We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely church with interesting history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Peter's Church

St. Peter's Church
Duke of York St., St. George, Bermuda
441-297-8359
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$115*
and up
Bermuda Powerboat Round-the-Island Tour Including...
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in St. George
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Cultural
Activities: Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Contains a wealth of different architectural styles from the 17th century onwards; best known for being the oldest Anglican Church in the Western Hemisphere.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely church with interesting history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

St. George is easy to walk in a couple of hours and the St. Peter's church is one of the highlights. Well preserved and staffed by a volunteer who will answer your questions.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    54
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Minnesota
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Shouldn't be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Beautiful old church filled with incredible history. Don't forget to walk the cemetery grounds that surround the church. The silver collection is impressive and the memorial stones are fascinating. Not to be missed while in St George. There is no fee but a donation is requested.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Old Churches never get old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you like historic churches and want to learn about an area then this is the place for you to visit. I love old churches and this one does not disappoint at all. I would have loved to go for a service but the day of the week was all wrong for that. Make sure you see the silver collection and walk through the graveyard in back. Classic small church!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Lots of history, interesting architecture, worth a look for sure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I visited this very old church in 0ctober, 2011. I was docked in Hamilton on the ms. Veendam and so I took my own walking tour of St. George's and nearby attractions. I very much enjoy old historical churches and architecture. The original church dates back to 1620 (!) and thus it is the very oldest continuously operating Anglican church in the West, per reports. It has been rebuilt / expanded upon a couple of times - but this is the original spot of the church. It apparently replaced a previous church. The altar is reportedly the oldest woodwork in Bermuda; the baptismal font is approximately 500 yrs. old!

I thought that the church was pretty stunning - if old churches / architecture are not your thing you may decide to skip it. Does not take all that long to see it, though, as well as the historical graveyards out back and to the side. Those are definitely worth checking out, too. You're looking at roughly one hour to see a gorgeous, historical church.

No fee, it is indeed quaint and simple, yet lovely. I recommend it. I won't say that it is a 'must see' but it is definitely worth a peek :-) Bring your camera. I simply cannot recall if bathroom facilities are available - sorry. No food / drinks but you can purchase those nearby...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Great display of living history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I love to visit old places of worship, as I find the architecture fascinating. This rather simple structure is important due to it's age relative to the island. Be sure to read some of the many memorial stones on the walls inside as well as the tombstones outside in the adjacent graveyard for a glimpse of what life was like here all those years ago.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Peter's Church also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Bermuda, Caribbean
 

Been to St. Peter's Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Peter's Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.