We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, neat view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pickled Onion

Pickled Onion
53 Front Street, Hamilton, Bermuda
295 2263
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 81 Restaurants in Hamilton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food, neat view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We sat on the upstairs outdoor patio facing Hamilton's harbor (and got a bit rained on during a passing shower--but that's Bermuda!). I had a red snapper dish that was divine. Overall, the food is kind of upscale-pub in character. Lots of folks came to eat and also enjoy a cocktail (or two or three). It never got too boisterous, but there was plenty of loud talking and laughter. We definitely enjoyed our meal even if the scene wasn't quite us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    262
    88
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“so good we ate here twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was the first restaurant we came to on Bermuda-we had the four cheese pizza which was excellent. We enjoyed the atmosphere and of course the harbor views. Simple food but good!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great casual eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stopped in here for a quick bite while out and about in town.
Great food. Service was fantastic.
Not over priced, lots of choices on the menu.
Enjoy!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The lamb wrap my husband had was very tasty and so was my Bonita sandwich. The peanut slaw needed a little lift and fortunately their pickled onion sauce did the job. Service was good and the location has great views of the harbor.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We ate on the outside balcony, which over looks Front Street. It was a nice atmosphere. The food was excellent. We ordered the fried calamari and the trio of plantain chips and dip for appetizers. Delicious! The main entrees were great too. Our waiter was great and attentive to us, even when the restaurant got crowded towards the later part of the evening. I would definitely come eat here if I am ever in Bermuda again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickled Onion also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Pickled Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickled Onion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.