We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. George's Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The St. George's Club to your Saves list
The St. George's Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Rose Hill | Located in World Heritige Site, St. George GE05, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here over the weekend in a two bedroom suite. It was fantastic. Equiped well with kichen livingroom two bathrooms. One in the room overlooking the bay and a nice patio. There are two pools. One heated which was good for my granddaughter. Very relaxing and a truly lovely place. Will ho again

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    57
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
64
58
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

In my view you can stay anywhere in Bermuda as their bus service is amazing so it is easy to get around no matter where you stay. If you like the "city" life and a more bustling pace or nightlife then stay in Hamilton. St George is a historic district with very old buildings. It is smaller, quieter, beautiful. If you like this type of place then stay here. The St George's Club has units for timeshare exchange as well as rentals. It is in a great location as you walk down 2 minutes to the main street; 2 more minutes to the bus stop and 5 more minutes to the main grocery store. There are no rental cars on the island. You can walk through the town and do your own sightseeing. We stayed in a timeshare exchange 2 bedroom unit, 2 floors, Saturday check-in - they all have the same layout; the master bedroom is upstairs - the sleeping area has 2 closets, a king bed, and 2 desks; go up 2 steps to the open area of the bathroom that has a sunken bathtub and a huge 2 sink vanity; the toilet and shower are closed off behind a door. They provide standard toiletries. The layout is quite nice but as others have stated the wear and tear is showing. The shower was great and the toilets flushed powerfully. The beds were very comfortable. Linens were clean and plentiful. We got maid service on Wednesday and linen exchange. We had an amazing maid. The living room was small with a couch, love seat and coffee table. Not very comfy. There were 4 adults and it was a tight fit. The dining room just fit the table and chairs so again if there are more than 4 people you will be over each other. The kitchen is very small and there were not a lot of dishes etc. If you do not cook then it is perfect for doing a light breakfast, coffee etc. We cook some meals for health reasons so we found we had to keep doing dishes and pots. There is a full stove with oven, full fridge, toaster, coffee maker, diswasher, kettle. The granite countertop looked like it had been replaced. They provide coffee filters, salt and black pepper. There is a patio off the kitchen with a table and 4 chairs - great place to sit and enjoy the outdoors. Contrary to what I read there are NO units with washers and dryers. There is a washer and dryer in the common area but it was not working when we went so everyone was doing laundry by hand and hanging it outside to dry. The second bedroom is next to the kitchen and has 2 beds, desks 2 closets and the bathroom is closed door with shower, toilet, vanity. Wifi was not available most times and when it was - it was very slow.

There is an onsite restaurant for breakfast and dinner. We had dinner there and it was great. There are 2 pools but it was too cold for us to use. The golf course has been left to run wild but it is a great spot for an after dinner walk - you can see a great sunset from there. You can see a sunrise from the units facing the bay. I was told only owners ever got these units but I walked to those units and got great photos. There is a computer in the lobby for guest use but know that you cannot print anything. The staff was courteous, friendly. The units are scattered over the hillside and awkward to lug suitcases but what was really nice is that they deliver your luggage to your unit and bring it down when you check out. You get a welcome drink and they host a cocktial evening. Check in was quick and easy - they are organized. You have to pay a mandatory fee $60 per person that is used for food in their restaurant as well as a cleaning fee, $80. Not too happy about these but if you stay here you will pay. Beware - you have to use your restaurant fee by midnight Friday night or you lose it. We heard some guests arguing and upset as they thought they could use it for breakfast Saturday morning.

The bakery in town has the most amazing cinnamon buns and baked goods - you must go!

Room Tip: from my experience you take what you get - we asked for oceanview but was told only owners get those
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel grounds are beautiful and the room was well maintained and excellent. Service provided during the booking process was very good. Located in the town of St. George's is an added advantage as there is a lot to see and several bars and restaurants. Highly recommend a stay at St. George's Club!

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a family of four with two timeshare ownerships, we found ourselves wanting to join not another corporate operation but a private, pedigree circle. And, if that’s not explicit enough, my family spent a day in Hamilton, a day at the Dockyard and five days at the Club, where customer focus was measured and consumer serenity was observed.

You see with invested staff, it became easier to open up to other visitors at august events. While there for a week, my family formed relationships with three families. And in light conversation, we collated our vacation experiences with complex amenities and concurred that it was amazing to see the variety of venues for each thing (pool, restaurant, etc.) because the owners wanted to suit all types of visitors’ needs. We also discussed our adventures on the island but each found ourselves relaying back to the thrice intended word, principal. St. George is the premise of islanders’ purpose; it is the reception of Bermudians’ passion; and it is the price-point of every consumer.

Class is an exceptional thing to have, and the accommodations certainly fit the inferred bill. Our two bedroom cottage was spaciously cut, cleanly adjusted, hospitably prepared, technologically sound and visually centric.

Overall, it was a wonderful stay at the St. George’s club; simply an affinity that neither can be replicated nor missed. Take the chance; we believe you’ll want the experience in perpetuity.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you need to be in St George's Bermuda this is the place to stay. Lovely grounds, beautiful views, lots of walking trails through the old golf course along the ocean, wonderful pools. Units were very clean and newly renovated, staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent shuttle service. Internet was intermittent as expected in an island.
Only negative was food at Griffin was underwhelming. I recommend The Tempest restaurant. FABULOUS!

