We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nicely restored.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort St. Catherine

Fort St. Catherine
15 Coot Pond Rd, St. George, Bermuda
441-297-1920
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 attractions in St. George
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Fort turned history museum, featuring an exhibit called "Highlights in Bermuda's History."
Maryland
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very nicely restored.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Usually I breeze through these forts and just get some scenic pictures. This one was really really well done, very interesting information and displays. I spent alot of time reading through all of it. It is set up different than any other fort I have been to. We took a cab from St. George and then walked back. On either side of this fort are two really beautiful beaches. If you go right out of the driveway and walk along the road, you will come to another beach, then turn left and walk about 1/2 mile, you will see the unfinished church which is really beautiful. Keep walking back down the hill and you are back in St. George.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    28
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“OK, if you're in to artillery!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Canons and more canons.... receptionist on entry talking on phone (private call) and didn't even look at us. It's cheap, but that's all. 30 mins tops.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Fort experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were there last week on a cruise to Bermuda and this Fort was great! Very well preserved, easy to navigate around and beautiful view from the top! My husband is a real history buff and he loved this place - Well worth the $5 entrance fee and it's air conditioned some of the way through.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Cool Fort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

One of the best preserved forts I've seen, with lots to explore and fabulous views. They have a pretty extensive number of exhibits and displays throughout and tucked in everywhere. Well worth the $5 entrance fee. If you like forts as all, go to this one!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west newton
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Neat location, history, views...cool museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

First of all, any big historic fort has to be good. This fort is on the northern tip of the island, so the views are awesome, my picture gives an example. The fee is $7. The big cannons are neat, as well as the size of the shells that went in them. They have videos and preserved artifacts inside. They have old guns, armor, knives, etc. If your into military history, bermuda history, or are bored, this is a cool spot. Also, it has a couple beaches on both sides, and the beach house is right next to it, which is one of the best restaurants on the island. Thanks

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort St. Catherine also viewed

Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Fort St. Catherine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort St. Catherine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fort St. Catherine to your Saves list