We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice! Comfortable and Spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. George's Club

Save Saved
You added The St. George's Club to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The St. George's Club
6 Rose Hill, St. George GE05, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in St. George
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice! Comfortable and Spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This condo resort is quite lovely. Located on a hill in quiet St. George, Bermuda, it offers excellent views and a short, albeit vertical hike into the historic town below. The swimming pools are great - 2 small and 1 large enough for laps. The clubhouse has a really good higher end restaurant and bar, and a fitness center (we did not use). Units are nicely furnished and laid out. Full kitchens are in most of the units and and ours was very well stocked with cooking and dining utensils. The resort has a small (very) private beach with a free shuttle back and forth. There is also a more casual restaurant bar they run there with a lovely deck.

If you are looking for a big social scene, or lots of planned activities then this is not your kind of place. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, beautiful, comfortable place to just chill out or to explore on your own - this is it! Overall a great experience here. We loved the area, the grounds, and the views.

A very nice extra is that the staff delivers your luggage to your unit, picks it up for you at check out, and arranges your taxi to the airport!

Room Tip: There are many stairs everywhere. If you have trouble with that, I believe there are a few wheelcha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    64
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
70
58
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a group of quaint lovely cottages. We stayed in a 2 bedroom that was every bit spacious and well appointed. A short walk to St George downtown for some places to eat and shop and of course grab a cocktail by the water. Wonderful friendly people at the club as well as throughout the island. Would definitely recommend the rental of mopeds to see the island and visit the wonderful outstanding beaches! None better anywhere...been to a lot of islands and I can certainly say that Bermuda is the prettiest, cleanest and most friendly of them all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west newton
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I've been to Bermuda many times, and I am a huge fan. Eveything from the beauty, the golf courses, the history, the closeness to the U.S via plane, the managability, etc. I read a lot of reviews before we left, and people were disapppointed at the club from several years back. I do not have that to compare to, but I can assume what they are talking about, specifically the golf course. Unfortunately the golf course is now just overgrown fields, which is very sad, because some of the views from these holes are spectacular. My wife loved walking the golf course very early every morning. Excluding the golf course, eveything else was in good shape. The pools and tennis courts were nice. The gym was small, but had eveything you need. When we arrived, our condo was not ready, but they gave us champagne at the bar while we waited which was nice. Some reviews said that the ladies behind the desk were rude, we did not see that at all, they were very accomodating. We got our condo through RCI at a decent rate. We got a 2 bedroom, and it was awesome. We had a lock out with ours, so we had 2 baths, 2 decks, and 1.5 kitchens. The views from our decks were super, I have attached a couple pictures. I want a say we had 16b, but it seemed that most condos had views, there were a couple that didnt, which would bum me out if I went back. The A/C in August was huge. There is a scooter rental place right on the property, we rented one for the whole week which came in very handy. We met the owner of Griffin's(the restaurant at the club) and the beach house(the other restaurant tied to the club). He was a great guy, and his food was excellent. He's an italian and has tons of cooking and restaurant experience. Meeting and hanging out with him was an awesome bonus. The beach house(which was blackbeards) is a gem. It's on a knoll at the tip of the island, so there are multiple views of the ocean, the sunsets were incredible. We did a lot of research for restaurants and nothing beats the whole package of the beach house. I'll write up a review on it as well. The club has a free shuttle to the beach house. The town of St. George's is cool, although the lack of cruise ships has not helped. The shops and restuarants are still alive, but the island needs to help the foot traffic for the town somehow. We bought food and drinks for our condo at the small shop at the club, it wasnt cheap, but for the convenience it was worth it. Anyway, we had a great time, and will definitely go back to The St. George's Club. If you have any questions, feel free to ask. Cheers, Douglas

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the St. George's Club for our 1-week Bermuda vacation, and we will definitely stay there again! The facility was very well maintained -- a pleasant place to stay. The cottage we stayed in was clean and nice inside. The pool felt great in the summer heat, as did the A/C in the cottage. We made use of the kitchen in the cottage to cook breakfasts, which was convenient. The beds were really comfortable, housekeeping was thorough, nothing at all to complain about. Wireless internet was spotty from our cottage, but at the pool & clubhouse it was excellent. They are in the process of upgrading the system, so (for now) coverage is a bit patchy. Onsite moped rental is available through "Oleander Cycles", and for the less spry, there is a St. George's Club shuttle service covering some parts of St. George. The front desk is also very helpful with explaining the bus service and ferry options, which are both also very convenient ways to get around the island.

The resort appears to be primarily a timeshare place, but we found lodging there through an alternative booking. Most of the vacationers appeared to be slightly older folks, and (as younger people) we sometimes felt a little out of place; most of the staff were very helpful.

The town of St. George has preserved its quaint Bermudian atmosphere; we used the ferry system and mopeds to reach the rest of the island (a small place) and found St. George's to be a great launching point for our adventures.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

we love the location in quaint st george. good restaurants at the club and also downtown. they offer a shuttle to the beach and downtown at night too. the cottages have full kitchens, so you can eat in.

Room Tip: harbor fronted cottages have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton, ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We rented a cottage at St. George's Club through RCI and were very happy with our choice! Just a couple blocks from the awesome town of St George and we had a beautiful view of the harbor and the town!The steps to town were convenient and the property well maintained. The two pools were beautiful and the shuttle bus takes you wherever you want to go in the town. The bus stop is just a block away. Staff was friendly and helpful. Achilles Bay (which is owned by the Club) is great snorkeling and has comp lounge chairs for people staying at the Club! I saw lots of fish, an octopus and even some cuttle fish in the bay! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Watch out for the air conditioners…….if you remove the covers you will find that they are covered with heavy mold and debris……my mother has asthma, and every year we have to get maintenance to come and clean the air conditioner vents. why do WE have to tell them to clean the air conditioner vents?????

We have a prime unit on the main pool, and for the amount we pay in maintenance fee's you would think this unit would have nothing wrong with it. it has plenty wrong with it. last year both the sliding doors were broken, I was awakened with a call from security in the middle of the night to close & lock my door, I could not, it was broken, the patio was covered with chicken poop so forget about walking around with no shoes on. The stucco on the patio is pealing & unsightly, the second floor bathroom door has been broken side we bought our timeshare unit (21) The Bermudiana 5 years ago. Housekeeping was sitting down on the love seat in the Living room watching TV when I came in a surprised her. The drapes in the living room are so old if you touch them they will shred. which they did. I do not mind the chicken & roosters, however they DO wake you up at dawn. The staff are very nice & helpful the food IS good, except for the free stuff often dry over cooked & greasy. Just be careful how you sign off and charge to your room, very confusing to figure out who ordered what. often party names are given to charged items that did not purchase. Last year I had my 10 year old daughters name attached to a number of alcoholic drinks that I ordered, can be confusing. Also rude smokers put their cigarette butts out in the gravel at the pools edge, which never get cleaned up….I spend my relaxation time cleaning up cigarette butts from the pool area every year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKyle, Manager at The St. George's Club, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your review as it allows us to learn what matters to visitors and make changes accordingly. Your comments however seem to be very focused on last year when we did have issues with chickens as some other people have noted. This was not limited to us but we have addressed that issue in late 2011. We have also replaced/repaired the doors and the air conditioning units since then so you don't need to dismantle them any more. This year we have replaced all of the curtains in the two-bedroom units and all the bed linen in all the cottages. We will continue to make our updates and try to make it as good as we can. You can check our website for details of what we are doing and have planned to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. George's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. George's Club

Address: 6 Rose Hill, St. George GE05, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > St. George's Parish > St. George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the World Heritage Site of the old town harbour is The St. George’s Club. An enclave of vacation/ownership cottages, The Club boasts three swimming pools, three tennis courts (two with lighting), fitness centre and scooter rental. We have two restaurants on property Griffin's Bistro and Bar in the main Clubhouse and five (5) minutes away on the across the bordering golf course is our secluded beach facility The Beach House, our restaurant and bar which boasts a great menu and good wine with one of the best views of the sunset on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The St. George's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. George`s Club Hotel St. George
St Georges Club Bermuda
St George Club Bermuda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. George's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;