We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a Fairy Tale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tobacco Bay

Tobacco Bay
St. George, Bermuda
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Attractions in St. George
Type: Bodies of Water
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This bay is known for its calm waters and crowded beaches.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Like a Fairy Tale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I had a private guide take me to all the beaches in St. George's and I fell in love with Tabacco Bay. It is very shallow for those of you who cannot swim. I can swim very well but walking through the bay for such a great distance with clear and blue water made it my favorite. The rocks from volcanic action years ago make it even more interesting. Enjoy!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    39
    16
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Calm, quiet cove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Tobacco Bay is great if you're based in St. George's or are looking to hit the beach on a windy day - the enclosed cove beach is protected from nasty weather that roughs up the South Shore beaches. Though the sand isn't quite as pink and soft as the South Shore beaches and the water isn't as clear, still a great Bermuda beach with a very convenient beachside restaurant & bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Sweet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a nice protected little bay. Cannot imagine a more interesting place to snorkel. The water is clear and I like that it is so sheltered and convenient.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This beautiful protected cove was deserted when we visited recently. Granted, it was the off season but this beach is lovely and an easy walk from "downtown" St. George. It's amazing that it hasn't been spoiled by a resort building on it. There is a cafe there that is probably open during the high season.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling calm area for not so confident swimmers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The only nice thing about staying 1st in st George's was walking to tobacco bay Sunday morning. We had the place to ourselves until about 10 when they started opening up the shop there. It was lovely and calm. Lots of fish just by sticking your head in the water...more by the coral. It's not very deep so kids are very safe ...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobacco Bay also viewed

Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Bermuda, Caribbean
 
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
 

Been to Tobacco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobacco Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.