We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently renovated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort St. Catherine

Fort St. Catherine
15 Coot Pond Rd, St. George, Bermuda
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in St. George
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fort turned history museum, featuring an exhibit called "Highlights in Bermuda's History."
St. George, Bermuda
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Recently renovated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Fort St. Catherine is a great place to visit for anyone interested in Bermuda's naval/military history. The museum has been recently renovated with plenty to offer, if you're lucky you might even witness a firing of the canons! Amazing views and an neighbouring beach!

2 Thank allymark214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
256 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Pretty Cool.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is worth the hike but actually not all that exciting. It's pumped up to be more than it really is - I enjoyed the exhibits and it's location. It really is a nice little museum.

Visited March 2013
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Memorable, but maybe for the wrong reasons”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

According to the UNESCO World Heritage website, the fortifications of Bermuda are part of the The Town of St. George designation as a UNESCO site. Fort St. Catherine is only a 5-minute drive from the Town of St. George, and we took a taxi from Kings Square, which was waiting at a taxi stand just outside of the White Horse Pub. When I specifically asked how we would get back to the town, the taxi driver told us to ask the person at the front desk to call us a taxi. So, we enjoyed walking around the fort for about half an hour. The fort has amazing views of the Atlantic and some unique things that we had never seen before. However, when we were ready to leave, the woman at the front desk said that no taxi would come to get us, as taxis are dispatched from all over Bermuda. We were told that it could take between 10 to 20 minutes for the taxi to come and we were asked to wait outside by the parking area, which, because it was the winter, it was VERY windy and cold. After 20 minutes no taxi came and another woman that worked there came out to see if she could assist us. She offered to call a "mini bus", but was unable to reach them. She did call a different taxi line, but, after 20 more minutes, they did not come, and apparently were not coming. She did tell us that she had called the local school bus driver and that he was on his way to pick us up. We were extremely happy to see him, and extremely happy to pay him $20.00 even though he asked for $6.00. We were not happy to see the same taxi drivers that were still sitting outside of the White Horse Pub, including the driver that dropped us off. I particularly wanted to see the Town of St. George because it has a UNESCO World Heritage designation, but I was very disappointed with being stranded at Fort St. Catherine, particularly when the people that work at the fort know that taxi will not come back for tourists.

Visited February 2013
4 Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nicely restored”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I've been to several of the forts on Bermuda, but this one is probably my favorite. It's nicely laid out for learning about the fort system in Bermuda and brushing up on your history.

I feel like you need to visit at least one fort if you're coming to Bermuda....this one is an easy way to see a fort and get the history in a consolidated place since not all of the forts are this large.

After you visit the fort you can go to the beach--several are within walking distance.

Visited August 2012
1 Thank TofuKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
458 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“An interesting fort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I particularly liked the underground area that has been restored. This is where are the munitions were originally kept. For the whole fort, they have a combination of display areas plus mock-ups of what a room might have looked like. All-in-all, quite interesting.

Visited January 2013
1 Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort St. Catherine also viewed

Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
St. George, St. George's Parish
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
St. George, St. George's Parish

Been to Fort St. Catherine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing