We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. George's Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The St. George's Club to your Saves list
The St. George's Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Rose Hill, St. George GE05, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. George
West Grove, PA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

St. Georges Club was a great place to stay.

Close to the airport so taxi was reasonable - cost $15 for four of us. Greeted by Dee Dee as the taxi dropped us off at the front. She tagged our bags and helped us with checkin. Bags were brought to our room within 15 minutes. Free champagne on Saturdays in the on-site restaurant. Room was great. I felt the kitchen was better stocked than most other timeshares we've stayed in such as there were large plastic mixing bowls with lids that I used to store left over food.

We were visited by roosters and had a fun time feeding them - even though there is a sign that says don't feed the chickens or cats :-) The second day the roosters were chased off by the three cats that visited us every day. Fed them too and loved it. My husband wasn't too thrilled that I sent him off to the grocery store to buy cat food.

Walking to town is steep steps or hills but we are young and didn't mind it. We did take advantage of the free shuttle too when my mom was going with us. Dave or Ryan are the drivers and were super nice. After dinner at a restaurant or at the grocery store you just ask them to call St. Georges Club to pick you up.

I was not thrilled that the resort mandates $60 per peson in the Griffins restaurant and you are charged this when you check in. However after going there - the food and service were excellent. I was so pleasantly surprised at how great the food was. We had local lobster, fish, chicken, lobster roll. All delicious.

The place is well kept and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    48
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
49
49
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a group of quaint lovely cottages. We stayed in a 2 bedroom that was every bit spacious and well appointed. A short walk to St George downtown for some places to eat and shop and of course grab a cocktail by the water. Wonderful friendly people at the club as well as throughout the island. Would definitely recommend the rental of mopeds to see the island and visit the wonderful outstanding beaches! None better anywhere...been to a lot of islands and I can certainly say that Bermuda is the prettiest, cleanest and most friendly of them all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the St. George's Club for our 1-week Bermuda vacation, and we will definitely stay there again! The facility was very well maintained -- a pleasant place to stay. The cottage we stayed in was clean and nice inside. The pool felt great in the summer heat, as did the A/C in the cottage. We made use of the kitchen in the cottage to cook breakfasts, which was convenient. The beds were really comfortable, housekeeping was thorough, nothing at all to complain about. Wireless internet was spotty from our cottage, but at the pool & clubhouse it was excellent. They are in the process of upgrading the system, so (for now) coverage is a bit patchy. Onsite moped rental is available through "Oleander Cycles", and for the less spry, there is a St. George's Club shuttle service covering some parts of St. George. The front desk is also very helpful with explaining the bus service and ferry options, which are both also very convenient ways to get around the island.

The resort appears to be primarily a timeshare place, but we found lodging there through an alternative booking. Most of the vacationers appeared to be slightly older folks, and (as younger people) we sometimes felt a little out of place; most of the staff were very helpful.

The town of St. George has preserved its quaint Bermudian atmosphere; we used the ferry system and mopeds to reach the rest of the island (a small place) and found St. George's to be a great launching point for our adventures.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

we love the location in quaint st george. good restaurants at the club and also downtown. they offer a shuttle to the beach and downtown at night too. the cottages have full kitchens, so you can eat in.

Room Tip: harbor fronted cottages have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton, ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We rented a cottage at St. George's Club through RCI and were very happy with our choice! Just a couple blocks from the awesome town of St George and we had a beautiful view of the harbor and the town!The steps to town were convenient and the property well maintained. The two pools were beautiful and the shuttle bus takes you wherever you want to go in the town. The bus stop is just a block away. Staff was friendly and helpful. Achilles Bay (which is owned by the Club) is great snorkeling and has comp lounge chairs for people staying at the Club! I saw lots of fish, an octopus and even some cuttle fish in the bay! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I agree with richter72. I was suprised at how outdated the furniture was, suprised there was not a TV in the main bedroom. I was afraid to ask for fear there would be an additional charge. The TV in the living room looked like it was a 27 inch. The rooms were clean as were the towels. However, we were suprised at the cleaning fee upon check out. Not that I play golf but the golf courses are not kept up and not being used. Sooo if golf is what you like you will not find it here. The food at Griffins was good at the however, you need to make reservations for dinner and they do not serve breakfast except on Saturdays. A non- alcholic pina colada was $9.00 in a small plastic cup. Our first day we sat by the pool and had champagne in glasses however, the next day we were given plastic and told glasses are not allowed at the pool. Also, there's a 17% tip added to your bill in all of the restaurants in Bermuda like it or not. Our first afternoon at the club we were not aware of the tipping fee being included so we also tipped the waitress. I'm sure she loved that. She never said a word. Popcorn and movie night was reduced to just a movie. Griffin's is not open on Wednesdays. The shuttle doesn't start running until 12:00 noon and if Blackbeard's is closed then the shuttle doesn't run. Blackbeards was closed two days while were were there. You would think that a resort that has a shuttle would have transportation the airport "not" at ST. Georges's club. You will need to take a Taxi and the cost will depend on the driver and what mood they are in. My suggestions for anyone is to pay close attention to the fine print so you avoid surprises.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We just returned from a fantastic week at the St George's Club. There were 3 of us on this trip, my husband, our 15 year old neice, and me. We were assigned a wonderful 2 bedroom cottage with an amazing view--thanks again, Dee Dee!! The cottage was very spacious and provided every amenity. Everything was spotless, the cottage, the pools, and the grounds.

The location was great, with a bus stop as well as the town of St George, just steps away. There's also a shuttle to take you to Achilles Bay and the fantastic Blackbeard's Hideaway restaurant. (David, the driver, was always there any time we needed him. He's almost magical!!) From there, it's a short walk to Tobacco Bay, which my husband claims is the best snorkeling anywere!
You'll find some really good restaurants in St George, but our favorites are right there at the St George Club, Blackbeard's and Griffins. We ate most of our meals at those two. Any seafood dish we got was delicious, but one night my husband got a steak at Griffins. I was a little concerned because Bermuda's not known for its beef, but what a surprise we had. It was incredible...As good as the upscale steak restaurants here! We also love the wahoo sandwich at Blackbeard's and will think about it all year! At the St George's Club you also have the option of cooking yourself, with a fully equipped kitchen, including a dishwasher and a grocery store on site.

We're so grateful to Dee Dee and the entire staff for everything. We'll definitely be returning to the St George Club next year, if at all possible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. George's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. George's Club

Address: 6 Rose Hill, St. George GE05, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > St. George's Parish > St. George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The St. George's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the World Heritage Site of the old town harbour is The St. George’s Club. An enclave of vacation/ownership cottages, The Club boasts three swimming pools, three tennis courts (two with lighting), fitness centre and scooter rental. We have two restaurants on property Griffin's Bistro and Bar in the main Clubhouse and five (5) minutes away on the across the bordering golf course is our secluded beach facility The Beach House, our restaurant and bar which boasts a great menu and good wine with one of the best views of the sunset on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The St. George's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. George`s Club Hotel St. George
St Georges Club Bermuda
St George Club Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. George's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.