We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time to Bermuda and we Loved the Club !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. George's Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The St. George's Club to your Saves list
The St. George's Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Rose Hill, St. George GE05, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. George
Long Island City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“1st time to Bermuda and we Loved the Club !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Check in is rough - the keep you out until 4 pm and are serious. We arrived with our 1 year old and they did their best to get us in a bit early with some light proddingl. Overall our experience was fantastic. The "free" wi-fi stunk which is why they push to sell you high-speed access at $50 per week. The restaurants were wonderful, a bit over-priced but you pay for the convenience of it all. The short walk to town, the free local walking tours and free local resort shuttle was awesome too. I'd give it 5 stars but the furniture is old, dated and stanky. The beds were comfy and the kitchen was fully stocked. So, once a couple days passed, we realised that Wahoo's in tow was the best bargain for food (lunch and dinner) and only a 5 minute walk (with stroller). The Resort was pretty and well kept. The pools were clean and ours was located at the center of 10 units surrounding it in a circle. Amy, DeeDee and Marleeka are sweet at the front desk - but be polite or be treated the same back !! We are already booking a return trip. 90 minute flight from JFK and you go thru Customs on the return to NY in Bermuda so you just land in NYC and go right outside like it was a local state flight - AMAZING.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    49
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
56
53
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Danvers, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We recently traded our Marriott timeshare for a stay at the St George club. We arrived on a cold, windy rainy Saturday. Had to wait three hours for check in but check in time was four so I can over look that. When the room was ready it was just a wave of the arm" up the hill you will find it". As first time visitors a little walk with us and point some things out would have been nice.

Was a little disappointed in the furnishings. Lots of mold on the living room ceiling and the curtains on the slider to the patio were shabby, torn with lots of threads just hanging down. The furniture was more camp like or maybe call it shabby chic. A TV in the bed room would of been nice. The towels were average but the bed was comfortable. The kitchen had plenty to cook with.

The pool area and the grounds were clean and well kept. I actually didn't even mind the $60pp food charge because we enjoyed our meals at Griffins and especially enjoyed chatting a few nights with Ross. He was a delight. Restaurant and bar is not open every night so plan accordingly .

We had a great week and enjoyed our stay. The area is very quiet both here and in the town which is a short five minute walk away. They provide a free shuttle to the town and the beach and both the drivers were pleasant.

On the morning of departure we asked for help with our bags. The reply was you called for your own taxi so let him get your bags. The driver was a senior citizen as we are so the three of us lugged the suit cases and golf clubs over the stairs and down the hill. Surely there must of been a young fellow around who would of liked a tip for five minutes work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKyle, Manager at The St. George's Club, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry your experience at Front Desk was not what it should have been. We have discussed this with our staff and made sure that other people will not have the same experience. This is not the impression we wish you or anyone to have of our resort and the island so if given the opportunity we will make sure that you see proper Bermudian hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

we spent one week at st georges oct 5 to oct 12. the place was somewhat rundown and needed some tlc,broken screen door,dresser drawer not closing properly.The shuttle driver dropped us off half a killometer from where we wanted to go stateing this is as far as I go.Saw him sleeping twice in front of the resort sitting in the drivers seat .On the bright side the counter staff were friendly and helpful.The fee for griffins is a money grab and foolish when compared to other available options.We cannot recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

my wife gave me a trip with her to this place. St george club in St George bermuda. there is so much I want to say but I am going to focis on the good stuff.
beautiful island
Dee Dee at the front desk as her staff was great
the bartender Ross was wonderful
we are walkers so we walked everywhere.
when we arrived it was pouring and it was raining inside of our room. sometimes there is nothing that can be done about that so I called the front desk and they put us in a different room better view then the first. don't look for problems instead find solutions. we could have been up set, right?
got to our new room and the railing on the porch was loose. called the front desk, went for a walk, upon returning it was fixed. don't worry be happy. I think everything in Bermuda is too expensive but if you are a smart travel and don't mind experience local life then you can find an inexpensive place to eat. we travel all over by bus and I was particular impressed with the respect that the people of bermuda have for each other and visitors. we rode on busy hours as well as late hours and the kindenss was the same. We could look at the bad thing but we choose to look at the good things instead.the people of bermuda are very friendly. it is a very safe place to be. to us St george was romantic, and vey quaint. Hamilton is a fantastic city and the beaches are the best I have seen. os visit bermuda with an open mind expect that sometimes not everything is perfect but you have the choice to make things as good as you like. yes we had some bad experience especially after we left the Club and needed to stay at another place for one night. it was like muphy's law nothing was going right but yet we made the best of our final day. it felt so good to be joined by a local family and we share our beers and they share they typical breakfast of Cod and potatoes. so people just enjoy life and spoil yourself whenever you can.
finally a thanks to my woderful wife of 26 years who made me walk the whole islanf by foot LOL.
don't sweat the small stuff. enjoy life. nothing is perfect it is best sometimes to go with the flow
godd vacations everyone

Room Tip: upper rooms they have better views such as 56B or any of the room with B
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was my 25th year coming to the St. George's Club and the biggest surprise was the quality and presentation of the food being served at Griffins. I haven't been back to Griffins for years but gave it another go after finding our that Piero had taken over managing Griffin's as well as The Beach House. I'm only sorry that I decided to eat there on one of our last nights in Bermuda. The night we ate they had a special menu which reminded me of my trip to Rome. I am looking forward to returning to one of the most beautiful islands in the world and dinning at Griffin's again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a week here with our family celebrating our 50th Anniversary! This is a great location, best part of the island. St Georges's Club is overlooking the town and the bay. Beautiful sunrises every morning. The staff is wonderful, especially Dee Dee, she has been here 25+ years. We had a week here we will never forget. Ah, Bermuda!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

So, so sad to see what is happening to this beautiful island! So very expensive & not worth it. They do not seem to have got it that you need value for money & to make people welcome plus more to do. Every year club cottages need repairs that are not done.Staff & cleaning excecllent. $60 subsidy charge for food is best used for lunch or breakfast. Take dinner in town at WAHOO for far better prices & plate size. Reading some of the other reviews I wonder if l have been coming to same place!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. George's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. George's Club

Address: 6 Rose Hill, St. George GE05, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > St. George's Parish > St. George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The St. George's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the World Heritage Site of the old town harbour is The St. George’s Club. An enclave of vacation/ownership cottages, The Club boasts three swimming pools, three tennis courts (two with lighting), fitness centre and scooter rental. We have two restaurants on property Griffin's Bistro and Bar in the main Clubhouse and five (5) minutes away on the across the bordering golf course is our secluded beach facility The Beach House, our restaurant and bar which boasts a great menu and good wine with one of the best views of the sunset on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The St. George's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. George`s Club Hotel St. George
St Georges Club Bermuda
St George Club Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. George's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.