We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the rough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. George's Club

Save Saved
You added The St. George's Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The St. George's Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Rose Hill, St. George GE05, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. George
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A gem in the rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

St. George's Club cottages are in the process of being renovated. We were not one of the lucky one's but the view and the staff that addressed our issues were 5* The property sits high on the hill with views of the bay,short walk to the center where there are restaurants, a supermarket and lots of little shops Walk to the ferry is 5 minutes, we walked to the beach, albeit rather hilly on a hot day but there is always a free shuttle available to the beach and the supermarket. The staff is very attentive and they have a taxi waiting for you at the airport with your name on their dockit. ($20) 1st resort that we stayed thru II that charges $60 pp to spend on Griffin's Restaurant, didn't expect much but was pleasant surprised will submit review after dinner. St.George's club is a very nice resort with 3 pools,tennis courts, and bocci. .This was a last minute vacatioon for us and one that we were pleasantly surprised with

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    46
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
48
47
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

St. Georges Club is probably the best value and best location in Bermuda. Our family and friends stayed in 2 cottages both were 2 bedrooms that slept 6 people (2 on sofa bed), and were excellent! One overlook the golf course and the other St. George Harbor. A short walk to excellent restaurants in St. George, plus Griffin's Restaurant at the Club which was excellent. We visit Bermuda every year, and ever get tired of the crystal clear water, un-crowded pink sand beaches, and St. Georges Club!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at The St. George's Club in St. George's Bermuda for 1 week. We were not sure what to expect as the reviews were mixed but we were very happy with our unit, our stay in general and the staff. Dee Dee the supervisor went above and beyond to make our stay memorable and we will definitely return. Amy and Marleeka were also pleasant and helpful. Marleeka in particular always had a welcoming smile and made us feel right at home.The grounds were well manicured and meticulously maintained. We stayed in an upstairs 1 br unit (unit 28B) which afforded a lovely view of the harbor thanks again to Dee Dee!!! The unit was clean, furnishings in great condition. The king sized bed afforded ample sleeping comfort and the bedroom was adequately furnished double closet and chest of drawers. The bathroom had a separate shower and large soaking tub. The livingroom had a charcoal grey convertible sleep sofa and a greenish colored armed chair. There was also a blue wooden table with 2 chairs to form an eat in area just outside the kitchen which was equipped with stainless steel refrigerator and dishwasher. Other amenities included a self standing microwave, coffeemaker, and standard cutlery, dishes, etc. The unit was painted pale yellow which made me feel like I was on an island. (Bright but not too bright, and airy). I would say the unit was quite comfortable for two people and if you had two children staying with you it would be fine. I think it would be a bit cramped for 4 adults in my opinion. The unit was about a 3 minute walk to the town of St. George which contained several historic sights and a few restaurants.

The Resort provided free shuttle service to the nearby beach - Achilles Bay and the town. Besides that, the Resort did not provide any organized activities for the week. I have reviewed the Griffin restaurant separately.

