back from the road with parking in front. There are signs on a white post that say "private" etc. that make you think it is off limits. The Mad Hatter logo appears on one of these white posts, but it is very hard to read. I am attaching a picture of the sign.
Also, it is a very small restaurant. I think the waiter said they had 8 tables inside. The outside eating is nice. There were no tables available so they gave us a table on the open porch. Make reservations if you can or go early. Lunch is until 2, dinner at 6 and they are closed on Sunday.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    61
    19
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, Connecticut
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Given that it was highest rated in Hamilton, My expectations were high . . . and they were met. The waiter went through a long list of specials among which was soft shell crabs as an appetizer. I asked if I could order it as a meal and he said no problem. My wife ordered the beef tenderloin. Everything was excellent. The wine (I ordered a Pinot Grigio by the glass) was also excellent and I asked what brand it was so I might purchase it at home and they brought the bottle to the table. The bill came out to around $150 for the two of us, including tip. One other thing, this was the only restaurant in Bermuda that we went to (we were here for 5 days) that did not automatically include the tip on the bill. Excellent food, friendly service. I would highly recommend the Mad Hatter to anyone coming to Bermuda.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

By far one of the best meals I have had in a long time. The food preparation is fantastic. The quality of the products, the presentation and boy does it taste good. The service is wonderful - Mark and his team get it right all of the time. I had the duck breast; it was excellent. Tender and well flavoured, cooked just perfectly. I would go back as often as my budget allowed, which is only occasionally. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“And they said you don't go to Bermuda for good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We came here for our 40th Anniversary- from Toronto. I have to say dinner was as good or better than anything we can get at home. Service was excellent, food was marvelous, price was comparable to a first class restaurant in the big city. Make reservations- early.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC Metro Area
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lots of fun. Superb food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This restaurant is a "find". A top-notch chef, a friendly owner / host, and hats of all kinds to try on. The owner told us the very amusing stories of the hats that patrons added to the collection. This was one of our best dinners in Bermuda..

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Hatters also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Pembroke Parish, Bermuda
Paget Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Mad Hatters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Hatters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.