We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, fantastic view, pity we didn't feel welcome.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern by the Sea

Tavern by the Sea
14 Water Street, Somers Wharf Complex, St. George, Bermuda
441-297-3305
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 17 Restaurants in St. George
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: This is not my restaurant, I'm just trying to post a review of it
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic view, pity we didn't feel welcome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

First impressions count - we didn't feel welcome even though only three of the some thirty tables were occupied. Perhaps a few less tables not all lined up and a smiley face would help improve the atmosphere. Comprehensive menu, prompt service and good food. Good value for money. Not the best in town but worth a visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    71
    37
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Concord, NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Oh Yeah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Pizza is wonderful so is the grouper sandwich. Sit outside and enjoy the sea breeze. Cocktails are very tasty. Good conversation at night at the bar.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Easy to find and a nice venue at the edge of the St. George's Harbor makes for a pleasant place for lundh and dinner. Large umbrellas cover outside seating and good service make for a pleasant visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Bermuda
1 review
“Willing to accomdate special dietary needs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have lunch at the Tavern on a regular basis - the service and willingness to accomodate changes to the menu for special dietary needs are great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“St George's on the water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Food was just okay and we got stuck there since we couldn't get a cab. It was very remote and quiet and the food was very average espcially due to the price. would not recommend.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern by the Sea also viewed

St. George, St. George's Parish
St. George, St. George's Parish
 
St. George, St. George's Parish
St. George, St. George's Parish
 

Been to Tavern by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.