We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to relax and unwind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. George's Club

Save Saved
You added The St. George's Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The St. George's Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Rose Hill, St. George GE05, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in St. George
West New York NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best place to relax and unwind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

I was at the club the last week of November first week of December 2009. I stayed in a 1 bedroom cottage, with full kitchen and possibly the finest view available of St. Georges Harbor. This was my fourth visit to the club and the cottage was immaculate, with appropriate number of towels. The furnishings were fine and the tv and stereo systems great. The club dining room - Griffins had great food and the bar was lovely to sit and have a beverage after being out all day. The ample hamper was ok (has been replaced with new owners and a concierge service for 2010) but I went downtown for shopping where there was a better selection. The three pools are fine, however in November I would stick with the heated pool which is sheltered from the breezes. I recommend it for individuals, couples and families. If you have trouble walking, you will have to take a cab up the hill to the club.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    68
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
71
63
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Although St George's is located at the far eastern tip of Bermuda, ferries and buses provide a good level of public transport to tour the rest of the island. St. George's Club provides everything you could need as a base for your holiday - from the tennis courts and 3 pools - one heated for cooler days, a large main pool that is busy and close to the restaurant, and a quiet, smaller pool for those feeling more reflective - to the well-appointed, roomy cottages dotted around the site. Privacy is respected, but there is always an opportunity to meet up with others if you so wish at the piano bar.

Griffin's restaurant, overlooking the harbour, provides a varied menu each day, and if you fancy something less formal, there is a complimentary shuttle that takes you to Achilles Bay, owned by the Club, a few minutes drive away, where you can sample further delicious food (the seafood pasta is a must) at 'Blackbeard's', after some of the best reef snorkelling we have experienced. Who could resist a 'Sunset punch', whilst watching the sun set at the end of the day?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Location! This resort sits at the top of a hill overlooking the town of St. George like a crown gem - perfect for experiencing the 400-year-old town and all its history. The resort is connected to the town below by a wonderful set of stairs that winds down through the old homes and structures to the water's edge and is in great proximity to both Tobacco Bay and Achilles Beach for the best snorkeling on the island.

Although this is an older timeshare facility, we couldn't have been happier with the resort's proximity to this charming, historic town. You actually feel part of history while staying in one of the architecturally-appropriate one or two-bedroom cottages with a wonderful upstairs master suite with sunken tub. If you're wanting nightlife, you'll have to go into Hamilton or to one of the fancier hotels on the island. There are no car rentals on the island of Bermuda, but week-long bus and ferry passes are convenient and inexpensive. We found riding a scooter through the hills of Bermuda to be the high-light of our trip, allowing for personal scheduling of our day instead of waiting for the buses. On-site scooter rental is available at the resort, and each unit has its own designated parking space outside every cottage for personal scooters. Although some reviews have called the resort's private beach at Achilles Bay small, we fell in love with its beauty, privacy, and coral reefs filled with fish. Tobacco Bay and St. Catherine's Fort beaches are within walking distance on either side of Achilles. The Tavern by the Sea directly below the resort at the bottom of the hill was our favorite spot for dining, and Blackbeard's offers a great sunset. The food at the resort's restaurant, Griffin's, was the only disappointing thing we experienced at the resort itself, but the service is great and they offer various theme nights that may be a better choice. The resort charges a $50 per person pre-pay to the restaurant as well as a daily room cleaning charge per person. We enjoyed being at the top of the hill with its spectacular views of the town and bay, and we often chose to walk to town for daily excercise. We loved walking through the narrow streets while shopping and watching the historical reenactments in the Town Square. Make sure to tour BIOS, the oceanic research center in close proximity to St. George's to learn about the scientists' latest experiments. The Crystal Caves are a "must see" and especially nice if rain hits. Bermuda's main attraction is, of course, the magnificent blue water and pink beaches. South Shore beaches are a must, but plan for at least a half hour ride by scooter or hour by bus from this resort. The Swizzle Inn is as fun as they claim, and the Pickled Onion on Front Street in Hamilton has award-winning food. A ferry from St. George makes the 21 miles to the Fort at the opposite end of the island much faster and well worth the trip.

To anyone questioning travel in Bermuda after hearing the news about island crime throughout the Caribbean, have no fear or reservation about coming to this wonderful island! Some reviews have also complained that this is an older resort, but current management appears to have improved most of the negative conditions expressed in poorer reviews written a few years ago, although a bit of fine tuning is still needed (such as peeling paint). Our unit had been recently renovated, but expect "time-share comfortable" rather than luxury. While it is also true that the location requires some strenuous uphill walking, the resort now offers a convenient free shuttle to town. Our family relished the daily exercise and ability to walk into town for dinner or shopping. We've stayed at several of Bermuda's bigger and fancier hotels on previous vacations, and we were pleasantly surprised to find that we loved The St. George's Club and the historical end of the island. Our cottage was perfect for our needs, and we were very wistful to leave our Bermuda home at the end of our week.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Let me say right off . . . if I'd paid the price quoted by the club's management, this would be a different review. But because I got a great price through a timeshare site, I was willing to put up with what would never have been acceptable at the price St george's Club quoted.

Positives: grounds are kept very nicely with pretty flowering shrubs and palms. Pools were clean and not too chlorinated. Several staff members were excellent and went out of their way to help us (security staff chased us down when he observed us going the wrong way after we asked him for directions to the beach through the golf course) Bar tenders were friendly and poured great drinks. Scott and his restaurant staff (especially out at Blackbeards) are doing a great job. Although cottage needed updating, it was spotless when we checked in. Shuttle service to town and Blackbeards is efficient and run by friendly staff.

Negatives: I realize updating the cottages is a work-in-progress, but if you get stuck with one that hasn't been updated, don't expect too much. Our sliders were constantly going off track, rust around the toilets and shower drains, old chipped cooking pans, no cutting boards, tired furniture . . but as I said above, it was very clean (though they didn't vacuum at our mid-week cleaning which surprised me) We didn't have appliance issues but spoke with several people who did (broken refrigerators/coffee pots)

We were informed by the front desk that we MUST close our windows (including second floor) at night for security reasons . . . unfortunate atmosphere . . . we rent on the BVI and have never felt threatened or needed to lock doors and fall asleep to the sound of the waves and tree frogs . . . lets hope the Govt gets this new crime/gang issue under control.

Since it's a time-share, you have no control over your location/view. I like to be able to pay the extra for a nice view when staying at a hotel/resort. This isn't a complaint about St George's in particular . . . just a comment about the lack of control when booking at a time-share. We did encounter a few rude staff members: my elderly mom had trouble with the laundry and was told she wouldn't get her money back as it was her mistake . . . handing her 3.75 would have been a much better PR move.

If your'e happy just hanging at the Club or taking the shuttle to Achilles Bay (gorgeous and great snorkeling) you could be happy here, but the town has gotten very sleepy since the ships no longer dock here . . . a lot of closed shops and dining places . . . sad. To explore anyplace else, you must rent scooters or take the bus/ferry (40-50 minute ride to hamilton on Bus #11). I really missed not having my own jeep to explore on my own schedule like we do at other islands.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We have visited Bermuda several times and particularly enjoyed the St Georges Club set as it is overlooking the lovely town and bay of St Georges.The traditional build of the units with their light and airy decor and well equiped kitchen and bathroom make them a delight to visit and provided us with a most relaxing environment.
We have eaten at Griffin's restaurant on previous visits but found this year that the quality of food and service was second to none. We also enjoyed being able to choose the more relaxed atmosphere of Blackbeard with it's most excellent seafood.
We enjoyed the choice of the three pools, one heated ( useful for an April visit). The staff could not have been more helpful and contributed to make our overall stay one that we would certainly want to repeat.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leigh on sea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We absolutely loved The St Georges club. The accomodation is second to none,friendly attentive staff, great facilities, a fabulous restaurant serving superb fresh food. Nothing was too much trouble and we found everyone at the resort to be more than helpful throughout our stay.
The town of Saint Georges is lovely and very quaint and the Island as a whole is very beautiful with such wonderful friendly people.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

We stayed at the St George's Club in a one-bedroom apartment during the winter. We had a view overlooking the town, and the apartment was spacious and well-equipped with a large bed room and bathroom. We ate in the restaurant "Griffins" which was fantastic and we enjoyed an evening in the cosy bar as well. The weather wasn't nice enough for us to swim in the main pool in December, but it looked great - we were disappointed. We'll definitely go back (even if just for a swim, it's a perfect winter getaway.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. George's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. George's Club

Address: 6 Rose Hill, St. George GE05, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > St. George's Parish > St. George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The St. George's Club 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the World Heritage Site of the old town harbour is The St. George’s Club. An enclave of vacation/ownership cottages, The Club boasts three swimming pools, three tennis courts (two with lighting), fitness centre and scooter rental. We have two restaurants on property Griffin's Bistro and Bar in the main Clubhouse and five (5) minutes away on the across the bordering golf course is our secluded beach facility The Beach House, our restaurant and bar which boasts a great menu and good wine with one of the best views of the sunset on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The St. George's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. George`s Club Hotel St. George
St Georges Club Bermuda
St George Club Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. George's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.