We thoroughly enjoyed our week there and look forward to reconnecting with our new found friends at St. George's Club.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We battled way too many bugs in our unit (#15) on a daily, often hourly, basis. These were primarily small cockroaches and tiny ants. During our one week there, we probably killed about 50 half to one inch cockroaches and hundreds of quarter inch ants. Who knows how many we didn't even see. We understand this is an island resort and we have stayed at many resorts in other countries through RCI and on our own. We have never encountered any resort units that had nearly as many bugs as the St. George's Club. Even after we personally bought and used three bug foggers one day (at a cost of $26 from Somers Supermarket) and the maintenance department fumigated the unit later during the middle of our stay, we still had bugs walking on the walls, draperies, floors, and tables up to the day we left. The units appear to provide open access to the outside in several places mainly around the AC units, sliding doors, and windows. Also, some common sense changes might be helpful such as sealing all holes around the AC units, closed (not swinging) kitchen garbage containers, covering the wide open garbage container in the adjoining outside utility room, removing the toaster or providing a toaster cover, and installing a sink disposal to grind food instead of a simple drain which holds food for bugs to eat. Unfortunately, we did not look forward to coming "home" to the unit at the end of each day. You know this must be an ongoing problem when there is a nearly empty bug spray can waiting for you in the unit when you arrive at the beginning of your stay along with a full can waiting for you to use right next to it. On a daily basis, we saw more cockroaches and ants on the inside of the unit during the few hours in the late afternoon and evening than on the outside of the unit while touring during the rest of the day at restaurants, stores, and Bermuda attractions. On the positive side, the front staff was extremely understanding and helpful. We got the impression they felt there was not much they could do. They may be right since there may be a broader bug problem at the resort than they are able to handle. Unfortunately, even though there are many positives to St. George's Club, in good conscience we could not recommend it for anyone to stay there until their bug problems inside the units are addressed more seriously than the scheduled monthly spraying. It appears the resort needs the help of a professional exterminator or two to walk through the units and the entire resort to point out the likely causes of the bug infestations inside the units. This is too nice of a resort overall for guests and staff to have to deal with these serious bug issues.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKyle, Manager at The St. George's Club, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for you positive and negative comments. Living in and operating in Bermuda does have its challenges and we do have a pest control service every week. The weather when you visited was perfect for our ants to run a mock (not just at The Club) but it was quickly controlled after we had rain (water) that they were desperately seeking. All resorts and hotels on the island had this issue. With respect to the other pest you mention, we can say that we do not have that issue very often and only when guests leave out food but we did check your cottage based on this review and did not find any. So all we can say is we are sorry if you had an issue. It is one that any Bermudian is able to deal with as we grow up with them. A point to note is they are not indigenous but were introduced by man from the mainland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iqaluit, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Me and my fiancé booked a last minute trip to Bermuda, he did all the booking and I didn't really know anything about the St. Georges Club. We stayed here for 5 days and we were happy with everything, the view from our room was gorgeous (we were in 57B) - we had a one bed room cottage with a nice spacious bathroom with a separate bathtub/shower. If you like to just go about your own way and are looking for something other than a hotel - this is the place to go. Although, there are some ants in the cottage that they need to get rid of, also the Wi-Fi absolutely sucks - they really need to upgrade it! We didn't spend too much time during the day at the club - we were busy driving around and enjoying the beaches. We spent every evening in the pool - people complained that the pools were cold but we were comfortable, I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: 57B! Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This property was once a highly rated and highly regarded spot. Members shared their frustration around ever increasing fees and the slow decline of the property.
Many people have returned each year during the same week and everyone was very friendly. We stayed with friends that knew the island well and had a wonderful time. The condo was comfortable and there was plenty of room. The restaurant on property was closed during our brief stay. The pools were well kept as were the grounds. The buildings are in need of updating which appeared to be typical of a number of resorts on the island. Bermuda is a very special place. I had forgotten how beautiful it was. It was nice to return and spend time with lovely people in a lovely place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I booked a last minute trip to Bermuda, and St George's Club was a perfect fit for us as we hadn't spent much time in the St George's area on our previous trips, and we looking for a quiet non-hotel experience. The staff were very helpful on our check in, and we made our way to our cottage (57B). We were impressed with the size and layout of the rom, as it was rustic and homey, which is what we were looking for. We had a great view of St George's Harbour and a nice view of the sun rise.

The pools at the hotel are comfortable, and we would spend most of our time in the pool at night after touring around during the day. Some people complained about the temperature of the water in the pool, but come on, they're not hot tubs! The food at the Beach House was very good, and the view of the sunset is unsurpassed. I was also very impressed at the service at Griffins: my girlfriend and I were exhausted after spending the day out on the water and only wanted in room service. The chef made me an off-the-menu fish sandwich without any hassle at all.

The only complaints that I would have about the St George's Coub are the following:

A) the internet/wifi service. It is terrible, and unacceptable for 2014. Update your internet, it will go a long way.

B) Ants. There were some ants in our cottage. We didn't eat very much in our room, but if we did the ants would have been an issue. Set some ant traps.

C) taxi service early in the morning. If you are on one of the early morning American Airlines flights, book a taxi the night before. We didn't do this, and we were almost late for the flight. The front desk person was not helpful at all.

All in all, I would recommend staying at St George's Club despite these downsides.

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. George's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. George's Club

Address: 6 Rose Hill, St. George GE05, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > St. George's Parish > St. George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The St. George's Club 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the World Heritage Site of the old town harbour is The St. George’s Club. An enclave of vacation/ownership cottages, The Club boasts three swimming pools, three tennis courts (two with lighting), fitness centre and scooter rental. We have two restaurants on property Griffin's Bistro and Bar in the main Clubhouse and five (5) minutes away on the across the bordering golf course is our secluded beach facility The Beach House, our restaurant and bar which boasts a great menu and good wine with one of the best views of the sunset on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The St. George's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. George`s Club Hotel St. George
St Georges Club Bermuda
St George Club Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. George's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.