Room Tip: Bring a sleep mask if you don't like lit bedrooms. We had an outdoor light right outside my bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We (2 couples) spent 9 days at the St. George's Club in early April, and were very pleased with almost every aspect of the place. It's a relatively quick taxi ride from the airport (about $20 one-way), and check-in was quick and painless. Arriving guests leave their bags at Reception, or just outside, and they are brought to the cottages, because getting there involves walking up a pretty steep path. We had cottage #15, which had a decent if not spectacular view.

The cottage has a full kitchen (which we didn't use much), plus a dishwasher and microwave. There is one bedroom and bath on the main floor, and one upstairs. My wife and I had the upstairs room, which had a queen or king bed and a shower and big bathtub. (The bathtub has a large window directly in front of it, so you might want to pull the shade first!) There are window airconditioning units in the living room and both bedrooms.

The upstairs got a little stuffy, and the a/c up there wasn't really working, but after the first day it wasn't an issue, because we simply opened the windows and let the delicious breeze cool the room -- perfect sleeping weather. I imagine it might be a little more of a problem in July or August, but in April it was perfect.

There is a $60 per person minimum charge for Griffin's, which is easy to use in one visit. The food is good, if not spectacular, and service is generally good. Griffin's serves the traditional Bermuda fish chowder, which others in our party liked but I found a little strange (I liked it better without the sherry pepper sauce and rum). The Garden Café, which serves lunch (and breakfast on Saturdays), is also good. The lobster roll is a bit pricy, but after all, it's Bermuda. My personal favorite on the lunch menu was the club sandwich. It seems everything comes with French fries, which are very tasty, but it would be nice to have the option of having a small salad instead. Bruno, the combination maitre d'hôtel, server, and who knows what else, has a great personality and does his best to make everyone a satisfied customer.

The property is immaculately maintained, and it's an easy walk down Rose Hill to the town of St. George, which has a number of restaurants and shops. The supermarket is also down the hill, at the other end of town (a whole 10-minute walk). The Club's shuttle will drop off and pick up in St. George, and it also does trips to the Beach House, an affiliated restaurant (and beach) about a 15-minute drive away. (It's also possible to walk to the Beach House, but it's very easy to get lost.) The Beach House serves essentially the same menu as Griffin's, and all restaurants are closed on Wednesdays.

All in all, we had an enjoyable week at the Club. The only nagging negative was that although there is free wi-fi, it is so slow as to be useless. We were able to connect by bringing our devices to the lobby, but when we went back to our cottages we were not able to do anything, even though the devices still showed "connected." Even in the lobby, the connection was agonizingly slow. "Premium" wi-fi is available for a fee, but the woman at the front desk said it still would not be fast enough for streaming or downloading video. This is a relatively small dissatisfier, but in this day and age we have come to expect decent wi-fi as a standard amenity.

Room Tip: Cottages on the east side of the property are likely to have better harbor views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My stay was just awful. The only reason why I am giving this hotel 2 stars is because of the beautiful view from the hotel. Other than that, the hotel was just plain awful. The concierge was never at her desk, she was either always on break or smoking outside. The tennis court was unfinished and there is no fence surrounding it. The food at Griffins was under cooked. They offered me complementary champagne when I arrived, and after I drank it, I was too sick to leave my room. The room had a weird smell. Housekeeping would not clean up properly. They would not pick up all the towels off the bathroom or do any vaccuming. I recommend staying at Grotto Bay or another resort in Bermuda.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKyle, Owner at The St. George's Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are sorry that your experience was not what we all would have liked. We are perplexed at your comments as we were never advised of your issues when you were on property. Your comments regarding the tennis courts are also confusing as the courts were being resurfaced and repaired and these were completed and not opened until late April with new lights, new surface and of course new fencing. We had to focus on repairing the cottage units, roofs, pergolas and other infrastructure before we addressed the tennis courts. We would be happy to hear from you directly to see how we can make up and address your complaints but your visit to The St. George's Club and Griffin's Bistro was not typical and we would be happy to invite you back so that you can give us an opportunity to correct your perception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The St. George's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. George's Club

Address: 6 Rose Hill | Located in World Heritige Site, St. George GE05, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > St. George's Parish > St. George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. George's Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on Rose Hill overlooking the World Heritage Site of the old town of St. George and it historic harbour is The St. George's Club. The Club is an enclave of seventy-one (71)One and Two Bedroom cottage hotel suites that are available for rent or vacation ownership. The Club boasts three swimming pools (one heated in the cooler months), two floodlit tennis courts, and fitness centre. Two restaurants on property Griffin's Bistro and Bar in the main Clubhouse and five (5) minutes away on the across the bordering golf course in the shadow of Fort St. Catherine is secluded Achilles' Bay and the beach facility The Beach House. This restaurant and bar boasts a great menu, good wine and one of the best views of the sunset on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The St. George's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. George`s Club Hotel St. George
St Georges Club Bermuda
St George Club Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. George's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.