We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, cozy place out of the hustle and bustle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. George's Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The St. George's Club to your Saves list
The St. George's Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Rose Hill | Located in World Heritige Site, St. George GE05, Bermuda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Updated decor!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. George
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Comfortable, cozy place out of the hustle and bustle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We (2 couples) spent 9 days at the St. George's Club in early April, and were very pleased with almost every aspect of the place. It's a relatively quick taxi ride from the airport (about $20 one-way), and check-in was quick and painless. Arriving guests leave their bags at Reception, or just outside, and they are brought to the cottages, because getting there involves walking up a pretty steep path. We had cottage #15, which had a decent if not spectacular view.

The cottage has a full kitchen (which we didn't use much), plus a dishwasher and microwave. There is one bedroom and bath on the main floor, and one upstairs. My wife and I had the upstairs room, which had a queen or king bed and a shower and big bathtub. (The bathtub has a large window directly in front of it, so you might want to pull the shade first!) There are window airconditioning units in the living room and both bedrooms.

The upstairs got a little stuffy, and the a/c up there wasn't really working, but after the first day it wasn't an issue, because we simply opened the windows and let the delicious breeze cool the room -- perfect sleeping weather. I imagine it might be a little more of a problem in July or August, but in April it was perfect.

There is a $60 per person minimum charge for Griffin's, which is easy to use in one visit. The food is good, if not spectacular, and service is generally good. Griffin's serves the traditional Bermuda fish chowder, which others in our party liked but I found a little strange (I liked it better without the sherry pepper sauce and rum). The Garden Café, which serves lunch (and breakfast on Saturdays), is also good. The lobster roll is a bit pricy, but after all, it's Bermuda. My personal favorite on the lunch menu was the club sandwich. It seems everything comes with French fries, which are very tasty, but it would be nice to have the option of having a small salad instead. Bruno, the combination maitre d'hôtel, server, and who knows what else, has a great personality and does his best to make everyone a satisfied customer.

The property is immaculately maintained, and it's an easy walk down Rose Hill to the town of St. George, which has a number of restaurants and shops. The supermarket is also down the hill, at the other end of town (a whole 10-minute walk). The Club's shuttle will drop off and pick up in St. George, and it also does trips to the Beach House, an affiliated restaurant (and beach) about a 15-minute drive away. (It's also possible to walk to the Beach House, but it's very easy to get lost.) The Beach House serves essentially the same menu as Griffin's, and all restaurants are closed on Wednesdays.

All in all, we had an enjoyable week at the Club. The only nagging negative was that although there is free wi-fi, it is so slow as to be useless. We were able to connect by bringing our devices to the lobby, but when we went back to our cottages we were not able to do anything, even though the devices still showed "connected." Even in the lobby, the connection was agonizingly slow. "Premium" wi-fi is available for a fee, but the woman at the front desk said it still would not be fast enough for streaming or downloading video. This is a relatively small dissatisfier, but in this day and age we have come to expect decent wi-fi as a standard amenity.

