We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll go back to Bermuda, but not Aunt Nea's Inn at Hillcrest” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aunt Nea's Inn at Hillcrest

Save Saved
You added Aunt Nea's Inn at Hillcrest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aunt Nea's Inn at Hillcrest
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   1 Nea's Alley, St. George GEO5, Bermuda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 St. George B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We'll go back to Bermuda, but not Aunt Nea's Inn at Hillcrest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a HUGE disappointment! For that expense, it should have been so much better. Details matter! We sprung for a $uite with balcony access, because this was a significant anniversary for us! This was my 2nd trip to BDA, but my husband's first. I wanted us to stay in the east end because of the history & authentic old world charm. And we're B&B type people - so didn't even consider a resort hotel. Get this: Aunt Nea's is NOT a b&b - there is no breakfast. Some old references to it indicate that it used to serve breakfast, but it doesn't in Sept 2012. And St Geo's is a sleepy place with not a lot open early or late. And even less is open on Sunday.

Aunt Nea's website looks great. The place itself looks charming but it has clearly lacked attention for a while. The best parts about the place were the roosters crowing (all day, not just mornings) and the pretty tree frog noises (all night). I mean it - the nature is beautiful! But the missing balcony bricks in front of our room door and the "tricky" door lock foreshadowed what was inside.

Our suite's furniture (not the bed) is stained & broken, like in an old college aptmt. Pillows are very lumpy. The bed is so high off the floor you can't use it for dressing, and the side tables are so low, one cannot see the clock without practically getting out of bed. I stacked 8 paperback novels under the clock so we could see the time from the pillow. There are just two prints in the room, of Marilynn Monroe - to what does she relate? Felt like a dorm room.

There is a panel of four switches on the wall outside the bathroom. One switch works all of the lights in the bath, and the other three switches do not light anything. There are lights over the fireplace mantel, which do not light either by hand or switch. The lighting in the sitting room was too dim to read. The Internet was out, too, and it's difficult to find hotspots in BDA (but we did get some at coffee shops in St Geos) to get info to/from our sitter. Freak storm had come thru, but still, no one seemed to do anything to reconnect the inn. They need a better relationship with the service providers.

The fireplace in our room had two plywood doors covering it, with a big silver lock in the middle. Where's the charm in that? It is offensive!

Bathroom: I didn't know toilet paper could be so thin - it's better at public restrooms; there is no mirror over the sink, so shaving is difficult; threadbare towels; sub-par toiletries; plastic garage-type shelving; painted tiles are peeling (painting is a cheap fix for tiles that need to be regrouted or replaced); the tub is plastic rather than ceramic; we tolerated the few ants, apparently even they knew better than to stay at Aunt Nea's. And why is there a price tag on the edge of the plywood making up the wall of the water heater closet? details, people!

The windows have hot pink bordello sheers, making the room look really cheap. The sitting room had no table/desk, so there was no place to write cards, use a computer, or eat a meal (that you've picked up from a grocery buffet because there are no places open for breakfast on Sunday, and there is no breakfast served at this inn). The balcony light is left on all night, and the sheers on the glass room doors are almost as thin as the toilet paper - wanted a room darkening fabric on those windows for privacy, too.

One eve, the manager's country music blasted from her cottage next door, 7-9:30 (we'd noticed it a block away during the day, too!). But hey, we were sipping dark & stormys on a balcony in Bermuda! And Rachel gets time off like anybody else, right? She was very courteous to us, and phoned us to make sure we arrived OK (arriving after 2:00 in the afternoon means there is no one there to greet you), and called us a cab on our departure day. But she can only do what the owner will allow/fund.

It was a bit cheeky that the room binder with out of date local info for restaurants, still has a 10-yr-old trade magazine article about the happy new owners adding personal touches to create a luxurious inn with breakfast and even cookies in the afternoons. Not anymore.

The reservation policy was very tightly written, that there could be no cancellations or refunds, so we stayed the 4 nights we'd booked. But we'll never stay there again, until it is under new management. And I hope this review helps you in your decision of where to stay. Because you should visit Bermuda, it is a beautiful place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    30
    15
    12
    21
See reviews for
10
39
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was really puzzled and a bit worried by the marked differences in opinions about Aunt Nea's. However now that I have stayed here I think that I understand. If you are looking for a resort hotel with a fitness center, personal trainer, 24 hr room service and concierge, an elevator that talks to you, spa, and 2 telephones in the bathroom, then this is not for you. However if you are looking for a very quaint and tranquil B&B with a beautiful garden and a lovely 'old world' atmosphere then this is the place to be. Lying in a very comfortable 4 poster bed listening to the roosters crowing outside is a good start to the day. Aunt Nea's is within a 5 minute walk of a couple of great restaurants and the ferry terminal to Hamilton and Dockyard. Rachel is wonderful and runs the place very smoothly. True, there is no chef or sous chef organising a massive breakfast - but a coffee on the verandah followed by a stroll into town for breakfast is not a bad way to start the day. I have travelled a great deal and it is a real pleasure to find a place that I wished for - and this is certainly it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Aunt Nea's Inn and found it very clean and economically a good choice of places to stay. We stayed in the treefrog room in the main house. There are no frills just a cleaned room each day with fresh linens and towels. Rachel, the manager was available each morning to resolve any questions or a problem with ants in the bathroom. There was coffee each morning in the community dining/kitchenette. Loved the yard and chickens around the inn.St. George's is a really nice area to walk to get bkfst, lunch, or dinner. Lots of things to do during the day in St. George's for sightseeing. Would definitely go again and stay in St.. George's and at Aunt Nea's!

