We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mad Hatters

Mad Hatters
22 Richmond Rd, Hamilton HM08, Bermuda
441 297 6231
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 77 restaurants in Hamilton
Price range: $21 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Quaint little restaurant ,serving unique and inspiring cuisine.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The resident waiter, tall gentleman, is super helpful and tentative. The food is amazing, the steak was prepared perfectly. Highly recommend it and will be returning!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    190
    51
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best meal of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hidden gem of a restaurant. Not the easiest place to find but well worth the effort. The fish was cooked perfectly and the service was excellent!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Mad Hatter's is probably the only restaurant at which I can safely say I've never had a bad meal. Every time and without fail the service is spectacular, the food is divine and we leave full, satisfied and looking forward to coming back. Their ever changing daily menu means there is something new and delicious to try every time and they are more than accommodating when it comes to allergies. Be it a date night, business meeting or meal with friends and family, I can't say enough positive things about Mad Hatter's - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our party of four were looking forward to Mad Hatters because of its status as the number one restaurant in Bermuda on Trip Advisor. The food was good, but not excellent. It was the little things that earned it a lower score. We were advised that a large party would be arriving and they were noisy but not too disturbing. Our table was crammed in a corner by the service window and well away from the verandah, but nevertheless we were able to smell the cigarettes being smoked outside. My sparkling water was never topped up by the waitstaff, although my alcohol consuming colleagues were always being refilled. The chairs were very uncomfortable and seemed more suited to an outside lunch venue. All in all, it was just a little plain and with very little ambience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Not QUITE as wonderful as we'd have hoped...but good by Bermuda standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We'd tried before to get reservations, both times impossible, so were delighted to get in for our 21st anniversary last Friday. You know when something is hyped to the max and your expectations are super high, Mad Hatters was that, for me.
Our server could not have been nicer or more professional; we were seated promptly, though I wish we'd been told about the outdoor seating, as the dining room felt cramped (one could say 'romantic', but that would be stretching it) even with only two other groups of patrons arriving before we left. The specials all sounded fabulous; I selected the Tuna, which was generous, perfectly prepared, and had good & generous vegetable accompaniments. My husband selected the Mushroom consume and the appetizer portion of Mussels, both of which he liked but weren't 'rave worthy'. Wine by the (generous) glass was $10 each and our bill, with tip (it IS nice to have this be self-governed!), was $95 (not as inexpensive as i'd been led to believe, but then, the quantities WERE generous). I'm left with the feeling that, although nice, this would not necessarily be a place we would return to...
Being seated outdoors, flowers on the table, the bread being served warm, and perhaps a 'nod' to the fact that I'd mentioned on the phone and when being seated, that this was our anniversary, would have earned this place a return visit and an 'Excellent' rating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Hatters also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Mad Hatters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Hatters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.