We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit or Miss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fresco's

Fresco's
2 Chancery Lane, Hamilton, Bermuda
295 5058
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 75 restaurants in Hamilton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The food is good here. There has been several changes in the last two years, but the food and atmostpher has always been great. Avoid on a Friday evening - as you don't want to compete with the Bar. This seems to be the priority on a Friday night.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    10
    11
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Top Contributor
360 reviews 360 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“BEST 'HAPPY HOUR" OPTION IN BERMUDA?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Frescos is now named 'Maria's' and has a killer 'Happy Hour' special 5:30-7 p.m. that we'll most certainly go back for. It includes choice of ceaser salad, soup of the day, or fried mozzarella. A lemon spice chicken, spagetti bolognese or a penne dish, are the entrees. There is a very fine icecream for dessert. Other than Happy Hour the prices range toward typical Bermuda at $17-21 an entree and $8-10 an antipasta but for this special it is a VERY reasonable $20 per person (minus alcohol and service). A beer costs $6.50 and friends have warned that a glass of wine is $11.-plus, so perhaps avail yourself of the local water for a very reasonable dinner-a-deu. The service was pleasant and efficient, food was served hot. The only reason I am not rating 'Maria's' as 'Excellent' would be the limited choices on the Happy Hour and the fact that prices are a lot more after 7 p.m.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Marias restaurant which is part of frescos was great hit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile


Wonderful ambiance, service, food and wine. Sorbet was homemade... Worth going there just for that!!! Unbelievable!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Before you order wine by the glass check the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We returned to Fresco's because we've always enjoyed eating there. We had excellent service and food. We ordered a glass of chardonay which was fine. Our surprise was when the bill came and we were charged $13.50 for a glass of wine that sells for less than that a bottle in Chicago. Generally the wine prices in Bermuda are very fair even at the 'best' restaurants. We were disappointed that Fresco's was charging so much for a glass of wine. Otherwise the service was excellent as usual and food interesting and different - and fairly priced.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious homemade pasta!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

This was the first time my husband and I had been to this restaurant since the owners re-named and re-branded it as Maria's a few months back. It was early on a Friday night and we were the only ones there, but by the time we left the place was packed, mostly with other locals (always a good sign!). Listen to the recommendations made by the waitstaff, they know what they are talking about. All the food we ordered was homemade that morning. Think ravioli stuffed with braised oxtail, agnolotti stuffed with pureed sweetcorn and sage butter, long strands of fettucinne. And they baked the desserts to order (that's why they say there is a 15-min wait). We were not rushed, the staff were wonderful, and the prices are average for Bermuda. We will be back and bringing friends!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresco's also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Fresco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresco's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.