Room Tip: Upgraded to main house room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Disappointing ! First room in courtyard was dirty. Hair balls on the worn out rugs.
We were shown a suite upstairs, slightly cleaner, but worn out furniture broken hinges on door, etc, etc, We have yet to test the bed.
It's just not good unles you've been on a boat for two weeks. it's really a rooming house, not an inn.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. George hotels

New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night after getting into the airport very late and not being able to get a room in the hotel where we ended up staying for the following three days. Although the place itself is a bit run down and tired and smelled a bit like old people, the room itself was decorated nicely--very charming and rustic (we were in the tree frog room) albeit small (we paid for a king they put us in a queen and we arrived too late to complain). The bed was OK, the A/C only half worked and was super loud. The bathroom needs to be completely renovated...in the flourescent light shows all of the chipped paint/dirty tiles, etc. which was just gross.

I think my husband paid something like 260 per night for the room--which i think is completely crazy given that rooms at the Fairmont Hamilton go for about the same amount but are MUCH nicer in pretty much every way possible.

The location is great for exploring St. George, but given that you probably only want to explore the little town for an afternoon or so, I would stay elsewhere!

The lady at the front desk is super friendly and pleasant to chat with.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This would not be my first choice to go back to in Bermuda, mainly due to what you get (or don't get) for your money.

The Inn is in a good location, meaning a very close walk to the center of town, and is situated on a pretty piece of property.

Although I did not get to personally meet Rachel, (staff was rarely seen), I heard she was very friendly, and she had the key and room instructions all set up for us to retrieve upon our early arrival.

While the initial impression of the place may be one of neglect, we actually found the room itself to be acceptable, (although strangely designed with the bathtub/shower about a foot and a half from the edge of the bed!). The room was clean, but not sparkling. There were little ants running around, but they were harmless and thankfully not crawling in the bed. I don't know if the ants are a seasonal problem or not, but I could see this being a potential deterrent for those who can't stomach bugs.

There were some modern amenities and conveniences. There was a television and fridge in the room. The room was also equipped with a fan and air conditioner (our AC happened to run fairly loud). WiFi did not seem to be accessible in the room, but did work closer to the front of the Inn. Not ideal for business trips.

Breakfast was limited and lacking. For example, though some fruit and crackers were placed out in the morning, (and an apple can be great to grab as a small snack), there was really nothing that contained protein. That was rather disappointing.

The biggest point to make is that one can get so much more elsewhere and at a more reasonable price. While it may require traveling to a genuine B&B in Hamilton, it would be worth it to get a full breakfast, much more attentiveness, and more pleasant accommodations, all at a lower rate than what Aunt Nea's Inn charges.

While the Inn has some pluses, price, unfortunately, is not one of them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Although I give this B+B only two stars, I would like to say that the Staff (ie, Rachel) was very nice when I finally met her on checkout day. My stay was the end of July 2012 for two nights, having previously overnighted for two nights at a B+B

Upon arrival on saturday morning, we noticed our keys were in an envelope contained in the mailbox, with directions on how to find our room "Wild Hog." The room itself was acceptable- a clean queen bed was what we found, however the bathtub was- in the bedroom (not contained within the bathroom). This caused a bit of interesting times with two friends vacationing together. The room had many ants crawling around the outer walls, and it looks like the building's age must make it very hard to deal with this problem.

I didn't see any staff really throughout the day except for the cleaning lady who told us she put out "breakfast." Breakfast at Aunt Nea's is basically a cup of freeze-dried folgers, and an apple. There is also a packet of crackers on the table- but the breakfast part of the stay was severely lacking- especially on a sunday where very few places in St. Georges aren't open.

Basically, the place was alright, but for the price, we got a much better deal in Hamilton, at a beautiful location for less $$.

Room Tip: Avoid the Wild Hog room- one of the "jasmine rooms"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aunt Nea's Inn at Hillcrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aunt Nea's Inn at Hillcrest

Address: 1 Nea's Alley, St. George GEO5, Bermuda
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > St. George's Parish > St. George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in St. George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aunt Nea's Inn at Hillcrest 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Aunt Nea's Inn at Hillcrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aunt Nea`s Inn At Hillcrest Hotel St. George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aunt Nea's Inn at Hillcrest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.