We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently renovated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort St. Catherine

Fort St. Catherine
15 Coot Pond Rd, St. George, Bermuda
441-297-1920
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Attractions in St. George
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fort turned history museum, featuring an exhibit called "Highlights in Bermuda's History."
St. George, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Recently renovated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Fort St. Catherine is a great place to visit for anyone interested in Bermuda's naval/military history. The museum has been recently renovated with plenty to offer, if you're lucky you might even witness a firing of the canons! Amazing views and an neighbouring beach!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    35
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Pretty Cool.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is worth the hike but actually not all that exciting. It's pumped up to be more than it really is - I enjoyed the exhibits and it's location. It really is a nice little museum.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Memorable, but maybe for the wrong reasons”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

According to the UNESCO World Heritage website, the fortifications of Bermuda are part of the The Town of St. George designation as a UNESCO site. Fort St. Catherine is only a 5-minute drive from the Town of St. George, and we took a taxi from Kings Square, which was waiting at a taxi stand just outside of the White Horse Pub. When I specifically asked how we would get back to the town, the taxi driver told us to ask the person at the front desk to call us a taxi. So, we enjoyed walking around the fort for about half an hour. The fort has amazing views of the Atlantic and some unique things that we had never seen before. However, when we were ready to leave, the woman at the front desk said that no taxi would come to get us, as taxis are dispatched from all over Bermuda. We were told that it could take between 10 to 20 minutes for the taxi to come and we were asked to wait outside by the parking area, which, because it was the winter, it was VERY windy and cold. After 20 minutes no taxi came and another woman that worked there came out to see if she could assist us. She offered to call a "mini bus", but was unable to reach them. She did call a different taxi line, but, after 20 more minutes, they did not come, and apparently were not coming. She did tell us that she had called the local school bus driver and that he was on his way to pick us up. We were extremely happy to see him, and extremely happy to pay him $20.00 even though he asked for $6.00. We were not happy to see the same taxi drivers that were still sitting outside of the White Horse Pub, including the driver that dropped us off. I particularly wanted to see the Town of St. George because it has a UNESCO World Heritage designation, but I was very disappointed with being stranded at Fort St. Catherine, particularly when the people that work at the fort know that taxi will not come back for tourists.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia,PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nicely restored”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I've been to several of the forts on Bermuda, but this one is probably my favorite. It's nicely laid out for learning about the fort system in Bermuda and brushing up on your history.

I feel like you need to visit at least one fort if you're coming to Bermuda....this one is an easy way to see a fort and get the history in a consolidated place since not all of the forts are this large.

After you visit the fort you can go to the beach--several are within walking distance.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
106 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“An interesting fort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I particularly liked the underground area that has been restored. This is where are the munitions were originally kept. For the whole fort, they have a combination of display areas plus mock-ups of what a room might have looked like. All-in-all, quite interesting.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort St. Catherine also viewed

Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Bermuda, Caribbean
 

Been to Fort St. Catherine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort St. Catherine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.