Room Tip: Cottages on the east side of the property are likely to have better harbor views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    54
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
61
57
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My stay was just awful. The only reason why I am giving this hotel 2 stars is because of the beautiful view from the hotel. Other than that, the hotel was just plain awful. The concierge was never at her desk, she was either always on break or smoking outside. The tennis court was unfinished and there is no fence surrounding it. The food at Griffins was under cooked. They offered me complementary champagne when I arrived, and after I drank it, I was too sick to leave my room. The room had a weird smell. Housekeeping would not clean up properly. They would not pick up all the towels off the bathroom or do any vaccuming. I recommend staying at Grotto Bay or another resort in Bermuda.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKyle, Owner at The St. George's Club, responded to this review, yesterday
We are sorry that your experience was not what we all would have liked. We are perplexed at your comments as we were never advised of your issues when you were on property. Your comments regarding the tennis courts are also confusing as the courts were being resurfaced and repaired and these were completed and not opened until late April with new lights, new surface and of course new fencing. We had to focus on repairing the cottage units, roofs, pergolas and other infrastructure before we addressed the tennis courts. We would be happy to hear from you directly to see how we can make up and address your complaints but your visit to The St. George's Club and Griffin's Bistro was not typical and we would be happy to invite you back so that you can give us an opportunity to correct your perception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnation, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have been owners for almost twenty years plus we have traded and rented for extra weeks. Surely Sally has the patience of Job when she listens to and reads comments like "asy051 - Give 'um slack because of hurricanes". We were there during the two hurricanes. Of course windows/doors may leak in sustained 150 mile hour winds. There were also tornadoes in those hurricanes.. The pools were not unusable as we swam in the large pool the morning after each storm. As for the steps, lighting and other problems a call to Housekeeping/Maintenance is answered and usually fixed that day As for "this is supposed to be one of the best places to stay in St Georges", lets be clear - its the only place available in St Georges. You can pay more for places on the other side of the island - or rent a room from Grotto Bay with far less to offer.
As for Griffin's restaurant - best view, best service (thanks Bruno) and best food in St George. Period.
In summary: Since getting rid of RCI which ran the club into the ground - Sally has slowly rebuilt the club each year. Noticeable positive changes each year and we appreciate her efforts. Many timeshares have more impressive rooms and front lobbies. But if you want a pleasant, comfortable cottage - a home away from home - with an owner willing to sit down with you and discuss your concerns - The St George's Club is a breath of fresh air.
Special thanks to Tressa Nichols, Resort Sales - always helpful and able to answer questions when Sally and other supervisors are not available.

Room Tip: Beautiful views from all cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Our winter getaway week was very nice, thanks to very helpful staff, a nice property (with possibly the best view over the historic town on the property, in #29B) and easy access to St George's. The staff were helpful at planning day trips with us, and provided crutches when one of us sprained an ankle. Food on site was excellent. It was off season, so things were quiet, but the location is hands down the winner, if the architectural and historical heritage of the town playing out beneath your feet under changing light is of any interest.

Room Tip: Units on the east side offer beautiful hillside views over the town and harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Why would a place be open if they could not provide all the amenities to your stay?
We stayed in a cottage that had not been cleaned properly until mid-stay. Furniture was old,
no heat in second bedroom, poor lighting set-up, but plenty of signs asking guests to conserve water(rightfully so). We had 2 gale strength storms while there and the roof leaked, but supposedly it was really the sliding doors which always leaked in storms, so no fix. Used pool towels to soak up drips, since pools were unusable because of the weather. Outside step to cottage had loose tiles that moved when you stepped on them. Inadequate lighting on walkways, could not see steps. This is supposed to be one of the best places to stay in St Georges. In reality all we can recommend is Griffin's restaurant, which is not run by the hotel.

Room Tip: Cottages hire up have better views, but a walk to get to. Ask for Frank, the taxi driver, to take y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

We were very fortunate to be able to use our RCI exchange for this property. If you are looking for a big town experience, Hamilton might be better but we were very pleased with the town, accommodation, location, staff and restaurant. We arrived after dark and after the front desk closed so the night guard helped us find our unit. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a lower unit on the bluff above town, 27a.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Traded our Williamsburg timeshare through RCI and were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of this property. Two bedroom villa right on the golf course, with beautiful views of the surrounding area. Tranquil location at the far end of the island, a bit of a drive from Hamilton, but away from the tourist hustle and bustle. Rented motor scooters and had a blast exploring. Very nice accommodations, pool, restaurant and staff. Thank you for a perfect family vacation!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. George's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. George's Club

Address: 6 Rose Hill | Located in World Heritige Site, St. George GE05, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > St. George's Parish > St. George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. George's Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on Rose Hill overlooking the World Heritage Site of the old town of St. George and it historic harbour is The St. George's Club. The Club is an enclave of seventy-one (71)One and Two Bedroom cottage hotel suites that are available for rent or vacation ownership. The Club boasts three swimming pools (one heated in the cooler months), two floodlit tennis courts, and fitness centre. Two restaurants on property Griffin's Bistro and Bar in the main Clubhouse and five (5) minutes away on the across the bordering golf course in the shadow of Fort St. Catherine is secluded Achilles' Bay and the beach facility The Beach House. This restaurant and bar boasts a great menu, good wine and one of the best views of the sunset on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The St. George's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. George`s Club Hotel St. George
St Georges Club Bermuda
St George Club Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. George's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.