We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found by accident than design but food &service excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barracuda Grill

Barracuda Grill
5 Burnaby Hill, Hamilton HM10, Bermuda
292 1609
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 85 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Lichfield
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Found by accident than design but food &service excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I originally overlooked this place in favour of one with an outside terrace but when we could get into our first choice at The Hafbourside. Then looked for place based on food /service recommendations rather than views and did not regret choice. Excellent food choice well presented and served by Diana. Recommend it to anyone looking for a nice meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    100
    30
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
durham, NC
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Expensive and not very good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

First the positives. Barracuda has a nice atmosphere and our Australian waitress was friendly and competent. The appetizers my wife and I ate were OK, not special but quite reasonable. The problem was really my main course. I ordered grilled rockfish marinated in miso and soy sauce, assuming this was a riff on the famous dish at Nobu's in NYC. This meal was so poor I was unable to eat it. The fish had no miso/soy sauce flavor but, even worse, had clearly been grilled earlier then allowed to cool and been reheated. As a result, it was very overcooked and had no taste of the grill or much of anything else. It was served on a puree of carrots with wild rice that was at room temperature and again tasted like it had been sitting. My wife's meal, the nightly special of sauteed red snapper, was on the other hand freshly cooked and, while bland, at least not offensive. All this, two appetizers and two mains, cost $103 plus a required 15% gratuity. Add in wine and we were over $200 for a meal that varied from average to poor. Needless to say, I will not go here again!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Food - Ask for a Booth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

First, we should preface this with that we went here on a Harbour Night, so it was probably busier than usual. Given that, we didn't have to wait for a table, service was prompt (thanks Tracey - great waitress) and friendly. While we didn't feel rushed, it was the quickest meal we had. It's a small restaurant so the tables felt a little cramped. It was like we sat in on our neighbor's bad date, which was amusing but also a little distracting. So if you go, request a booth and this will solve that issue. We had the ceviche and the crab-stuffed yellow breaded peppers -- both of which were amazing. For dinner, we had the beef sampler (filet, bone marrow and short rib - yum) and lobster and gnocchi (lobster slightly overcooked but we're from New England, so we're a little picky when it comes to lobster). Again, overall - it was a good meal and good experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radnor, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good overall restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Went there for business meal - mostly focused seafood menu. Overall it was good - however nothing exceptional in my opinion. If I had a choice - I would pick another spot.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Romantic Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were in Bermuda for a wedding anniversary. The staff at the Royal Palms Hotel recommended Barracuda Grill for one of our romantic dinners. We loved the restaurant. Great decor, great food, and great service. One of best meals in Bermuda.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barracuda Grill also viewed

Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 

Been to Barracuda Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barracuda Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.