We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort.... Dee Dee is a gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. George's Club

Save Saved
You added The St. George's Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The St. George's Club
6 Rose Hill, St. George GE05, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in St. George
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort.... Dee Dee is a gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Four of us came here thru RCI right after my nursing school graduation. It looks just like the pictures. Before we even went into the room, we were so impressed by Dee Dee at the front desk who is so down to earth and genuinely nice. Because this vacation was during the month of December, the resort was somewhat empty, Dee Dee upgraded us to a two bedroom which was awesome! The scooter rental place is right on the right on the resort.... YOU MUST RENT A SCOTER! We had a blast "exploring"! The weather was sunny but somewhat cold, so not swimming for us. This was my second trip to Bermuda with the first one on a cruise ship. I like flying in and staying more than cruising.

Because EVERYTHING is so expensiive in Bermuda, we ate in most days with a fully stocked kitchen. But we would often head down to Wahoo's for drinks. (have the cappuccino martini) And say hi to the guys for us! Bartender and his brother, usually there most nights.

The resort is beautiful! I have no reservations about saying... stay there. But... lock up your scooter, and don't forget to take the key in with you. Ours got stolen... which is not uncommon, and you quickly understand why insurance is not optional. It's an island, it'll turn up!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    64
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
70
57
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It's was our 4th visit in 10 years to the St George's club in Bermuda through an RCI exchange. While the grounds and units themselves are wonderful, the economy as a whole is taking its toll on on Bermuda in general and has really hurt the port of St George's and the amenities at the club. The $60 per person charge was only allowed to be used at Griffins restaurant and bar, which unfortunately was only open 4 days of the seven that we were there (last week in May). The only night we want to the restaurant was a disappointment in both the quality of the food and the the service (not one time did the waiter visit the table, we only ever saw the assistant). We spend the week traveling on scooters, so get to almost every beach there is. If it was not one of the most popular beaches (read extremely crowded), it was often lacking in cleanliness and upkeep. The shops were almost never open after 4:00 in St George's, and the ones in Hamilton were not very good quality.

The one bright spot for beaches was Coopers Reserve out by the airport that were virtually empty, extremely clean, and fantastic for swimming and snorkeling. The other bright spot for restaurants was Wahoo's restaurant in St. George's. Excellent food and excellent service, so good that we want there twice!

Unfortunately, this may be our last trip to Bermuda for a while, it is time to try some other places!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKyle, Manager at The St. George's Club, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are sorry that your trip to The St. George's Club was not up to par. One thing we have done since you were last at the resort was outsource our restaurants to a new company and they set the opening hours. The Beach House is open seven days a week and Griffin's only four days because most people spend time at Achilles' Bay at this time of year. Our feedback on the new arrangement is very positive however and the Trip Advisor pages for both those facilities do echo the feedback. Your comment regarding the minimum is also welcomed but we have had that in place for Griffin's for much more than ten years so it is not a new thing. Bermuda and The St. George's Club needs feedback to allow us to understand what is needed to attract more tourists and we are all working diligently to make that happen. While cruise ships are one part of it, they are only a small part. We hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future to show you what has been done to reverse the trend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We have three weeks time share,now the first three weeks in March.weather is variable & not under local control.we have been visiting for ten years,the development is twenty six years in operation.In this bad financial time they continue to upgrade now having free wifi. But you pay for Internet access. In this price bracket this should be included. I cannot say enough about the staff , they work very hard to get things done, special mention should made of DeeDee Furbert the reservation manager. We found the food quality fair to medium realizing that we were there in shoulder season.things are slowly improving ,& I comment & support their efforts.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Overall a nice place. Beautiful grounds, the beach was awesome. The free shuttle to the beach and town is a great service, the drivers were very accommodating. The Concierge, Lorrie, was very knowledgeable and helpful.
The downside was a $60 dining charge per guest; use it or lose it, and an additional room cleaning charge.
On past visits we have stayed at Willowbank, The Reefs, and Elbow beach, this would be at the bottom of my list.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just returned from 7 wonderful days in Bermuda. We stayed at St, George's Club resort which sets at the highest point of a quaint little town on the south side of the island. The view from our room was specular overlooking a harbor that sets at the end of the island. St. George's Club is a nice resort however there were a few things that we found to be inconvenient. Each guest is required to pay $60 dollars for the use of the club restaurant and bar. This money can be used for any drinks and food you consume during your stay. It is very hard though to take advantage of these amenities because the it is only open a few days a week and when it is open you almost have to schedule your day around it. We actually didn't get the opportunity to eat at the restaurant until our last night there. The meal was excellent but expensive even though our $60 dollars went towards paying for it. A recommendation would be to have drinks and food available to patrons during the day when you are laying out by the pool. It would also be nice to have the music playing while laying out by the pool. Additionally it would have been nice to have the club restaurant and bar open in the evening during your whole stay so it's available after spending a full day touring the island. I think the club would find that keeping these hours and providing these amenities while patrons are using the pool or wanting to have a meal or drink during the evening that it would make the stay a lot more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I took our two girls for a week vacation. St. Georges club is, by far, the best timeshare vacation destination we've experienced. The property is beautiful and well kept. On arrival, we went to the clubhouse and had a complimentary glass of champagne while our bags were taken to our room for us. Our cottage was very clean and comfortable. The view from the deck was of the ocean and because the resort sits on a hill, you can see the downtown St. Georges. It was heritage week and we could hear the soft sounds of island music playing. We ate at the restaurant, Griffin, that night and the food was delicious. The next day we went to the private beach. There is a bar there and it was so peaceful and such a lovely view. It's too bad the golf course is no longer used. It is right behind the club. The staff was very helpful with all of our questions about the area. We rented scooters and bicycles from the store on the timeshare site. We saw the whole island on bikes. We bought fresh fish (wahoo) near the causeway and cooked it ourselves in the full kitchen. It was so fresh.

The only things that we thought was negative was the cleaning fee of $80.40 for the week and the $40.00 a week for the charcoal grill. We returned the charcoal grill and they reimbursed us. The other thing was the rooster that crowed outside our bedroom window every morning at 4:30am....and the crowing continued for hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just returned from another week of amazing views, the freshest of seafood and warm breezes at the St. George's Club. The cottages all have magnificent views and are close to pools, restaurants and within a 5 minute walk to the historical town of St. George ( a world heritage site )An easy ferry ride takes you across the island or take a bus into the capital of Bermuda ( Hamilton ) where you can find wonderful shopping. In St. George the people are friendly and there is much to see and do and Sunday they had music in the square. The two restaurants at the St. George Club offer excellent food and The Beach House location has the best sunsets ever seen! Do come and enjoy!!

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage overlooking the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. George's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. George's Club

Address: 6 Rose Hill, St. George GE05, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > St. George's Parish > St. George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the World Heritage Site of the old town harbour is The St. George’s Club. An enclave of vacation/ownership cottages, The Club boasts three swimming pools, three tennis courts (two with lighting), fitness centre and scooter rental. We have two restaurants on property Griffin's Bistro and Bar in the main Clubhouse and five (5) minutes away on the across the bordering golf course is our secluded beach facility The Beach House, our restaurant and bar which boasts a great menu and good wine with one of the best views of the sunset on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The St. George's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. George`s Club Hotel St. George
St Georges Club Bermuda
St George Club Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. George's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.